What tool wouldn’t you leave home without?

Submitted: Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 08:14
ThreadID: 111103 Views:4862 Replies:36 FollowUps:60
Forumites…

Frequently there are questions in the forum about what one should take on a trip; what type of safety and recovery equipment, camping gear and accessories, food and beverage, and TOOLS!

I want to focus your attention on tools for this exercise.

In reality I know you would never leave home without numerous tools in your kit, but I want you to FORCE-RANK all your tools in order of importance.

The question is…

What ONE tool wouldn’t you leave home without and why?

Remember, you need to force-rank all of them and come up with ONE only.

Cheers, Baz – The Landy

Ps: Yes, I know food and beverage (especially the latter) is important – but this is about tools!

Reply By: Mick O - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 08:39

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 08:39
R & R Beadbreaker, a good set of tyre irons, 18V cordless drill and grinder and comprehensive socket/spanner set (Bahco).

Mick

AnswerID: 545826

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 08:42

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 08:42
Good one Mick, but that is more than one!

Forced-rank, what would be number ONE!

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 833472

Follow Up By: Mick O - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:31

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:31
A cigarette lighter then.

FollowupID: 833509

Reply By: OBJ - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 08:44

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 08:44
The pic of Tony Abbott on my dart board. Biggest tool I could find.

After him, compressor, truck jack, tyre tools, box of spanners. If I need anything more than that I'll call for help.

OBJ
AnswerID: 545828

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 08:58

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 08:58
Good one, but that is more than one.

The question is, if you could only take ONE tool, what would it be?
FollowupID: 833473

Follow Up By: dindy - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 09:25

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 09:25
A cd with 'Blinky Bill' Shortens droning utterances to put me to sleep at night.
FollowupID: 833478

Follow Up By: OBJ - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:43

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:43
Be a shame to leave Tony behind, but I think the compressor would be my "don't leave home without it" item.

OBJ
FollowupID: 833487

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Feb 15, 2015 at 15:28

Sunday, Feb 15, 2015 at 15:28
OBJ It could be worse, we could have Shorten in charge, He cant even speak correctly, He "finks' he the man for the job, but he aint !! ;)) Michael

FollowupID: 833641

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 09:01

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 09:01
Tyre repair kit.

I seem to attract every tek screws/nails etc on the road. I am now quite good at plugging tyres and don't need new tyres as I run on plugs LOL

AnswerID: 545829

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 09:17

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 09:17
Wheel-nut wrench.

AnswerID: 545831

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 09:23

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 09:23
........ x2
FollowupID: 833476

Reply By: TomH - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 09:44

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 09:44
A good light jack. A wheel nut wrench is virtually useless without one.
AnswerID: 545834

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:27

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:27
It would be generally possible to manoeuvre the vehicle so as to get one wheel in the air so as to be able to fit a spare, but without the wheel brace you 'aint gunna get those nuts off.

FollowupID: 833507

Reply By: Idler Chris - Vic - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 09:47

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 09:47
Satphone - with that I can fix ANY problem.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 545835

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 09:57

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 09:57
Good lateral thinking (I think)...

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 833480

Follow Up By: Idler Chris - Vic - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:26

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:26
If you want a tool made of metal then these would rate very highly.
At least 6 uses and guaranteed never to break or even bend,
1. Persuader
2. Protection in my RTT at night
3. Panel beating tool
4. Tent peg for when it really gets windy
5. Useful when digging a dunny in hard ground
6. Makes getting a tyre of a rim possible for an old fart

FollowupID: 833484

Reply By: Member - bbuzz (NSW) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:01

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:01
My apprentice,
who fetches when I am on my back under the truck,
holds the end of the thingy when I need three hands,
makes a list of what has to be bought when we get to town,
retrieves that nut/washer/split pin that falls down the narrow crack and I can't get even a finger down
etc etc.

Invaluable!!!

bill
Bill B

AnswerID: 545839

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:38

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:38
Strewth, sounds very useful, but fear the word tool should not be used in this instance.

(Rips the top off beers cans?)

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 833486

Reply By: Phil B (WA) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:06

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:06

I couldn’t go bush without my Butane Gas Torch; at under $40 they are cheap and versatile. Uses are limitless including starting wet wood fires, sealing frayed ropes, heating and bending steel for bush repairs and caramelising sugar on crème brulee’s.

Can also be used as a emergency hair dryer and err as a Nissan repair aid!!!

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 545840

Follow Up By: Idler Chris - Vic - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:37

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:37
You should read Mick O's blogs he has lots of fun with butane gas.
http://www.exploroz.com/Members/92954.75/11/2010/Reseating_a_tubeless_tyre_using_butane_gas_and_other_volatile_substances_-_Updated_Mar_2013.aspx?p=%2fBlogs%2fDefault.aspx

FollowupID: 833485

Follow Up By: Phil B (WA) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:19

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:19
Oh yeah - we know about Mick and his butane - lol. He also uses his to do his eyebrows and eye lashes I believe!

FollowupID: 833506

Follow Up By: Mick O - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:29

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:29
Phil, you know how difficult Man-scaping can be in the bush!

;-)

FollowupID: 833508

Follow Up By: Phil B (WA) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 15:29

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 15:29
Man-scaping - Good one Mick.

Hope all is well with you - all well enough over here.

FollowupID: 833521

Reply By: Sigmund - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:11

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:11
Nominating the most critical tool depends on knowing the conditions you're going into and how your vehicle copes.

When I started out on trail bikes in the bush it didn't take long to learn that a spark plug socket was the one. (Remember two strokes?)

Since returning to riding I've done over 100 k km on bitumen mainly and was stopped once by a broken clutch cable and once by a puncture. In the wagon, the first immobilisation in decades was due to two side wall tears within a few k's in an area where you wouldn't expect it and so wouldn't take two spares.

So you can expect tyre trouble sooner or later but as for the rest, modern vehicles are so reliable and capable (with a few exceptions!) that we don't get to learn early in their life what's critical to prepare for.
AnswerID: 545841

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:17

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:17
I'm calling that a tyre repair kit then!

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 833483

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:05

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:05
sigmund - brings back memories of riding in the bush in the early 70's. Basic tool kit was spark-plug socket, spacers, 1 phillips, 1 screwdriver, cheap pliers, 12 gauge wire & quick-dry araldite. Could fix anything with that.

Regards the OP, apart from standard tools, the thing I never travel without is my hub socket.

FollowupID: 833503

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:09

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:09
actually the phillips & screwdriver was one of those reversable ones.... save space. In my opinion, the greatest repair tools nowadays is a packet of mixed cable ties. Jesus what I could have done with them in old days......
FollowupID: 833504

Reply By: get outmore - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:42

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:42
ok i guess if your saying 1 tool it would have to be pliers a decent large pair

second would be a phillips head screw driver

pliers can bend and shape things to hold on, they can be used to break things they can be used for nut tightening

theres not that many on the road repairs i do that dont involve using pliers

I reckon a shifter a pair of pliers and a pack of large zip ties and a phillips head

but you one
- so I choose pliers
AnswerID: 545846

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:43

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 10:43
oh and im going on the assumption your talking extra tools
so im assuming wheel changing kit is always in the vehicle
FollowupID: 833488

Reply By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 11:23

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 11:23
I was told by a learned person that you should take a slab or two, when you break down just open a stubby , by the time you are ready for the second someone will have turned up with all the proper gear to do the repair. There fore you dont have to take tools at all. Dont forget your chair, there is nothing worse than standing around waiting.

AnswerID: 545849

Reply By: pop2jocem - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 11:29

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 11:29
Definitely the mobile/sat phone. Unless you don't classify that as a "tool" in the strict sense of the word.

Other than that, whatever I need to fix whatever has gone flat, broken, come loose, is refusing to come loose, needs bashing back into place, bashing out of place, wrapping up to stop it leaking, tying up to stop it falling off....etc etc etc.

I guess what I am trying to say is, a bloody big hammer is very handy to "persuade" something that is stuck or needs re-shaping. Not much use to fix a flat tyre though.

Yeah, I think I would have to go with the phone. That way whichever rescuer comes along hopefully will have whatever is needed.

(;=))

AnswerID: 545850

Reply By: Member - John - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:22

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:22
Surprised it hasn't been mentioned yet, Leatherman.............

AnswerID: 545853

Follow Up By: gbc - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:39

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:39
Me too. My 15 year old wave has been a faithful companion and fixer of many broken things. It comes on pretty much every trip - including overseas holidays etc.
FollowupID: 833510

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:45

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:45
Good one!

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
FollowupID: 833511

Follow Up By: Gaz@Midge Point. - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 22:07

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 22:07
I'll third that, my Leatherman goes almost everywhere with me.
Mmmmmmmm, now where do we go next?

FollowupID: 833542

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 15:59

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 15:59
Yep me too, gets used all the time.
FollowupID: 833583

Follow Up By: MactrolPod - Monday, Feb 16, 2015 at 12:31

Monday, Feb 16, 2015 at 12:31
Every trip, many times every day it is used for so many tasks.
A must useful and handy gadget without a doubt.
FollowupID: 833694

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:26

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 12:26
Long Handled shovel:

it can be a

hole digger
de bogger
fire pit maker
fire tool
lever
frypan (before the toilet task)
toilet making tool
supplementary post/pole
something to lean on

I'm sure there are other uses - over to you to expand the list

AnswerID: 545854

Reply By: Mudguard - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 13:46

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 13:46
LEATHERMAN multi-tool
AnswerID: 545858

Reply By: Rangiephil - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 14:05

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 14:05
I second Leatherman multi tool. The poster just beat me.
I use this tool more than any other that I take, and I take lots, including sockets , multimeter, Mapgas torch, drill, rivet gun etc.

I have never had a puncture on a trip in Oz so I would never take tyrepliers etc etc. there are lots of places that can change and fix a tyre for you including half way along the GRR, also on the Oodnadatta track. The usual problem is to get a tyre the same size for modern 4x4s. And 90% of the time a string kit will get you going.
Regards Philip A

AnswerID: 545859

Follow Up By: Rangiephil - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 14:08

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 14:08
The alternative I just thought of is a roll of duct tape. You can do lots with it.
Regards Philip A
FollowupID: 833519

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 14:48

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 14:48
Macgyver, that bloke can sort out anything

My wife thinks I am a tool so she would just take me.
AnswerID: 545861

Reply By: Member - John T (Tamworth NSW) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 15:57

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 15:57
Baz

My idea of the one and only tool is this: A deck of playing cards.

Why you ask? As you all well know, you only have to start playing Solitaire when the trusty 4x4 has ground to a halt for some unknown reason and before you know it, someone arrives to tell you how to move the red 9 onto the black 10.

Now this person will have all the tools you could ever need to get the trusty 4x4 going again.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 545864

Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 16:51

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 16:51
You've bee in the bush too long John.
Must admit there is always a deck in my glovebox.
Mike.
FollowupID: 833524

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 17:25

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 17:25
John, you don't need a deck of coards, just take a leak by the side of the road....
FollowupID: 833526

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 17:02

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 17:02
Unfair. I think some things like stuff to change a tyre must be considered part of the vehicle and exempted from the game. Anyone who doesn't have a couple of spanners and screwdrivers and a tyre gauge in their vehicle shouldn't be allowed on road. Let's assume that the above are already covered and now we can play the game. And I reckon we should be able to name three. I'd go compressor (and plugs); Extra large wheel brace for 4wd (I have a beauty) and now the surprise item, a Clamp-It (with some wire). I have seen broken roofracks, exhaust systems, suspensions and axes fixed with these. You can use them to make any size hose clamp you might suddenly need. The range of things it can mend goes on and on, yet it is small and light. I never go bush without one in my toolkit. If you haven't seen them, check this out. They are much more versatile than shown in the advertisements. You can make amazingly strong joins by running the coils around the broken parts with something else overlapping inside the coils. Example. Join a snapped roofrack with one by bringing the bars together and making the coils around something like a screwdriver.
http://www.akcooltools.com/clamptite.html
AnswerID: 545866

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 21:30

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 21:30
Looks like the clamp-it gets the number one gig in your toolbox!

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 833535

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 18:37

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 18:37
I always carry a pocket knife, Baz, (except on commercial aircraft :-)) but in the Landcruiser the one thing that is always there, just under the driver's seat, are a pair of Crescent 12" fencing pliers.

Used not only for fencing, but lifting billies off the fire, moving Bedourie camp ovens to a more suitable spot on the coals, acts as a handheld vice, makes a handy light hammer, turning on broken taps, removing nails, welding rods, Gidgea stakes and Tek screws out of tyres. Also you can use the handles to "Cobb 'n Co" a piece of No.8 wire around a broken spring, roof rack, bull bar etc etc. Probably even handy for squeezing blackheads, but then this isn't "New Idea, eh?

AnswerID: 545869

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 18:41

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 18:41

FollowupID: 833529

Follow Up By: Ron N - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 18:59

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 18:59
Yep, that's pretty good, Bob - but I reckon that a pair of 12" Vise-Grips trumps a 12" set of Crescent fencing pliers, anyday (see my post below) - although those Crescents are a pretty handy tool.

FollowupID: 833531

Reply By: Ron N - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 18:51

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 18:51
The biggest pair of Vise-Grips (correct spelling) made. They made a 12" set, but 10" seems to be the largest made today.

I had a 12" pair of Vise-Grips, with flat jaws, and it was the handiest tool out.
As always, some low life cut the chain on my yard, broke into my ute and pinched it! (along with other various tools as well).

Fortunately, he didn't get to steal my ute, as I had seriously disabled it (ute-stealing is the low-lifes main aim, as they steal a ute, then fill them with tools from all the local businesses).

I really miss that 12" flat-jawed Vise-Grips - and I've never been able to find an identical one since - not even on U.S. eBay.

It was a tool that was the final backup for every situation. Holding stuff, unscrewing stuff, bashing stuff, clampings stuff together - it was bloody invaluable.

I personally don't understand what a terrible world it must have been to live in, before Vise-Grips were invented.

AnswerID: 545870

Follow Up By: Slow one - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 20:42

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 20:42
Yes Ron,
over the years I have clamped off quite a few hydraulic brake lines and air lines with them + used them as nuts and held things in place and with them.
FollowupID: 833534

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 21:57

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 21:57
Ron,

I just came up from the shed and started browsing the forum. When I read your post I thought my vise grips are around the 12" size so nipped back down and measured them.
Yep 12" stem to stern. They are an Elora Grip P/N 500/3
I had a quick look at Elora on line and they list a P/N 500-300 set so if you have a tool store in your area that stocks the Elora brand may help to give them a call.
Definitely a bloody handy bit of kit. I have no idea how long I have had this set but it has seen some action over the years.

FollowupID: 833540

Follow Up By: Ron N - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 23:08

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 23:08
Pop, you might have the set nailed. I always remembered them as genuine Vise-Grips - but the genuine ones have been copied so much, there's more copies than the originals.
I was virtually 100% sure, mine had flat jaws - but as you no doubt know, our memories aren't what they used to be!
The Elora 12" set sure looks like a suitable replacement for my much-longed-for, stolen pair.

Elora 500-300 grip pliers

FollowupID: 833544

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 23:36

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 23:36
Just on the subject of Vise-Grips

link

FollowupID: 833546

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 11:04

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 11:04
Ron,

Fresh from the latest Tradesmart dogalogue:

And just on this vice/vise spelling thingy, err, umm...........if I had someone by the short 'n curlies with my Crescents, would this make them VICE Grips? :-)

FollowupID: 833561

Follow Up By: Ron N - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 12:39

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 12:39
No, they're not the ones, Bob - they're the specialised C-clamp Vise-Grips, particularly useful for welding.
It appears Irwin have decided that 10" (250mm) is the biggest set of regular locking pliers they are going to make, so it looks like I'll be chasing down one of those 12" Elora's that Pop pointed out.

The name Vise-Grip was the original patented name, and it's spelled that way because it was American.
However, plenty of Aussies and Poms spell them Vice-Grips, just because that's the way WE spell vice!

I wouldn't like to feel your Crescents on my short and curlies, it would certainly be a VICE-like grip! [:-0

One thing I can tell you - if I ever found the low-life who broke into my yard and knocked off my tools, I'd be setting his family jewels in a LARGE BENCH VICE, and leaving him there for several weeks!! [:-(

In the meantimes, about 8 yrs ago, I managed to score a 75th anniversary set of Vise-Grips (new), from a nice older lady at a flea market.
I don't know how she acquired them, I suspect maybe they were deceased estate.
I got them for $35, she originally wanted quite a bit more for them, but no-one at that market obviously appreciated genuine Vise-Grips!

They're a triple set, with 10" and 4" locking nut pliers, plus a regular 7" Vise-Grips.
The locking nut pliers will replace half a toolbox when it comes to gripping nuts and bolts.
No need to worry about corroded bolt heads or nuts, or what bodgy Whitworth/BSF/Japanese metric size it is - just clamp them on, and they're the correct size, straight up! [;-)

Now - will 3 tools in a wallet, qualify as ONE tool, under Landys critical requirements?? [;-)

FollowupID: 833568

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 13:05

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 13:05
Ron,

$35, you didn't buy 'em, you stole 'em. LOL. Nice pickup.

Not sure if you clicked on the link I posted a couple of followups back but if you did, did you notice the ad for the the original American Vise Grips in the bottom RH corner?

The largest of the 2 sizes they made way back then were the 10" jobbies.

FollowupID: 833572

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 13:27

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 13:27
Ron,

Am sure Baz, being a fair-minded gentleman, would agree to them being classed as one tool, as long as you stick to his strict criteria!!!

They must carried/stored, AT ALL TIMES, in the roll pictured, unless using one of the tools contained therein, and when finished with said tool, it must be returned to its position in the roll, and the tool roll returned to the usual place of storage. :-)

I'm being a bit verbose above.......am sure you'll get a yes or no in due course. I've got a set similar to yours, Supercheap specials, as I recall. There's a bit of history in that link of Pop's too.

FollowupID: 833574

Follow Up By: Ron N - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 13:38

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 13:38
Pop - A man's got to have a win occasionally! The lady knew what they were worth, she just couldn't sell them for the $50 she wanted.
The problem with tools, as with many things, is the retail price doesn't mean much, when the retailers regularly offer deals with 30 or 40% off.

I got a "combo deal" from SuperSheep in November - a heavy duty 2 tonne floor jack, plus 2 x 3 tonne ratchet car stands - all for $139!
It was listed in the online catalogue - but no-one in the store knew about it.
However, they did have a store display showing the jack alone, on "special" at $189!

I nailed a store employee and got him to research the "combo deal" and he agreed with me.
So I got the floor jack, and the last two 3 tonne ratchet car stands in the store, for the $139! The stands alone are supposed to retail at $82 each!

Yes, I did click on your link, and I did notice the ad for Vise-Grips.

FollowupID: 833576

Reply By: Member - Will 76 Series - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 20:05

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 20:05
Stubby Cooler
AnswerID: 545874

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 21:33

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 21:33
Mandatory equipment - so doesn't count ;)

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 833536

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Feb 16, 2015 at 15:19

Monday, Feb 16, 2015 at 15:19
probabally the most useless invention in mans history

I still cannot for the life of me work out thier purpose

are they to stop your hand getting cold when holding a cold beer? if so stick to chardanay-- you dont deserve a beer weakling

or are they to stop your beer going warm ?- if so why dont you stick to chardonay -- if youve grabbed a beer then bloody well drink it not sit around waiting for it to get warm

or is there some other practical use for these devices im unaware of?
FollowupID: 833704

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Feb 16, 2015 at 15:30

Monday, Feb 16, 2015 at 15:30
Each to their own, as the saying goes. Any thoughts on what "tool" you would never leave home with?

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 833706

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 20:20

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 20:20
Ignition key!
AnswerID: 545877

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 21:34

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 21:34
Maybe, although one of "The Landy's" started without one...

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 833537

Follow Up By: Ron N - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 23:10

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 23:10
Landy - Ahhh! - so you owned the hot-wired, push-start model of Landrover, too? [;-)

FollowupID: 833545

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Sunday, Feb 15, 2015 at 11:54

Sunday, Feb 15, 2015 at 11:54
I'd amend that to "spare ignition key" not fun being in the middle of the desert with the main key in the ignition, doors closed & locked (Central locking has it's drawbacks) claw hammer in the tray came in handy as well!
FollowupID: 833629

Reply By: Slow one - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 20:34

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 20:34
I would have to say my cock for our 20l water container. Man has to survive the wild outdoors.
AnswerID: 545878

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 21:32

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 21:32
G'day All

I never leave home without taking a

" Nothing is a problem attitude "

Happy and safe travelling

Gazz

AnswerID: 545880

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 21:36

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 21:36
Where do they sell them, I'm thinking they would sell a few! ;)

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 833538

Reply By: kcandco - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 22:16

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 22:16

Definitely my Internet Yagi Directional Antenna which allows me to obtain internet access most places I have been. I can use it to access the web to find out whatever i need to know, ie how to repair something. As they say 'knowledge is power' :)
I can also use facebook messenger to make phone calls over the web when our telstra and optus phones dont have good enough signal.

AnswerID: 545883

Reply By: OutBack Wanderers - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 22:41

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 22:41
I take the SWMBO, a bloody know it all, better than an encyclopaedia or bush manual

AnswerID: 545886

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 23:23

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 23:23
I love this post, such fun!
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 545890

Follow Up By: The Landy - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 06:21

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 06:21
And, wat is number i one in your tool kit?

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 833552

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 15:48

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 15:48
I'm still thinking of my answer...it's hard. If it was one "thing" not "tool" it would be David (& he's no tool). But the best I can think of is air compressor because without it we wouldn't go off road. no fun in that.
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 833580

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 16:04

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 16:04
I thought it would be 'a pair of joggers'.

p.s. I finished Alan Parkinson's book in four days! Heavy going.

FollowupID: 833584

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 16:42

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 16:42

My birthday presents - haha, all a girl like me could ever want!

Running shoes, tri bike shoes, thongs. I actually don't own a pair of high-heels, had to borrow a pair to wear with a dress for birthday dinner out!
Michelle Martin

FollowupID: 833586

Reply By: Grant Tas - Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 23:27

Friday, Feb 13, 2015 at 23:27
Hi Landy

DUCK tape both black and grey.
My family stirs me up all the time, but they always now where to come to get some especially my 6 year old granddaughter.
Grant
AnswerID: 545891

Reply By: Ron N - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 01:00

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 01:00
I must admit - that after approximately 65 posts on the subject - I'm utterly amazed, that NOT ONE single person, has nominated that eternally invaluable, jack-of-all trades, fall-back tool! - a tube of Silastic!!

I've seen some of the most incredible stunts pulled with Silastic. Slapped on in heavy enough quantities, you need a prybar to get the stuff apart!

It seals leaks of every kind, from water to oil to coolant to battery acid - holds things together that have come apart - fills gaps - is excellent as corrosion protection on threads (squirt some in a stud hole, or the nut - and the thread will always unscrew without difficulty) - it makes a rubberised base for vibration protection - you can make tool handles out it (I acquire broken power hacksaw blades, and sharpen them for gasket scrapers, then slip a piece of rubber hose tightly over the upper end, and then squirt Silastic in the gap between hose and blade, for a great handle) - and it can even be used as makeshift rubber mounts.

The only thing it can't cope with is petrol. If they made a Silastic that sealed petrol and petrol tanks, and lines, they'd have a toolbox in a tube!!

AnswerID: 545895

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 11:19

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 11:19
Maybe they don't want to start a Silastic/Sikaflex debate, Ron!

It's great stuff alright, except on carbies..............

FollowupID: 833563

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 15:39

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 15:39
Silastic is also great for plugging up bullet holes in the car door.

FollowupID: 833579

Follow Up By: TomH - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 15:49

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 15:49
Chewing gum works on Petrol tanks doesnt it?????
FollowupID: 833581

Follow Up By: gbc - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 16:51

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 16:51
Funny you should mention bullet holes, my last Colorado had a 'spare' cb aerial in the front left guard from a dopey mate shooting across the bonnet......
FollowupID: 833588

Reply By: Member - mike g2 - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 12:09

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 12:09
Hi Landy, great concept- loved all the replies. took a bag of tools myself on recent trip. Hard to say which ONE you wouldn't go without. I wouldn't go without my good set of 1/2 " AF/Metric sockets ( it inc spark plug socket) . My recollection of reading some bush mechanics stories is that a decent piece of fencing wire and heavy duty pliers can be put to some interesting uses.
MG.
AnswerID: 545906

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 12:57

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 12:57
Really hard to assess because so many different situations require different equipment.

As a general concept that would be required more often in different situations - on the beach, in the bush, etc the on board air compressor. Of course it is ineffective without the support of a range of other tools but it is a key tool that can't be replicated. If you are talking about keeping on the move tyres are a common thing to stop people. Even clearing blocked fuel lines, inflating air bag jacks if the motor is not running, reinflating tyres etc.

Like most bush travelers I carry a range of equipment - some that doesn't see the light of day for years but I still rate as essential.

This is all assuming you are talking about being in a car.

If I was to be on foot, and presented with a table loaded with my equipment and told to choose one item - that is another thought train.

In the Australian outback - a water canteen.

Serendipity

AnswerID: 545909

Reply By: Troopyman - Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 14:09

Saturday, Feb 14, 2015 at 14:09
Safety seal tire repair kit .
Without a doubt the thing i would bring if i could only bring 1 tool .
safety seal
AnswerID: 545911

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Feb 15, 2015 at 09:33

Sunday, Feb 15, 2015 at 09:33
Good choice, Troopy.

You can even repair mulga stake holes in a grader tyre with these, 4-6 strings and job's right.

Found a good supply of spare strings in Supercheap the other day. Worth checking out if you're getting low.

FollowupID: 833619

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Feb 15, 2015 at 10:21

Sunday, Feb 15, 2015 at 10:21
Are they the same as the ARB etc kits ?
FollowupID: 833624

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Feb 16, 2015 at 07:59

Monday, Feb 16, 2015 at 07:59
I bought my Safety Seal kit from ARB in Rocky, Alby, years ago.

Think the ARB one is similar/same, but in an orange box.

FollowupID: 833682

Reply By: Member - Laurie K (WA) - Sunday, Feb 15, 2015 at 13:16

Sunday, Feb 15, 2015 at 13:16
When I bought my LC 10 years ago, I spent $8k on accessories - recovery, UHF, Snorkel, Roofrack etc, and out of all the stuff that lives in my vehicle including the toolbox, the most used item has been the Compressor - and like most of you, I have covered a comprehensive chunk (about 15% or thereabouts at a guess) of this country.
So, Compressor for me. If a tyre goes down, it has been a slow leak at best in most cases ...... just keep pumping and moving until a repair can be made (under the rules, I can only have ONE tool I believe)

Laurie
AnswerID: 545964

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Feb 15, 2015 at 15:22

Sunday, Feb 15, 2015 at 15:22
Great Thread here !! This is the sort of thread needed to keep everyone involved in the Forum! Michael

AnswerID: 545971

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Feb 16, 2015 at 07:00

Monday, Feb 16, 2015 at 07:00
Forumites…

Thanks to all for participating!

Whilst I can appreciate there are many tools most of us carry, the concept behind “force-ranking” your toolbox and selecting the one item you would never leave home without was to focus individual attention on the item that stood-out for you..

Of course many will differ on what this would be, but collectively perhaps the process provides us with an ideal the tool-box.

There were some items that perhaps didn’t quite match something you would put in a toolbox, but none-the-less still important touring items. For example, a stubby holder – I thought this was mandatory equipment for those of us who imbibe!

There was some stand-out items worth making a special mention of, among these were;

. Vise-Grip and Crescent fencing pliers,

. Socket-set,

. Leatherman or the like,

. Tyre levers, and

. A Long-handled shovel.

I was surprised that a hack-saw was not suggested?

And there was stuff that perhaps doesn’t quite fit the “tool” bill, but items that would be most useful, and included;

. Butane Gas Torch, (now on my shopping list!)

. Silastic,

. Duck-tape, and

. Wire.

And many nominated tyre repair equipment above and beyond the normal kit that all cars come with, and this included air-compressors, extra-large wheel braces, and that main-stay of outback touring, tyre plugs!

Something that did catch my eye though was one suggestion that has no physical application, but should travel with us always – “A nothing is a problem attitude”.

Cheers, Baz – The Landy
AnswerID: 546010

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Feb 16, 2015 at 07:56

Monday, Feb 16, 2015 at 07:56
Hacksaw, Baz? So 20th century.........

Am sure most would now have a cordless angle grinder. :-)

FollowupID: 833681

Follow Up By: Slow one - Monday, Feb 16, 2015 at 09:04

Monday, Feb 16, 2015 at 09:04
Bob,
how do you make your cordless angle grinder work. I cut the cord off mine and I can't get it to work.

Any tips will be appreciated.
FollowupID: 833683

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Feb 19, 2015 at 11:34

Thursday, Feb 19, 2015 at 11:34
Yeah, cordless, Slow.

You cut off the lead and araldite a battery on it. :-) Better to buy a proper battery powered one I reckon.

Would suggest these tools have also killed the old saying: "Locks only keep honest people out"?

FollowupID: 833902