You Never Know When Your Time Is Up...

Submitted: Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 14:48
ThreadID: 117713 Views:3848 Replies:18 FollowUps:31
Hi Everyone

Being a perfect Sunday in Clare, we were out getting wood today ready for the cold wet winter to come. While Fiona was stating wood in the boot, a large limb from a gum fell own on top of the car, flattening the back door and a few large dents in the roof.

Fiona only suffer a saw shoulder when the branch hit her, but the car is a little worse for wear.....

Keep Safe

Reply By: Sir Kev - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 14:56

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 14:56
Sounds like my day :(

I went out to Jan's place (Jan's Country Art) to cut her some firewood and Sam was going to come out later.

I finished quicker than anticipated so I called Sam to tell her not to bother. Problem was she was already on the highway and then had to look to find somewhere to turn around.
Obviously her indicating right and braking didn't comprehend to the following driver who back ended her and shot her across the highway narrowly missing a tree. Luckily there was no oncoming traffic.

The car is a hire car whilst my work car is being repaired after the hail storm, so now will have to get work to get another one as the back end is buggered and the steering is shot.

AnswerID: 553228

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 17:48

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 17:48
Hi Kev

Thats is real bad luck for sure, and hope everything is all ok with Sam.

Like they say, it all happens in split seconds timing and we all say....only if....

All the Best.

FollowupID: 839015

Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 21:14

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 21:14
Kev, Great that all is good with Sam

Lucky it wasn't Her daily drive car.
Will give you a call in a day or so.

Mike.

FollowupID: 839044

Follow Up By: Sir Kev - Monday, May 04, 2015 at 14:43

Monday, May 04, 2015 at 14:43
Very lucky Mike.

I had the new beast with me LOL

Hope your trip to Gallipoli was worth it.

FollowupID: 839102

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, May 05, 2015 at 15:42

Tuesday, May 05, 2015 at 15:42
Oh no! What is going on here? Poor Sam that is terrible. Hope she is ok. hugs to her xx
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 839168

Reply By: Member - batsy - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 15:05

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 15:05
Geez remind me not to get too close to either of you pair, bloody dangerous.
Seriously glad that neither female is hurt. Cars can be repaired, humans take longer with more consequences. Gum trees are noted for this "widow maker" acts .
All the best to Fiona & Sam.
Batsy
Every day vertical above ground is a bonus.

AnswerID: 553229

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 17:45

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 17:45
Hi Batsy

We have been out there dozens of times and I would never think that it would have happens when it did.

The day was perfect, around 20 degrees and not a breath of wind. All that Fiona said was that it happened that quick, one second she was putting the wood in the back of the car, and then she felt a large thump on her shoulder and leaves in her face.

Thanks for your reply.

FollowupID: 839014

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 15:57

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 15:57
If you trimmed a branch like this tree did by itself, some local Govt Councils (and I'm thinking of mine) would have you up on charges.

They would prefer you leave it alone, and then, when it drops a branch on a member of your family and kills them, they would say it's nothing to do with them.

Anyway, I'm glad all concerned in both stories are OK.

AnswerID: 553232

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 17:31

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 17:31
Hi Gone Bush

The only problem was that it was on private property. I contacted the Police to see if I needed a report number for my insurance, and the officer told me that seeing that there were no injuries and not on public land, the police did not need to be contacted.

There was a lot of luck involved, as I had my back to the tree cutting the timber that was on the ground. If the limb fell only metres to the left, I do not think that I would be here now telling this story.

FollowupID: 839013

Reply By: Member - Andrew L1 (SA) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 16:03

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 16:03
When are you leaving for Mt Isa?
AnswerID: 553234

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 17:24

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 17:24
Hi Andrew

5 weeks till we are leaving, but it might be on hold. I have contacted Phil Edwards and he thinks he should be able to have it back on the road by then.......I hope so.

Are you offering to lend my your Toyota?.......

Seek with you later.

FollowupID: 839012

Follow Up By: Member - P and JM - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:51

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:51
Hi Andrew & Stephen

Yeah, come on Andrew, lend a man in need your Toyo
Catch up soon.

Tell you what Stephen it would be well decked out that Toyo, and hope things are settling down a bit for you and Fiona.

P&J
FollowupID: 839032

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:55

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:55
Hi Paul

Thanks for that and thanks for the phone call today, it was greatly appreciated.

Now the big wait until tomorrow to see what the crash repair man has to say and then there is the insurance company.

FollowupID: 839034

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, May 04, 2015 at 12:03

Monday, May 04, 2015 at 12:03
any damage to the chassis & main body? Looks like they might just need to bolt a new door on....

FollowupID: 839086

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, May 04, 2015 at 14:32

Monday, May 04, 2015 at 14:32
Hi Scott

At this stage, it will need a new complete back door, a possible roof skin and well as other panel work. The main body and chassis seem to be fine.

FollowupID: 839097

Reply By: The Landy - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 17:54

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 17:54
Strewth!

Can't think of anything else to say, but glad all are safe and well...!

Cheers, Baz
AnswerID: 553236

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 18:08

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 18:08
Hi Baz

Trust me I said more than....Strewth....lol

Fiona is one very luck lady.

FollowupID: 839017

Reply By: Member - Odog - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 18:44

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 18:44
Hi Stephen, very lucky lady, looking at the photos, seems the door may have saved her.. Always makes you think when there is a close call.. Even if a different vehicle, with different door configuration, maybe a different out come..
Both girls mentioned above should go and buy a lottery ticket... I know it shakes you up for a while... My mum would have a stiff brandy or two... Cheers
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

AnswerID: 553244

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:10

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:10
Hi Odog

There is no doubt that if it was a tail gate, it could have been fatal for Fiona. The back door did take the full impact and the size of the branch that was resting on what was left of the back door was around 20cm in diameter and even then one of the smaller branches still hit her on her right shoulder.

It then took quite some time to cut all the branches away so we could remove the car.

FollowupID: 839026

Follow Up By: Member - Odog - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:22

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:22
Could imagine how both your self, and Fiona, must be feeling... Thinking, shock and disbelief... For a few days for sure.. Speedy recovery and repairs.. To you both.. And the vehicle... Cheers
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

FollowupID: 839027

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:18

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:18
Glad you are both ok - I would have needed a serious cup of coffee after that !

AnswerID: 553246

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:52

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:52
Hi Robin

Thanks for that and it put a real dampener to the rest of the day.

We see these type of accidents on TV and never think it could ever happen to ourselves.

FollowupID: 839033

Reply By: Member - KBAD - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:47

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:47
Bloody gum trees widow makers if there were any such beasts, my father was a "timber getter" we grew up around felling trees and i will never camp under a big tree.
Lucky……..
AnswerID: 553247

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:59

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:59
Hi Karl

It still has me beat how and why the limb came down. If it had been real windy, or a change in the weather from the real hot day, then I could expect that type of thing.

I am just glad we are both ok.

FollowupID: 839035

Follow Up By: Member - Gnomey - Monday, May 04, 2015 at 09:50

Monday, May 04, 2015 at 09:50
G'day Stephen.
Nasty thing and glad you are both ok, though somewhat shaken no doubt.

When I lived among big manna gums I had several big limbs come down and in still conditions as you describe. The local thinking was, a rain front comes through, the tree has a big drink, the weight goes upstairs and snappoh. Scary stuff.

FollowupID: 839069

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, May 04, 2015 at 14:36

Monday, May 04, 2015 at 14:36
Hi Mark,
You have just raise one question that I have not thought about.

This summer was one of the longest dry periods on record for South Australia, with no summer rain since last December. Three weeks ago, over 10 days, we had fantastic opening spring rainfalls, with over 100mm overran in that time.

It now make me wonder if that had anything to do with what looked like a healthy tree just dropping its limb?

FollowupID: 839099

Follow Up By: Member - Gnomey - Tuesday, May 05, 2015 at 10:31

Tuesday, May 05, 2015 at 10:31
G'day Stephen
Not my area of expertise mate, but yeah it fits a pattern I recognise. Good rain after dry conditions and it comes down on a still sunny day. Sort of counter intuitive but weight, leverage and even minor structural flaws mean something's gotta give.

BTW when I was a boy.... and all that... I was sent up the box gums with a bow saw. Most people in the bushy burbs lopped their trees but now we are so much kinder and wiser. Not.

FollowupID: 839151

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:53

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 19:53
Hey Stephen, glad Fiona escaped this lightly albeit she's probably quite shaken by the event and you too are reflecting on the what could have been. Hopefully you will also be back on the road soon!! Looks bad but it seems most of the impact was taken by the top of the rear door so hopefully hinges and surrounding areas have not been too deformed. Glad you are both still with us!!
AnswerID: 553248

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 20:03

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 20:03
Hi Leigh

Now you can see what we were up to today. All the impact was on the rear door and the cross bars on the roof.

I thought those Toyota adverts claim that Toyota's are unbreakable....lol

Lets see what the outcome is tomorrow.

Talk to you soon.

FollowupID: 839036

Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 21:11

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 21:11
WOW.
Stephen, great that all has turned out okay.

Mike.
AnswerID: 553258

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 22:04

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 22:04
Hi Mike

Now we have to see what Mr Insurance Man has to say.

Very lucky indeed

FollowupID: 839053

Reply By: Ron N - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 21:58

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 21:58
Stephen - YIKES! - that is one narrow escape. I find it amazing that a tree would snap off without a breath of wind, it usually takes a bit of breeze at least, for most tree types.

You didn't mention whether the tree was damaged by termites or dry rot where it snapped off.
I've found one has to be careful of trees where there is a fork in the limbs, and the water pools at the base of the fork, penetrates the tree and causes dry rot.

Of course, termites are always a concern - but usually, termite-ridden trees only fall over after they have been impacted by wind.

I'm convinced that being pinned by trees or branches is just in the lap of the gods.
I'm reminded of a couple of episodes I've known about, that happened around a small country town in the wheatbelt of W.A., where I was living in the 1980's.

One was; A bloke was sitting in his car watching football at the local sports oval. The oval is surrounded by dozens of magnificent Salmon Gums, and he was parked under one. There was a small amount of breeze.
Suddenly a huge limb broke off the Salmon Gum he was parked under, and it flattened the car roof over his head!
He was injured, but not too badly, and I think it was because the car roof took the brunt of the fall.

The second event was an incredible event to me. Two old bachelor farmers lived about 30 kms South of the town, and they had a private road that led only to the boundary of their property, where their front gate was located. There was a big tree by their front gate.
These old blokes were in their 70's and had been on that farm since they were born. It had been their parents farm.
One afternoon, they came home from a trip to town, and one of the brothers got out of their car to open the gate - as he'd done for probably over 65 yrs.
It was a windy, gusty day - and as he stepped in front of the car to open the gate, the tree by the gate fell over and landed right on top of him, pinning him to the ground and killing him almost instantly.
Talk about the tree with your name on it! You wouldn't credit that kind of bad luck - and I guess a lot of people would just say it was his fate to be nailed by that tree.

I know I take particular care to study trees when I'm in the bush and getting within reach of falling limbs. Even in the city, I'm wary of them.
There's a big Lemon-scented Gum around the corner from our house, in the side street - and I never trust it.
They are notorious for dropping limbs without a warning of any kind, and in still conditions.
One dropped a huge limb into the W.A. Parliament House carpark about 12-18 mths ago, and it put the wind up a heap of politicians!

AnswerID: 553263

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 22:20

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 22:20
Hi Ron

As the limb came down from about 20 feet from the bottom of the tree, I can not comment as to its condition where it let go. The section that was on the ground looked very sound, but there was a patch of dead wood in one small area.

The rest of the tree looked very sound and even when I was cutting the tree away from the car, it was sound inside with no sign of white ant damage.

It will remain one of those un know mysteries, as we have been going to that area for countless years and only the very old dead trees are the ones that usually fall down during the windy conditions.

Fiona was very unset after it happened and she counts her lucky stars that we can now talk about it.

Thanks for your reply.

FollowupID: 839058

Follow Up By: Ron N - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 22:49

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 22:49
Yes, I could imagine that she was very upset, and probably suffering from some shock as well.
It's very fortunate that she's survived without serious injury, and that you were out of line with the fall.

No doubt, your alertness level and tree-wariness will be well up, anytime you venture bush in the future.

It's a shame, because camping under shady trees is what we have all done at various and multiple times - but you never know with some trees, when they are ready to let go.

FollowupID: 839059

Follow Up By: sweetwill - Monday, May 04, 2015 at 10:16

Monday, May 04, 2015 at 10:16
After spending a lot of time in the bush I have seen enough branches come down for no reason, and some were large ones, as others have said don't camp under them, glad both girls are ok.
FollowupID: 839076

Reply By: Idler Chris - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 21:59

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 21:59
What does one say? Life is so fragile, Fiona is so very lucky. All the more reason to get out there and enjoy this great country, you just do not know what is around the corner. Enjoy your upcoming trip to Qld and good luck with their NP booking system.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 553264

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 22:08

Sunday, May 03, 2015 at 22:08
Hi Chris

Tomorrow will be the big determining factor weather the car can be repaired in the given time.

And as you say, who would have thought that a great day would turn to .....in that split second timing.

Will keep you posted.

FollowupID: 839056

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, May 04, 2015 at 12:32

Monday, May 04, 2015 at 12:32
Pleased that you are both okay, though somewhat shaken, Stephen.

A couple of metres either way may have had a different outcome. :-(. The Prado has literally "laid down his life for a friend". How did you manage to shut the door for the trip home? Did it latch, or did you resort to ropes and/or duct tape?

Hope repairs are done quickly and the Isa trip still goes ahead.

AnswerID: 553282

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, May 04, 2015 at 14:29

Monday, May 04, 2015 at 14:29
Hi Bob

Yes indeed we are both very lucky for sure. After cutting all the branches away from the vehicle, it took both Fiona and I to push the frame back into its rough shape, lifted up on the back door handle (The Door actually dropped about 30mm) the the door did shut.

It was then a very dusty drive back out of Hillriver Station, as with no back window, the dust just came straight into the car.

Fiona now has a nice bruise on her right shoulder where one of the branches struck her. The Insurance Company have been great, as well as the Panel Beater. Fingers crossed, the trip up to Mt Isa could still be on track...fingers crossed.

FollowupID: 839096

Reply By: Krooznalong - Monday, May 04, 2015 at 13:27

Monday, May 04, 2015 at 13:27
G'day Stephen

Firstly glad to hear no serious injury occurred to your wife. Bloody lucky!

Whilst you're in a different state those look like some of the gums in our back yard (Brisbane). We've had quite a few large branches come down inexplicably. One day I went out to buy something, came back 10 mins later and a huge branch had come down beside the house - missed everything including the gas bottle and even fell in between other plants. Had I been out putting rubbish in the wheelie bin I'd have been buggered.

I assume you mean she was standing at the back of the car, not "in the boot" as that would have been a tight squeeze.

Take care on the next firewood collecting excursion.
AnswerID: 553287

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, May 04, 2015 at 14:22

Monday, May 04, 2015 at 14:22
Hi Kroozalong

Yes Fiona is very luck to only get a bruised shoulder, and yes, she was standing at the back of the vehicle stacking wood into the boot.

I hate to think what could have eventuated if she was walking back to the car.

Thanks for your reply.

FollowupID: 839095

Reply By: Member - KBAD - Monday, May 04, 2015 at 14:54

Monday, May 04, 2015 at 14:54
Stephen it is the weight of the branch the dryness of the wood, even down to recent rainfall will change the weight of a branch, all eucalyptus have a inbuilt protection against what you most run into and that is high winds, instead of sacrificing the tree what happens is the trunk or limbs will break thus insuring the tree survives. In your case the scales tipped over in could have been a vibration or even a bird landing at the extremity that caused it to let go, when operating large dozers in scrub the scrub canopy copped a work out, even to the point of being pinned in the cab surprising how little a gap it takes.

Always surprised me that in surburbia most councils have little or no understanding and even promote the planting of these trees, while they are strictly pruned all is good but once they start to extend out look out. We have had a few incidences of people being killed including young kids on camping trips here in WA under large trees. The why's and wherefores of it all are impossible to understand and I wouldn't sweat it, just give your wife a hug take her out for a nice meal, watch the sunset and smile.
AnswerID: 553292

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, May 04, 2015 at 19:18

Monday, May 04, 2015 at 19:18
Hi Karl

There have been a number of case even her in SA where people have died from being it with falling tree limbs and there was a case just last where when a young 21 yo lady died while driving here car in Adelaide when a branch let go as she was driving past.

When I look back at that incident, the branch that hit our car was a lot bigger and more solid.

Thanks again for your reply.

FollowupID: 839125

Reply By: trains - Monday, May 04, 2015 at 15:05

Monday, May 04, 2015 at 15:05
Hi Stephen and Fiona.

Glad to hear your both ok, albeit somewhat shaken and a little stirred.

Not everyone has had the opportunity to see a gum drop a limb.

Once again, glad your still here to talk about it.

Trains

Everything looks like a tree when your holding a chainsaw.

AnswerID: 553293

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, May 04, 2015 at 19:10

Monday, May 04, 2015 at 19:10
Hi Grant

Fiona is still shaken up and here neck and shoulder are now saw, but like she said, at least she came home in one piece and get to see her family and friends again.

I hope that I never ever get to experience that type of thing again.

FollowupID: 839124

Reply By: Echucan Bob - Monday, May 04, 2015 at 23:51

Monday, May 04, 2015 at 23:51
Stephen,

unbelievable!

I must admit that I often wonder why there aren't more serious accidents with limbs dropping onto highways. We live amongst big river red gums and occasionally hear the almighty crack of massive limbs crashing to ground. One branch ( 18" diam) cost me $400 to have sawn up.

I am amazed the Prado hasn't been written off. With that sort of force on the back door I'd expect the whole body to be bent out of shape.

AnswerID: 553328

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, May 05, 2015 at 08:16

Tuesday, May 05, 2015 at 08:16
Hi Bob

It sure was unbelievable, and one I never want to see again. Fiona is still quite shocked and still coming to grips with the whole event.

I am glad that the car was not written off, as all those little extras that we do cost lots of hidden dollars and time, something that a lot of insurance companies do not take into consideration. It is still very early days yet, but I am still waiting to see the cost of the repairs, which I think will not be cheap.

Cheers and keep clear of those trees.

FollowupID: 839145

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Tuesday, May 05, 2015 at 15:39

Tuesday, May 05, 2015 at 15:39
Oh my, I've just read this! Very glad to hear Fiona is ok, that sure was a very close call. Shame about the damage to your car too but its inanimate and can be fixed. Buy a lottery ticket this week Fiona xx hugs to you.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 553350

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, May 05, 2015 at 20:05

Tuesday, May 05, 2015 at 20:05
Hi Michelle

Thanks for that and Fiona says thanks.

She is indeed one very lucky lady.

Take care and regards to the family.