Country road etiquette, or lack of it.

Submitted: Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 18:03
ThreadID: 118925 Views:3664 Replies:17 FollowUps:33
I was towing our caravan on one of those skinny bitumen Queensland roads. I saw an oncoming vehicle so slowed to about 80kph and moved left enough to just keep the right wheels on the black top. The oncoming Landcruiser ute passed in a shower of rocks without slowing. I called on the CB saying only 'You could have slowed down a bit'. His response was 'I was doing 100, you bleep '. Being not worthy of a response I did not reply. He then called again saying 'No answer eh, you silly bastard, proves I am right'. I have to add that on this section of road, from Dajarra to Boulia I was really delighted at the courtesy of every other driver, all of whom slowed down and pulled left, some even stopping altogether, and always with a friendly wave.

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 18:37

Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 18:37
Such a shame thee are such self centred idiots on the roads.
I didn't mention this in any of my recent trip reports, on return from Simpson geo centre trip . . . but coming down the Ood Tk I estimate there were only a few drivers out of dozens we passed by that would slow below (I estimate) 80km/hr, about the fastest a sensible driver would be going.

We would see oncoming, and slow to 60, move far left, many others would move left but stay at speed already underway.

Combined with obvious high bitumen tyre pressures, the stones coming up were quite a risk.
In contrast, running 24psi we couldn't see any stones coming up in our rearviews from our tyres, even at 80 when cruising.

AnswerID: 554019

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 18:47

Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 18:47
When I worked on a Cattle Station in the Kimberley & the owner saw that tourists were coming at him way too fast he would swing the wheel to the right & head straight for those morons.
Slowed em down quick smart when they saw a "bull catcher" coming straight at them!

Worked every time. Done it myself a few times.

Stu
AnswerID: 554021

Follow Up By: Member - mechpete - Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 18:55

Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 18:55
that's about equaly stupid s the people speeding the other direction .
who knows what the other vehicle could have done ,
mechpete
FollowupID: 839950

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 19:06

Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 19:06
Actually, one of our group on the Simmo trip, who has done many trips all over the country, said something similar, though not quite as extreme.

He reckons stay in the centre of the road and slow as usual, the approaching vehicles slow down very quickly, and he then moves left.

I didn't want to try it, but the offending other parties did NOT get a finger lift wave from the steering wheel, I can tell you.
A bit of a scowl more like it and a slow down motion of the hand.
FollowupID: 839952

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 20:22

Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 20:22
I do the same. If ttowing a trailer and I can see the idiot approaching is not going to slow down I simply slow right down and remain entirely on the bitumen.. Idiots normally slow down to a respectable speed then. Doesn't the law require us to drive to the conditions, not at the nominated speed limit...
FollowupID: 839955

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 06:44

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 06:44
Unfortunately the morons that drive this way lack common sense & common courtesy.
Like many situations in life sometimes drastic measures are required to correct such behaviour!
FollowupID: 839968

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 09:09

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 09:09
Steering towards someone is ridiculous. What if they are on the phone and not looking. In any event, no reason good or bad to do anything like that.
FollowupID: 839973

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 09:18

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 09:18
Pretty sure people are talking at a fairly distance here, not in close . . . it was obvious to me from quite a long way between vehicles the numpties that weren't slowing down at all.

Suppose some people have better distance judgement than others though, so great care and experience is needed to be able to stay centre line longer.

Not good being put in a situation where your blood pressure rises due to others inconsideration (or indeed common sense), these drives should see you in outback mode, not peak hour nerves / frustration.
Shame to see a sort of road rage developing in the outback.
FollowupID: 839975

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 10:16

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 10:16
Correct Les.
The manoeuvre certainly was not performed at close range.

Unfortunately etiquette has gone out the window in many cases. Having a driving licence is a privilege not a right. Some people don't deserve to be issued with one. I do 50,000 km a year & the antics I see on the road defy belief.
FollowupID: 839982

Follow Up By: cookie1 - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 11:55

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 11:55
Mmm, not sure if you'd come off well if they took evasive action and damaged their car or suffered injuries given the law specifically states "Keep Left" or indeed they reported your vehicle for driving dangerous

On the Talawana Track last year we were confronted by someone coming down the middle, didn't slow down and fortunately we were able to get off the road - he looked like a local

FollowupID: 839989

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 12:02

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 12:02
Bad road manners are not confined to just the local ignorant driver or grey ghost hogging the road. Not long ago the Cook and I were on the Muccan Shay Gap Rd heading south when a cop came towards us, no flashing lights, middle of the gravel road at what looked like a fairly high speed (for a Troopy that is) and up came a rock and bang went the windscreen!
He had given us a small wave as we'd pulled over.....or was it the finger? :-)))
AlanH.

FollowupID: 839990

Reply By: Phil 23 - Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 19:48

Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 19:48
Even just when driving in my sedan. I've taken to slowing & taking up all the road for a bit & forcing these arrogant drivers to slow down.

If you just slow & move off, they still blast past you at full noise & shower you with rocks.

Hug the centreline a little & they become a bit unsure.
AnswerID: 554024

Follow Up By: Notso - Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 20:25

Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 20:25
Yep, I'm a bit inclined to do that too. Slow down but stick to the road till they move over. Never do it with trucks or road trains though. Might is right! I get right off for them and let em have the lot.
FollowupID: 839956

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 20:44

Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 20:44
Yep, would easily rather have the whole road train on the blacktop, and me off it, near stopped, no stones then.
If on the gravel, trucks are usually great, slowing right down, like me.
FollowupID: 839957

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 01:48

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 01:48
"Hug the centreline a little & they become a bit unsure." - yeah I find with 40 and the sizeable bullbar they soon decide a game of chicken isn't to thier liking - when they start moving so do I
FollowupID: 839964

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 09:52

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 09:52
So you recon you own the road eh , how about the once per year tourist towing the van on the single lane blacktop who refuses to move over even when I have red & blues flashing and the siren blaring in the ambulance……...
FollowupID: 839978

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 09:56

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 09:56
I think you are talking about a different sort of idiot there Alloy c/t.
FollowupID: 839979

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 10:00

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 10:00
Seems there is an awful lot of them around this time of year , generally with Vic & NSW # plates I might add..
FollowupID: 839980

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 10:03

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 10:03
Hmmm, Vic yes but us New South Welshmen are perfect!
FollowupID: 839981

Follow Up By: Gramps - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 17:03

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 17:03
It's the Qld and ACT ones you've got to worry about :)
FollowupID: 840006

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 17:24

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 17:24
Yep, I reckon the ACT drivers should only be let out into the rest of Aus under licence, a few at a time so they don't infect the rest of us. Mind you I was an Actarian for many years but as a Gendarme, so it did colour my views a bit.
FollowupID: 840008

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 17:37

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 17:37
ACT ??? Ohh you mean that place in NSW which is full of perfectly paved roads so our Politicians have a comfortable journey and their minions when they retire can hitch up the 3 ton van and drive on something they have only ever heard about , that being dirt roads or 1 car width wide asphalt roads that are called a H/way on most maps ...
FollowupID: 840009

Follow Up By: Phil 23 - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 19:06

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 19:06
I don't think I own the road,
but on some of our narrow local strip, idiots would still blast past at 100K's+ and shower you in rocks even if you were stationary.

I've born a 1/2 brick sized rock when doing less that 40k's.
Cost:- New screen & paint job on the bonnet.
FollowupID: 840013

Reply By: carnaby - Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 21:36

Wednesday, May 20, 2015 at 21:36
Hi Mikee5,
I have had the same thing on many ocaisions
did you see what state the car was licenced
just out of curiosity
AnswerID: 554031

Follow Up By: Mikee5 - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 15:36

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 15:36
Hi Alan,
No idea but considering the light load in the tray I was guessing it was a local.
FollowupID: 840000

Reply By: tony_j - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 05:21

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 05:21
A sign of the times I'm afraid. There's no consideration for others on the roads/tracks anymore. Take a trip up the Cape on the development roads and see what happens. I think it has a lot to do with drivers now days just don't know any better. 4wds are more 'car' like, more accessable and more reliable so more people are travelling these places without much experience, pressed for time and generally a selfish attitude.
Doesn't make any difference whether they're towing or not, always in a hurry - great way to spend a holiday!
On those single lane bitumen roads, I let an oncoming truck have the whole lot. If possible, I let the on coming car or car and trailer have all the bitumen. After all, if they are on the bitumen then they don't (generally) through stones. Doesn't seem much point in both getting on the dirt.
I often wonder though, when an oncoming has gotten off the bitumen before me (some move over way to early) and I stay on the bitumen, whether they think I'm being rude?
AnswerID: 554039

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 07:38

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 07:38
I know the bloke that did that, Mike!

Well, I don't know him personally, but in my past life I used travel that way regularly, and once, just south of Dajarra, passed a bloke doing a great rate of knots, and he showered us with rocks. Just an icehole, as his comments to you indicate.

Usually, if others pulled well off I would stay on the bitumen, and give them a big wave. If it was a 'van approaching, I'd indicate and pull right off the bitumen. But sometimes it's frustrating when they pull off too! Vans and trailers are notorious for damaging windscreens!

Only idiots don't give heavies all the road. It's easier to pick somewhere safe to pull over early,than hurriedly picking a small spot where one is barely off the road, and the truck......well trailers anyway, shower you with everything.

Agree with what Tony has said too, about people's attitudes. Most mightn't mean to be rude, but they are because they are perched up there in their 4wd, cocooned in cool comfort, and he, the driver, has swollen b*lls because he thinks he's God. "Out of my way, I'm comin' through"

Don't think it'll ever change......probably get worse?

AnswerID: 554040

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 08:53

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 08:53
I am at present, and have done so in the past, travelling (with a van) in north west Qld on quite a bit of single lane. I usually like to slow right down and stop and give the approachers the sealed, however they have been beating me to it and actually stopping for me. The speeding ones must either be interstaters or city travellers on short term holidays who have no idea of country road etiquette. May be it happens on the more touristy roads.
AnswerID: 554042

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 09:25

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 09:25
I agree with your methods and final comments on people having no idea Ron.

As tony_j replied: I think it has a lot to do with drivers now days just don't know any better.

Personally, I feel this is mostly the case when this happens.
Too many newbies out there with newbie mates that just don't know to lower tyres on gravel, slow the he77 down, and keep left (keep left seems to be no probs, they do that usually, just the other points).
FollowupID: 839976

Reply By: Member - PhilD_NT - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 09:05

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 09:05
Years ago I came up to a stretch of flooded road (still water about a foot deep) and drove on along the centre line due to the quite severe camber of the road. When I was part way through a Mini Moke started in from the other end. I moved off the centre a bit and as I went by him my bow wave went through the front of the Moke and drowned the engine. He yelled out something about I wasn't being very smart and I said that he should have waited until I'd gone through, then I continued on. In the mirror I could see his female passenger getting out to push him. As this was just on the Darwin side of the Adelaide River bridge on the Arnhem Hwy I wouldn't have gotten out and walked that water, or been in a Moke doing it.
AnswerID: 554043

Reply By: cookie1 - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 12:04

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 12:04
Unfortunately we have come across many that behave like this and indeed had a female on the Boulia to Mt Isa stretch that we assumed was very fatigued and forced us right off the road, as she passed us it looked like she was struggling to stay awake.

The only thing I can constructively suggest is to assume that all road users are going to do something stupid and be ready for it and when it happens try and collect their rego number and report them - Police can and do act on this information given the effort in reducing the road toll. Enough reports and they will prosecute so I am informed.

AnswerID: 554045

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 12:10

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 12:10
Welcome to 2015 - where tragically it is all about me, speaking metaphorically of course, the "me" isn't "me" (just in case you get the wrong impression - of me)...

I find the easiest way to handle to process is to take control myself by getting out of the way.

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
AnswerID: 554046

Reply By: Echucan Bob - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 13:09

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 13:09
When this topic came up here a few years ago some clowns said they budgeted for a windscreen every trip so if it broke it didn't matter. (I budget for a tyre or two on a major trip, but if they survive the trip I don't do burnouts until they are destroyed at the end of the trip)

The ones who don't slow down are either idiots or driving a car they don't own.

AnswerID: 554047

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 16:42

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 16:42

Cant comment on the actual circumstances but the response from the other driver is soemthing i see more of now.
The general trend is more and more "meet any criticism with agression" in order to scare the other party out of continuing. The driver for example could have just said "sorry mate" and left it at that, but that may have given the impression that he was wrong.
It is very evident society in general these days, that people respond to criticism, often that is rightly deserved, with anger and agression.

AnswerID: 554053

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 17:12

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 17:12
I have often wondered how many of these aggressive types may have some sort of chemical cocktail circulating in their system.

Never tried it myself, and don't intend to, but apparently ice, and all the other so called "recreational" drugs, along with excessive consumption of alcohol, are very prevalent in our modern society.
Just the thought of the driver coming the other way and possibly loaded up with who knows what, and his or her brain in paranoia mode is enough to make me take the path of discretion being the better part of valor.

I'll take being a live chicken over a dead hawk any day.

FollowupID: 840007

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 19:02

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 19:02
Yes Pop, there was some article on ACA or the Courier Mail, both reputable sources, where they suggested that the current ice epidemic was more prevalent with truck drivers and mine workers. Who knows but they were quoting 40% and that seems pretty high but my uneducated guess is that it could be worse in remote areas.

FollowupID: 840012

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 17:12

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 17:12
Stay in the centre of the road until the other bloke slows ????????? Yeah, right.

So what if he is of the same mind?

Who blinks first?

AnswerID: 554054

Reply By: Iza B - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 17:39

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 17:39
Try driving out to Big Red from Birdsville for a sight see. Convoys of tricked up Patrols towing trailers seem to travel in as fast as the vehicle can go. Moving to the left and slowing down is taken as an invite to stay in the centre of the road and put the foot down further. I have busted a windscreen every time I have been out that way thanks to some numbskull only thinking of themselves.

Iza
AnswerID: 554055

Follow Up By: cookie1 - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 19:00

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 19:00
People towing trailers is another matter entirely, you see them with their back window padded & taped up but what they don't realise in many cases is that the stones hit their trailers and deflect out sideways and up into the oncoming 4wd, yep had a windscreen busted that way too so I pull right out of their way

FollowupID: 840011

Reply By: Kevin S - Life Member (QLD) - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 19:22

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 19:22
I think this problem is worst in school holidays and is largely caused by drivers trying to do too much in a limited period of time. I have often quipped that the fastest thing on North Australian roads is a Victorian Prado towing a camper trailer during the school holidays.

On the second last day of the mid year school holidays last year we travelled from Camooweal to Lawn Hill. Gravel most of the way. We met about 30 vehicles coming the other way. A couple could have been locals but the rest were vehicles mostly with southern state number plates towing camper trailers and/or with pack racks stacked high with camping gear. Not one of them slowed perceptibly.

My practice is to slow to a speed where my dust trail is negligible, so that the approaching vehicle will have reasonable visibility when they pass. I will continue to do that no matter what other traffic does as I figure that the less our combined passing speed the less damage is likely to be done.

I did get some windscreen damage but that happened a couple of days previously on one of the widest and best areas of sealed road on the Barkley Highway.

Cheers, Kevin
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

AnswerID: 554057

Follow Up By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 20:58

Thursday, May 21, 2015 at 20:58
Same road Kev about 5 years earlier what looked like a Tag along or convoy towing CT showered us with rocks. Front vehicle was going like a bat out of hell, the rest obviously thought they had to keep up.

FollowupID: 840022

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, May 22, 2015 at 22:34

Friday, May 22, 2015 at 22:34
Tag alongs seem to get a lot of bad press. I've seen enough "4wd clubs" (organized or not) exhibit exactly the same behaviour or worse.
FollowupID: 840093

Reply By: Sigmund - Friday, May 22, 2015 at 17:32

Friday, May 22, 2015 at 17:32
In 4 outback trips I've done two windscreens, both to fast moving fourbies with big tyres.

Now with a UHF radio in the rig there's a bit of blue language about when some eedjit doesn't do the right thing.

But how often do you see notices or educational material encouraging slowing down and moving over?
AnswerID: 554099

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, May 22, 2015 at 22:31

Friday, May 22, 2015 at 22:31
Admire your confidence/belief that notices or educational material would make a difference with these morons.
FollowupID: 840092

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Saturday, May 23, 2015 at 06:58

Saturday, May 23, 2015 at 06:58
There are plenty of responsible drivers who don't know about the issue for whom it would make a difference.

There are plenty of drivers who think the only stone that hits you is from the vehicle you're travelling behind.
FollowupID: 840100

Follow Up By: Kevin S - Life Member (QLD) - Saturday, May 23, 2015 at 09:04

Saturday, May 23, 2015 at 09:04
I agree. There are a lot of newbies out there who would have no understanding of the correct behavior. Signs would help. Nothing short of closing the roads will fix the problem.
Cheers, Kevin.
Kevin
It is important to always maintain a sense of proportion

2019 Mitsubishi Cross

FollowupID: 840103

Follow Up By: Bushranger1 - Saturday, May 23, 2015 at 09:34

Saturday, May 23, 2015 at 09:34
As the saying goes
"No matter how easy you make the lesson some people never learn"!

Sorry but in most instances education does not work at all.
FollowupID: 840105

Reply By: birdnerd - Saturday, May 23, 2015 at 15:30

Saturday, May 23, 2015 at 15:30
Ok all of you naughty people with camper trailers , shame on you!
We tow a camper trailer and always pull over. Don't put us all in the same basket!! What else should we do? Should we just stay at home, or maybe just swag it to make all of you happy!!
Amanda
AnswerID: 554131

Follow Up By: birdnerd - Saturday, May 23, 2015 at 15:33

Saturday, May 23, 2015 at 15:33
Oh and we have also been shoewered in stones whilst pulled over and it has been by big 4wd's with big fat tyres and no trailer!!!!
Amanda
FollowupID: 840113

Follow Up By: cookie1 - Saturday, May 23, 2015 at 19:20

Saturday, May 23, 2015 at 19:20
There can be faults with any vehicle driven by inconsiderate idiots, I don't think people towing have been particularly singled out and I reckon that we all need to do a little better on the dirt tracks and just spare a thought for your fellow traveller albeit going in the opposite direction

FollowupID: 840125