Rip off Merchants

Submitted: Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 15:03
ThreadID: 18301 Views:10022 Replies:15 FollowUps:38
Am I the only person who is sick to death of being forced to buy second rate goods at auto stores and then having to pull them apart and rebuild them to make them last???

Quick eg........I needed an extension lead for the ciggy outlet to run a light.........brought the most expensive one with coils and the like..........after one trip, the coils dont coil properly anymore so i have removed the ends and replaced the lead with a quality 1.5mm orange circ cable.

I have also been reading here today about showers that last one trip...if your lucky.

If we made a list it would be endless.

I honestly believe that 80% of what is sold at the majority of auto accessories stores are purposely made NOT to last more than a short period.

Why do they do this????

I have a theory that we have this garbage thrown at us because we are generally to apathetic to bother taking it back or making a song and dance about it.............and the companies KNOW it.

I didnt take that extension lead back.........In my case i simply fixed it myself.........most others would have persisted with it..........forgetting that the main reason they brought it was cos it coiled up like a telephone..............and a very small percent will take it back, get a new one, only for it to happen again and they give up.

I get the impression that a new world has started...........the disposable world........or what i call........the EXCEL world (The worlds first disposable car).

Why cant I go and buy something that is of decent quality and will last if not a life time then at least until the end of the year?

Everything seems to be made so stupidly cheap that if you do anything other than leave it in its packaging.........then its stuffed.

Are we being taken for a ride???

Is it time to start fighting back???

Im sick to death of having to wade through a dozen items checking out the whys and wherefores of every one just so i can try and buy one that will last longer than one trip.

Dont believe me.............take a look at the crap that is available next time you go to an auto store.

Reply By: Davoe - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 15:07

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 15:07
also alot of this crap u r talking about can come in 3 different packages for 3 different prices alongside eachother in the same store
AnswerID: 87159

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 15:24

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 15:24
Having worked in the wholsale game and traveling overseas looking for new products to bring into australia I can safley say that the majority of you guys (and me) only have ourselves to blame. Always screwing the retailers for cheaper prices, pretending that we are on holiday in bali when we are simply buying an oil filter and oil for a service etc etc.

There is no point in buying a container load of the more exensive product because there is only a small percentage of people who would actually buy it, then they would risk having a cheaper product out sell it 100 to 1 and get stuck with thousands of the "good" product that they cannot move.
It is much safer for an importer to get the crap, as they no it will sell even if it is going to break. Then as you say, hope that no one can be bothered bringing it back when it does.

The only thing that you can do as idviduals IMHO is to take EVERYTHING back that breaks, be polite with the retailer but insistant on replacment there and then. If everyone did this, they'd give the cheap crap the ass and get some better products, however we will all end up paying more for the privliage.
AnswerID: 87161

Follow Up By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:11

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:11
Jeff,

From your comments I see the "blame" being placed on retailers and the onus on them to rectify the problem.

The real problem appears to be with the Wholesaler/Importer bringing in crap products, hoping to make their money on a quit turnover.

As well as the consumer, it would appear that the retailer is also being duped. They are not in a position to test the product before hand, so they either have to rely on the supplier providing a quality product, or suffer the consequences of returned (crap) goods and the eventual perception by the consumer that that particular retailer is not worth doing business with because they only sell crap.

In cases such as this, I feel sorry for the retailer who is risking their business and livelihood.

The wholesaler does not suffer from bad publicity and only needs to market their snake oil, or other crap quality products, to other unsuspecting retailers. They are the mongrels in these cases.

I for one seek quality products and will pay the extra for them. I will also continue to do business with retailers who provide quality products and quality service.

Phew!

FollowupID: 345909

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:31

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:31
I guess I was pointing more to the Larger Retails like Supercheap, who for all intesive purposes import their own product, they are the importer and the retailer.

But my point is still the same, when I was in wholesale if my retailers keep having a product returned, I in turn have to replace it, it ends up hurting my hip pocket as the chinese manufacture does not want to know about warranty.

Therefore return to retailer, who will return to wholsaler who will think twice before bringing in the product again if he is not making a profit due to high return rates.

Retailers are not locked into any one importer/wholesaler either, they can choose to buy other products from other companies. If the wholesaler bringing in the crap is losing sales because of all the returns and hassels the retailer is getting from selling it, it again may sway them to better products.

FollowupID: 345913

Reply By: rengatt - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:00

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:00
Welcome to the disposable society we live in, every thing from razor blades, pens, and even barbeques are made to be used for a short period and then tossed away.

As for retailers, high turnover on small profit crap items satisfies the shareholders rather that low turnover high profit items. "we sold 2000 units sounds beter than we only sold 150"

We all think that it only costs a couple of bucks and if it breaks I'll buy another. 3 or 4 times later we still don't work it out that the higher priced quality item works out cheaper.

Sure we can fix the broken item but thats part of their plan to sell more goods.

Sorry I'll get of the soap box. lol
AnswerID: 87166

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:30

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:30
Tracy went to Harvey Norman her on Saturday, and bought 2 1 hp Split System Reverse cycle Air-conditioners made by BLUEWAY.

Had them installed on Tuesday, one doesn't work!

21 Phone calls, & 2 faxes later, no-one wants to know me......

I simply get hand-balled one to the other.....

I am so over it.

bleepoff Wolf
AnswerID: 87168

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 17:36

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 17:36
Doesn't matter who made it Harvery Norman sold it to you, your contract is with them. I'd be down there screaming....who the hell is Blueway anyway
FollowupID: 345901

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:03

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:03
no offence Wolfie, but surely you have learnt by now! not to part with large sums of hard earnt cash on product you have never heard of?

And if not why didnt you ask a fridgie on what he thought of er whats that bloomin name again...oh yeah Blueway!!! like Mad Dog I have never geez never heard of them and i have been in the AC game for yrs n yrs n yrs okay a long time.
FollowupID: 345907

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:06

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:06
did it die imediately?

if so its DOA and a full replacement is warranted not just a repair
FollowupID: 345908

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:13

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:13
goodday wolfie
watched a show interviewing gerry harvey he said if you cant get thru to salesperson go direct to dept manager if no result go to store manager if no satisfaction go to small claims cause it bleep es gerry off he said so that his people will not accept responsibility and they sold the product
FollowupID: 345910

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 19:33

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 19:33
Nudie...

Wouldn't work from day one......
Apparently, it is a simple matter of replacing a capacitor on the cooling fan for the compressor unit. This is what the installer told me. We arranged the installer separately, so he is out of the equation.

GOB.....

I've done the hard yards, told them I'm going to go to consumer affairs. I am sure they have hundreds of these complaints, I'm just another.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 345925

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 21:20

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 21:20
Hey wolfie, i just went through the whole a/c debarcle, could have had the cheapie jobs etc, but ended up getting a wicked daikin inverter system from a dedicated a/c / heating buisness. Guess i was lucky as i had the cash so i could get a good one, it's awesome , damn cold and quiet as a mouse , even the outdoor compressor is real quiet, its grouse but it cost me $3500 fitted.......

cheers from a cold but broke Brad ;-)
FollowupID: 345939

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 10:24

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 10:24
I had the same problem with Harvey Norman over a Pioneer DVD, they had me chasing Pioneer, so I just took the unit back and said I want you to deal with Pioneer over why they sold you a dud, in the mentime, give me a new one. I refused to leave until they did.

David O
FollowupID: 345986

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 13:14

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 13:14
Thats the one!!

They send you on to the agent, yes.

I am so over it. I can waste so much time on this.

I charge out at $60.00 @ hour, so I am not going to waste any more of my time, I am going to pay someone to fix the damn thing.

It is an unfair practice, but unless one is prepared to go the hard yards.... too bad.

I have learnt.

The strangest thing...... I regularly take my Honda in for 5000 k services, and they treat me & the car like royalty, and still do stuff for free...... I've had it for six years!

If I screw up at work, and we do..... we DROP EVERYTHING & rectify NOW!!

My clients just keep on coming back, we're not cheap, and we're crass & rude, but at the end of the day, we want our clients to have the right product.

Anyway, 'nuff of my whining...........

Who in Adelaide wants to look at my Air Conditioner?
FollowupID: 345998

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 17:29

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 17:29
My day just got better!!

Blueway in Sydney called, and told me of the repairer who is coming to see me.

Wonder if it had anything to do with a fax I sent them.............

Consumer Affairs

Small Claims Court

Just got out of prison, after serving a 7 year rap for murder, and it was HOT in there, and I'm so sick of being...... hot!

Anyway............... I'm happy.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 346015

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:31

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:31
thats one of the funniest things ive read in a while lol.
so how hot was it in jail.lol
and its not wolfie as a nick because you howled in prison hahaha.
FollowupID: 346136

Reply By: theshadows - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:35

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:35
Bit upsettig hearing the insults at the excel......I was going to buy a 318I bmw and My friend from work surgest that I take her excel out for a spin. The excel is built better than the damned BMW. at a fraction of the cost.
btu honestly I know what you mean recently my vhf stopped on my yacht so I crawled up the mast to check on the aerial ....guess what 1 seanson old and the whole mount broken by UV. I got a new one under warrenty and that one stopped working after 3 weeks its shocking the crap people sell and it dosnt matter if its cheap or dear.

shadow
AnswerID: 87171

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:51

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:51
You have really hit a nerve now .... bloody stuff made for yachts is atrocious ...... compass lenses that discolour to the point where you can't read them, instrument lenses that have similar problems & as you mentioned, many things with a plastic content that just stand up to UVs.
What don't they understand about yachts being permanently outside???
FollowupID: 345888

Reply By: David Au - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:50

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 16:50
There are rip-offs everywhere. Priced a CDMA aerial from RF Industries today. Bit of bent wire with threaded end $75.00 and with magnetic base $160.00. Getting one with magnetic base from mate in Korea 5db for about $AU40.00 including postage.
Look at the rip-offs on satellite television for caravaner's Campersat want $200.00 difference for 65cm to 120cm dish. You can buy three 120cm dishes for $200.00. Campersat want to charge you around $1,500.00 for an approximately $600.00 satellite system as they pray on peoples ignorance and gullibility.
As long as buyers do not do their homework and are gullible they will get ripped-off big time.
I would have made my own extension lead as you would know you could not buy a quality unit. You can buy cigarette lighter adaptors 1 male plug to 2 female sockets at The Warehouse for $1.95 and the sockets are some of the best quality I have come across if you must insist on using cigarette lighter plugs. Cigarette lighter plugs should not be used over 2.0 amps.
AnswerID: 87177

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 20:37

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 20:37
Where do you get this 2 amp figure from Ozi
FollowupID: 345932

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 18:29

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 18:29
Yes the figure is 10 amps to my knowledge. A few outlets I have seen have had this stanped on them or a sticker beside them mentioning 10 amps.

FollowupID: 346025

Follow Up By: David Au - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:02

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:02
Bonz another pseudo electrical engineering genius eh!!!
Back it up with proper facts, not stupid hearsay or you saw or dream or other some time stuff.
FollowupID: 346037

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:06

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:06
Thanx Ray I was wondering if this was the famous Ozi. I had not run across his laconic moronisms directly until now. Ozi, if you cant believe what you read dont believe what you see.

FollowupID: 346039

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:22

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:22
ROTFLMAO....couldn't help yourself could ya Geoff...lol
FollowupID: 346041

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:25

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:25
WAS there ever any doubt in your mind hahahahaha, dya buy anyhting at the Rays Sale, was in Geelong today and Lara, didnt buy a thing

FollowupID: 346042

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:29

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:29
I saw the sign when I passed yesterday but decided not to stop as I'd just buy something I don't really need..more junk to carry. All I really need is a cig socket to run the 150 watt inverter..hahahaha
FollowupID: 346045

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:33

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:33
Is that more than 2 amps?

FollowupID: 346046

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:44

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:44
Yeah but I'll get a 10 amp version with the sticker on it.
FollowupID: 346048

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:50

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:50
Nah you wont have to, To work out the amos you take the total kilowatts, in your case of a 150w inverter, thats 1.5. Multiply that by square root of three as the inverter has to convert DC to three phase AC and then transform it to single phase AC, thats 1.5*1.73=2.595 amps. As the DC works across two wires you have to halve that and thats only 1.3 amps roughly, so you're well under the 2 amps. No worries

FollowupID: 346049

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 22:12

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 22:12
Gee thanks Geoff, it's great having a friend whose an Electrical Engineer. I would have wasted my money on the 10 amp version.
FollowupID: 346054

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 22:17

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 22:17
Any time Ray, its elementary really.

FollowupID: 346056

Follow Up By: ozzymac - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 23:09

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 23:09
There seems to be ripoffs everywhere you look.
Concerning Sat Tv systems, I was looking into getting one and was surprised by the $1,700 to $2000 prices being offered in caravanning mags. Did a search on this wonderful thing called Internet and discovered a specialist Sat centre selling the complete kit Reciever,dish,cables etc $450.
How can these people advertising in the mags justify there rediculous prices.
So far havent purchased one, looks like it will be normal TV reception for me for a while. :-(

Craig
FollowupID: 346066

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:20

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:20
As long as you people keep buying cheap crap, and asking for a discount, like your $20 shower, or cig lighter ext leads, you will keep getting fed cheap crap.

And good service and back up is always worth paying more for.

Sure, shop around, and check out prices, and buy based on value for money, not up front cost, because poor people cant afford cheap things.....
AnswerID: 87190

Reply By: madlee - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:32

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 18:32
You only get what you pay for.
AnswerID: 87193

Follow Up By: David Au - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 12:12

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 12:12
Absolutely not true in many cases. You can get ripped off by Campersat for $1,500.00 and buy a better satellite TV system for $600.00 or even the identical system for about the same price of $600.00.
GekoSat, Kansat, CamperSat all rip-off prices. They pray on suckers and peoples gullibility who think most traders are honest and reasonable.
FollowupID: 345991

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 19:28

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 19:28
I dont know what the problem is. I can't remember the last time anything broke on me, the kids yes they can break anything. You guys must treat your gear very harsh.
AnswerID: 87205

Reply By: Glenn (VIC) - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 21:21

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 21:21
Well I was a fully paid up member here, and had a disagreement with the owners of this site via email. Twice during the year I was restricted from accessing the site for at least three months, as well as losing my pointplace credits and member money. I never had this reimbursed, or any of my membership, so does this make the owners of EO rip off merchants?

AnswerID: 87212

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 08:02

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 08:02
depends wether you were outside the terms of use to be booted.
FollowupID: 345976

Follow Up By: David Au - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 12:14

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 12:14
If you feel you were duded, and do not feel you have been treated fairly, and you asked for a refund and was refused, then take it to Consumer Affairs in your state - simple.
Always try and resolve the dispute yourself first with the business.
FollowupID: 345992

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:39

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:39
thats right what davidau said.
this site is still a buisness and has to abide bye all laws.
why not sent the wonderfull david or michelle an email about your grevences and im sure they will be happy to give you a refund on a pro rata basis.
remember glenn theese people are profesionals.
im sure they not into bootong people out or changing peoples email/nicks for no reason theres more to the story i think.
hahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 346137

Reply By: Michael_FNQ - Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 23:43

Friday, Dec 03, 2004 at 23:43
If it is cheap then it is usually crap!!

I need a 4" angle grinder for work, so I tried a Super Cheap one, only $20.00. Luckily we kept the receipt as I think we kept replacing it under warranty on what seemed a weekly basis. To their credit Super Cheap happly replaced it each time but we go sick of always going back.

Purchased the most expensive 4" angle grinder I have ever seen, made in Germany, and cost just over $400.00. It has never missed a beat in over three years of rough use!

AnswerID: 87233

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 11:36

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 11:36
Back to planet earth for you Michael - you have been away too long.

Super Cheap $20 angle grinders (actually I paid $13 for mine) are made for people like me who use them 3 or 4 times a year and I imagine my Super Cheap angle grinder will still be working and doing what I require of it in 10 years.

They are _not_ intended for professionals who use them on a daily basis and give them constant "rough use". For me to spend $400 on an angle grinder would be a _HUGE_ waste of money.

I have 4 pairs of small pliers/cutters I use for electronic work - I paid about $370 for them - worth it for me - for you..? probably a waste of money.

Horses for courses Michael.

PS. My GMC $98 gen is still running very well.
FollowupID: 345989

Follow Up By: Tuff60 - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 03:12

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 03:12
A mate of mine runs an engineering/welding business, gives grinders hell, he swears buy the GMC product. His reason no matter what brand of power tool you buy eventually it will die, buy 2 GMC grinders(still less than 1/2 dewalt prices) have the eext one waiting on the shelf. And has he says you're never that far from your next bunnings trip anyway.
P.S. he gets about 3 months out of a grinder, usaully the gearbox dies.
FollowupID: 346078

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 07:21

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 07:21
Your friend is correct....

Angle Grinders ARE a consumable, same as power drills, well, in my business they are.

Yes, the sums do add up, especially if you have a large staff, who aren't careful with tools.

Over the tears, I have purchased about every grinder available, and they all seem to go about the same distance. The expensive ones that is...

I have 4 hanging by my bench, each with a different grade disk, and we run multiple power drills, each with a specific drill size, to avoid down time changing stuff.

Works well.

I pay around $300-400 for a grinder, which will go 18 months, then pay $90 to have it repaired, which will get me another 18 months..... $450 @ 3 years. GMC would probably last me around 4 months tops..... so I would still be paying the same, but end up having lotsa spanners & spare handles & stuff!!!

Out of ALL the tools we use, we have an American Made ( for export to Australia ) Huge Aluminium cased power drill, one of those really heavy mothers.....

Made in 1966, and only ever had one set of brushes......

When I was 17 in 1975, I bought a small diecast Makita power drill, 6.3 mm. chuck, single speed, but INLINE HANDLE!!

I took it to a large tool retailer to buy another chuck key for it, and they said to me..."Ian, you can choose ANYTHING on the top two shelves up to the value of $500.00, and give us the drill..."

I got my chuck key!!

Anyway, quality has gone out the door, I have ALL brands of tools, I mean ALL.... and there's not much in it anymore.

The only recent aquisition that is worth a shlt is my Fein Core Driller, nice bit of German work.

Wolfie

FollowupID: 346083

Follow Up By: mr diamond - Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:45

Sunday, Dec 05, 2004 at 18:45
when i was doing engineering work.
dewalt came to our work place checked out what sort of work we do said heres 2 x4inch grinders kill them.
we were using makita/bosch ect they were pretty good.
sure we did kill the dewalt but took 1 hell of a long time to do it.
i need an angle grinder here a fair bit 2 dozen times a year i went and bought the dewalt 7 yrs later stillgoing strong.
ps i also bought a $20 shower kit 3 yrs ago that is still going.
FollowupID: 346138

Reply By: ev700 - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 01:42

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 01:42
People prefer to buy cheap crap.

Most of us have houses and garages filled with consumer crap. Consumption seems to be a national pastime. We buy volumes of cheap crap.

An alternative is to only buy the few items that you REALLY need and then buy quality. Leave the credit card/s at home.

This advice does not always work in my household though :-(
AnswerID: 87235

Follow Up By: Utemad - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:29

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:29
It is not only the cheap crap that people put in their houses. What about the houses themselves?

Have you looked at the build quality of some display homes? These are the homes that are supposed to entice you into buying from the builder so you would expect them to be the best quality that the builder can achieve. So when you see the shoddy workmanship in some of these places it really makes you wonder.
FollowupID: 346044

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 10:37

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 10:37
There is some really good cheap stuff out there.

Supercheap do a rechargeable spotlight for $15 that has been on special for $6. That's the cost of a battery for a Dolphin torch. Much brighter than a torch too.

First one stopped holding a charge after 3 months, took it bask to S/C, swapped it no questions asked. This one is 9 months old and still goinng strong.

Fair dinkhum, if you bought one a year it's cheaper than batteries and better light.

Much of this cheap "crap" is built to a price and is disposable, no secret there.

If you need an angle grinder in the garage for very occasional use, get a $15 job from Bunnings, if you're going to thrash the clacker out of it, spend $150 on a Bosch or similar.

Buy according to the need you have for the product.

AnswerID: 87253

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 11:16

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 11:16
The proliferation of the dirt cheap store is because people are happy to by cheap unreliable crap ahead of quality gear that won't break. Stores handling quality gear are hard to find. My favourite shop in Canberra is a tool shop in Fyshwick that sells all the top brands of power tool. There are about 8 brands of angle grinder for $600 when Bunnings sells them for $29? Guess where the tradesmen shop? When I was doing some work in a country town it was a pleasure to walk into an old hardware store and find all sorts of quality tools and equipment, and at pretty good prices. I guess the blokes who depend on their gear being reliable aren't interested in cheap tools made from soft die cast metal (ever used a cheap screwdriver and twisted the head off on your first screw?).
While the cheap Taiwanese, Korean and Chinese imports are in many ways inferior, the quality in some areas is rapidly improving. Japanese in the 1960s had a reputation for cheap and crappy but now equal to the best. Some of the Rolex/Breitling etc copies are indistinguishable from the originals. The Hyundai has a long way to go to catch BMW quality but I am sure it will in a few years.
I am amazed at the quality of Chinese leatherman copies in Big W. Less than $20 when the original is well over a hundred.
The reality is that I don't expect my $98 generator to last like a Honda.
AnswerID: 87254

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 13:56

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 13:56
Spot on Bob, it is all about expectations.

I don't feel we are being ripped off, we are being given choices. We can choose a twnety dollar cheapy if it suits the purpose or spend $300 on a De Walt if the need be.

FollowupID: 346005

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 15:28

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 15:28
Is not this a situation of one's own making?

There seems to be a general belief that well made products cost more than they should - and that it's possible to obtain Volvo quality at Lada prices if only one knows what to buy.

Time and again I will suggest a workable solution using fairly-priced quality components - and time and again people will jump in and say - "you can get something that will do the same job from Bunnings (or whoever) for a third that price.

Almost invariably you can't.

I invariably advise people not to buy a modified square-wave inverter unless they know exactly what they are doing not least because there are a few very good ones (Xantrex) and and some very bad ones. A CMCA member recently followed website advise to the contrary. He saved over $500 on the inverter - that instantly destroyed his brand new $1200 laser printer.

The $200 or so 'smart chargers' are another example.

These are mostly conventional constant voltage chargers (that take forever to charge) with a switch that drops the charge down to float voltage at about 70% full charge. Their claimed 20 amps or so is achievable only into a flat battery battery and then only until it is about 40% charged. A 7.5 amp three-stage charger is likely to charge that same battery deeper and faster.

Re the cheap grinders. If you have ever seen a grinding wheel fly apart then you would not trust a cheapie not to.

Many good quality things last a lifetime. Is it really worth skimping on tools etc?
Collyn Rivers

AnswerID: 87271

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 20:10

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 20:10
>Re the cheap grinders. If you have ever seen a grinding
>wheel fly apart then you would not trust a cheapie not to.

My Super Cheap grinder came without a grinding wheel. I subsequently purchased what, I assume, to be the same type of grinding wheel people who own Bosch grinders would purchase?

I think operations like Super Cheap are quite familiar with personal injury liability situations which may well be why they don't sell low quality grinding wheels - I assume - unless someone knows that they do?

FollowupID: 346028

Follow Up By: David Au - Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:28

Saturday, Dec 04, 2004 at 21:28
Collyn then again, if an inverter was rated to do a job and it destroyed a laser printer and could be proven so, the liability and repair would rest with the inverter supplier. Personally I would not buy a Xantrax because they are so over priced compared to other reputable brands in the market place. I know Xantrax is a great quality inverter, but the prices are totally over the top because they pass through to many hands/levels prior to getting to the customer. I would like to be shown a poor quality sine wave inverter that does not meet the specifications supplied with the inverter. To often products with a cheaper price are rubbished without any valid reason. There are some great buys out there in cheaper sine wave inverters - caveat emptor - let the buyer beware - do you homework first.

Mike you can rest assured, no supplier in Australia would be stupid or dumb enough to sell grinding wheels that did not meet the Australian and international standards.
FollowupID: 346043