Site Search
Print Page Setup Profile Login
Section Image

Elastic straps.....whatdaya call 'em????

Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 15:59

Member - Roachie (SA)

You know,......... those common elastic straps with a hook on each end.

I used to ride touring bikes many years ago and we strapped luggage and sleeping bag onto the bike's rack with an "OCCY" strap (short for "octapus" I reckon).

I know other blokes who refer to them as "JOCKY" straps and now, in the post about water storage in a GU with 2 fridges in the back, there is a bloke who refers to them as "HOCKY" straps.

What's right and has anybody got any other names for them (aside from the obvious one that you call it about 3 seconds after it's slipped out of your hands under full tension and has just ripped your left eye out!!!!)

Click Image to Enlarge
There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience!
ThreadID: 32452 Replies: 21
Views: 1233 FollowUps: 15
Thread Summary
Thread Watch Back To Forum Alert Moderator FAQ
AnswerID: 164399   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 16:08

Tim HJ61 (WA) replied:

Ocky straps - short for Octopus, is what I'd call them if I ever used them. Pretty wary myself.

Young shopping trolley collector in Karratha I think either died or lost an eye a few years back exactly the way you describe. Now you notice the trolley collectors use webbing straps not Ocky Straps.

But language evolves Roachie, maybe it's just another thing for us to get confused and bewildered about..... :-)

Tim

Click Image to Enlarge
12H-T on 100% WVO
Reply 1 of 21
FollowupID: 419290   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 18:26

Member - Mike DID posted:

. . . like the spelling of "voila" you see in many posts :-)

Mike R
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 164401   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 16:15

Member - David 0 replied:

The red one is called Reddy
The green one Kermit
The yellow one Sunshine

:-)
A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and gets to bed at night, and in between he does what he wants to do.
Reply 2 of 21
FollowupID: 419268   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 16:21

Member - David 0 posted:

it can get confusing though, because the green Range Rover is called the Green Goddess, and the red rag that is the universal, "dust everything off", and "lay on the ground to look under the vehicle" rag is called "red rag to a bull"

Red rage to a bull has travelled more of Australia than most Australians, so he is very precious :-)

Hey I didn't say I was sane :-)
A man is a success if he gets up in the morning and gets to bed at night, and in between he does what he wants to do.
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 164402   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 16:19

Eric from Cape York Connections replied:

In australia we call them occy straps in NZ they call the bungy straps.

Cape York ConnectionsCape York Connections
Member: Lapsed Membership
Reply 3 of 21
FollowupID: 419286   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 18:04

Member-Neil & Margie-Cairns posted:

Damn Eric , you beet me , yep bungy cord , (strap) ,, thats the one !!

Neil ..
Lifetime Member: My Profile  Send Message
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 164404   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 16:23

Member - David 0 replied:

I think technically the occy strap is the one that has several stretchy bits attched to a centre ring.
So I guess bungy strap is universal. Several bungies make an occy

Reply 4 of 21
Activities Index
Dinner Cruise Dinner Cruise
Cairns and Tropical North QLD - QLD
Discover the delights of evening cruising with Ocean Spirit Cruises.
Sydney Weekend Escape Cruise Sydney Weekend Escape Cruise
Sydney - NSW
Experience Sydney from an extraordinary perspective about your own cruise ship.
Rally Driving in a Suburu WRX - Full Day (WA) Rally Driving in a Suburu WRX - Full Day (WA)
Perth - WA
It takes around 10 years to reach the top in rallying and this is the first step!
Abseiling In The Adelaide Hills Abseiling In The Adelaide Hills
Adelaide - SA
This abseiling adventure is designed especially for those who are seeking a real thill.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 164405   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 16:23

Member - Ian H (NSW) replied:

Another name is "eye removers".

Click Image to Enlarge
When you talk you only hear something you already know.
Reply 5 of 21
FollowupID: 419310   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 20:04

Member No 1 posted:

ditto
also a bloke in WA didnt know what hit him...he is now with the almighty

those things are dangerous and should be banned.
wouldnt let any of my mechanics use them in or on their vans....

Click Image to Enlarge
Make love, not war....Hell, do both...GET MARRIED!
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 419340   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 21:48

Richard Kovac posted:

They are band in WA work places

youngen was killed by one getting shopping trolleys

Camped under Mt Leisler
Click Image to Enlarge
Still Getting There
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 164407   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 16:31

Lone Wolf replied:

Now, there are some shops, which have neon on the front windows, with the letters...XXX. I don't know if these are proper camping supply shops, but I have seen a few campers in them. These straps come in all shapes and sizes, but I've never heard the words that have been suggested in the above threads, oh no...

They even have other clippy things on the ends instead of the hooks as well. I think from memory, you can buy snatch straps from here, as well as those things you blow up.... I think they are for lifting out of sand or something.

Wolfie

Reply 6 of 21
FollowupID: 419270   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 16:36

Patrolman Pat posted:

I'll be sure to check these shops out sometime Wolfie.

Which one do you recommend?
FollowUp 1 of 2
FollowupID: 419298   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 19:23

Joe King posted:

Yeah, I think I know the ones, lots & lots of instuction manuals & video's, plugs for various uses & usually a very well educated, extremely well informed upstanding pillar of the community behind the counter, is that the place????
("Snatch strap" LMFAO!!!!)
FollowUp 2 of 2
AnswerID: 164411   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 17:00

Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) replied:

You dont mean "suspenders"??? They look much better with a pair of red fish nets atached to them. :)
Lunch on the Bore Track  S.A.  July 2008
Click Image to Enlarge
Never do today what you can put off until tomorrow!!
Fortunately, tomorrow never comes.!!!
Vehicle: Patrol ST 4.2TDI 2003
Reply 7 of 21
FollowupID: 419287   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 18:08

Member - Roachie (SA) posted:

Michael,
How did you go with Pud?

Click Image to Enlarge
There's only one thing more painful than learning from experience and that is NOT learning from experience!
FollowUp 1 of 3
FollowupID: 419291   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 18:35

Member - Pud & Barb R (NSW) posted:

They are going to meet in Sydney somewhere
Barb
FollowUp 2 of 3
FollowupID: 419293   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 18:56

Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) posted:

Hi Bill, Martin is going to throw it in his truck, when he is waiting somewhere close to Bankstown, he will give me a ring. That should work out ok.. Thanks again bill.. Michael
Lunch on the Bore Track  S.A.  July 2008
Click Image to Enlarge
Never do today what you can put off until tomorrow!!
Fortunately, tomorrow never comes.!!!
Vehicle: Patrol ST 4.2TDI 2003
FollowUp 3 of 3
AnswerID: 164413   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 17:06

Member - Brian (Gold Coast) replied:

What do you call 'em???

Dangerous!
My Chrissy Prezzy
Click Image to Enlarge
http://www.goldcoast4wdclub.org.au/
Reply 8 of 21
AnswerID: 164421   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 17:39

Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. replied:

I used to call them " bloody dangerous " until I started buying longer ones and putting a knot into each one so they could not slip through and unleash their full fury on my face .
Willie .

Click Image to Enlarge
Grey Gnomad

To be blunt, I'm not the sharpest knife in the drawer.
Reply 9 of 21
FollowupID: 419311   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 20:05

Member No 1 posted:

willie it aint the rubber band thats going to hurt...its the efin hook at the other end you wont see

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 164427   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 18:34

Kiwi Kia replied:

Also often known as "stretchies"
Reply 10 of 21
AnswerID: 164434   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 19:03

roofscooter2 replied:

These are the stretchy SHOELACE noes are they?
Reply 11 of 21
AnswerID: 164443   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 19:42

Mr Fawlty replied:

The technical nomenclature for these things is (drum roll)... "elastic tie downs" I actually found a better way of getting them. Buy the bulk shock cord, as it is called, from Bunnings and get some decent hooks also from Bunnings and secure the hooks to the ends of your chosen length shock cord with a half blood knot or crimp with the crimp on clips that you can also buy. So strong that I can tie Sybil to the roof with them.
Reply 12 of 21
Activities Index
Abseiling In The Adelaide Hills Abseiling In The Adelaide Hills
Adelaide - SA
This abseiling adventure is designed especially for those who are seeking a real thill.
Sea Kayak Day tour - Victoria (Phillip Island) Sea Kayak Day tour - Victoria (Phillip Island
Phillip Island and Gippsland - VIC
In a kayak, face the great ocean from sea level.
NASCAR Ride Of Your Life - VIC NASCAR Ride Of Your Life - VIC
Melbourne - VIC
Experience a ride of a lifetime in an American NASCAR.
Ayers Rock Harley Sunrise Ayers Rock Harley Sunrise
Alice Springs and Central Australia - NT
Be a passenger on a legendary Harley Davidson to see an unforgettable sunrise over Uluru.
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 164451   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 20:02

Willem replied:

$HIT (when they hit you in the face)
Karoo Jackal
Click Image to Enlarge
Willem

There is more than one way to bag a bunny

Reply 13 of 21
FollowupID: 419312   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 20:07

Member No 1 posted:

ouch if your lucky...
you only need to get hit once eh willem

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 164456   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 20:12

Axle replied:

Those elastic straps with a hook on each end? My ol man held his duds up with them , BRACES!!
Reply 14 of 21
AnswerID: 164467   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 20:46

Member - Doug T (QLD) replied:

Dunno my wife [when i was married to her ] had some elastic straps with hooks and she called it a BRA

Click Image to Enlarge
Doug & Dusty
In the Shade
Mt Bundy Stn
Reply 15 of 21
AnswerID: 164471   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 21:00

GaryInOz (Vic) replied:

Used to come with a steel ring that attatched 4 straps together ie. 8 ends. This is the origin of the "octopus" strap. Originally made to hold down tarps and things on trailers.
Reply 16 of 21
AnswerID: 164481   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 21:29

Trevor R (QLD) replied:

Bloody strong.
These were holding a surfboard down on the el cheapo roofracks on my datsun 240K many years ago when I hit a "Road Closed... Flooding Ahead" sign, (no brakes at time) and the sign flew up over the windscreen....lodged under the surfboard and promptly ripped the roofracks off and the whole setup went bouncing down the road behind me. When I eventually stopped and got back to where the roofracks and board were, they were stilled attached by these "bloody strong " straps.

Cheers Trevor.
Welford NP local
Click Image to Enlarge
Thats...... KING Cane Toad to you!!!
Reply 17 of 21
FollowupID: 419343   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 21:58

Member - Pezza (QLD) posted:

You speeding in a 240K with a skeg board on the roof and no brakes, why is it that doesn't surprise me? LOL.

Click Image to Enlarge
" NO FEAR " means you're not going fast enough!
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 164488   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 21:53

drew replied:

Use something else if possible - see attached...

Site Link
Reply 18 of 21
AnswerID: 164493   Submitted: Sunday, Apr 02, 2006 at 22:13

Jimbo replied:

In Victoria,

we call shock absorbers shockers, not shockies (shockies sounds a bit soft).

We call rubber straps Ocker Straps, Not Occy Straps (sounds a bit Homo).

Occy, pussy, shockie, wankie, softy. Not for us LOL.

That's just the way we are here.
Reply 19 of 21
FollowupID: 419362   Submitted: Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 07:42

Member No 1 posted:

typical...you lot have to be different dont you....
bloody vics hehehe

Click Image to Enlarge
FollowUp 1 of 1
AnswerID: 164536   Submitted: Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 11:16

Sand Man (SA) replied:

Guys,

Get with it!

Those old "Occy" straps are history.

If you want something that is much safer and more practical, you need ROK Straps.
These straps, available from most camping and the larger hardware stores are "flat" with hooks that don't come off. The stretch is limited and based on the length of the strap.

They are available in two different widths and a few different lengths.

There is also an adjustable type, of which I use two to secure the Engel to the fridge slide, while at the same time allowing a "bit of play".

Bloody good they are and safe as well.

Click Image to Enlarge
HooRoo !

Reply 20 of 21
FollowupID: 419401   Submitted: Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 11:44

Gramps (NSW) posted:

Sand Man,

Agree. I've been using the ROK straps for several years now without a problem. Binned all the old Occy straps. Available at Big W etc as well.

Al

Have you noticed that your memories, prior to colour TV, are in black and white
FollowUp 1 of 1
Activities Index
Full Day Trike Tour and Historic Train Ride for 2 Full Day Trike Tour and Historic Train Ride f
Sunshine Coast - QLD
This trip has it all - a fun ride on a custom built trike as well as a rollicking journey on a wonde
Paddle and Abseil Day Trip Paddle and Abseil Day Trip
Melbourne - VIC
Here is an action packed adventure that you can fit into your weekend!
Surfing Lessons x 2 - NSW Surfing Lessons x 2 - NSW
Sydney - NSW
Learn to surf with Sydney''s largest and most talked about surf school led by surfing legend Matt G
Penguins & Places Penguins & Places
Launceston North-East - TAS
Not to be missed is the spectical of little penguins returning from the sea to their rookery during
Book Now - Things To Do
AnswerID: 164585   Submitted: Monday, Apr 03, 2006 at 17:14

Bonz (Vic) replied:

I got a bundle of them here Roachie, come past and you can call them.....YOURS!

Click Image to Enlarge
Ever wonder what the speed of lightning would be if it didn't zigzag?
Lifetime Member: My Profile  My Blog  Send Message
Reply 21 of 21