Have I prepared enough?

Submitted: Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 21:10
ThreadID: 44942 Views:5496 Replies:12 FollowUps:10
If someone with more experience than I could review this description of preparations for our trip, and suggest any further requirements, that would be most helpful. I've had a good read of this forum, but it is always nice to get some specific advice related to your own trip and own set-up.

First - the trip. Starting July 2007. 3 months duration.
Adelaide-Uluru-Palm Valley-Tanami-Bungle Bungles-Parry Creek-King River Rd-Gibb River Road-Mornington Wilderness Camp-Bell Creek-Cape Leveque and then down the coast (nothing too remote planned after that).

Vehicle: 1992 Diesel Troopcarrier Pop-top camper (300,000 km), all leaf springs, dual batteries (both will be replaced before we go), 4 brand new Goodyear MTRs (tubeless), 1 spare - also new, 2 fuel tanks (2*80ltr?), 1 water tank (70l?).

Communications: CB Radio, mobile phone (don't laugh).

Recovery Gear: Winch, Snatch strap, Tow strap, D shackles, one of those pulley things, Tyre Plug Repair Kit, High lift jack (beadbreaker), tyre levers, jack, base plate, compressor, long handled shovel, basic tool kit.

Spares: Fuel filter, radiator hoses, belts, fuses, spare tube, wheel bearing kit, universal joint, heater hose, tech manual.

Skills: Where I feel most exposed. Intro to 4wd'ing course. Some practice in mountainous country in Vic. Very basic knowledge of engine (could tell you where most things are, but no idea how they work). All the spares are to avoid delays - no idea how to actually do the repairs.

Can change tyre. Have spent the weekend teaching myself how to get a tyre off the rim - and decided that if it comes to this, I'll use a tube to get going again and hope for the best. Couldn't reseat bead without it - any tips on this welcome - I kinda like the sound of the zippo method, but seems like the sort of thing demonstrated in person before you give it a go yourself.

Considerations:

HF Radio: Worth the money? Really needed given our route?

Second tyre casing: No capacity for second spare. Second casing a possibility, but I don't want to carry it unless I can be convinced that completely destroying 2 tyres is likely to leave us in the poop given our route.

Other spares to carry? Second tube?

Other essential skills to aquire in the next 6 weeks.

All advice appreciated.

Tim

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 21:21

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 21:21
Learn to light a camp fire and cook on a BBQ. Take it easy, unwind and have a good time. You're travelling on an island, someone will be around the corner!
AnswerID: 236986

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 21:52

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 21:52
You are as prepared as you can be.

With the tyre repair kit and spare casing and tube and the air compressor and plug repair kit, you are not even going to have a puncture. (Murphy's Law)

A HF radio is not essential but an epirb would give you piece of mind.
The KTI brand available from the ExplorOz shop are good compact units.
Don't worry that they are not the 406Mhz units which will eventually replace this type in a couple of years time. The signal will be picked up if you really need to use it. In the unlikely situation that you are stranded, remain with the vehicle.

You will find other travellers on most of the roads and tracks you will be travelling on.

The tracks you will be driving on do not require "special skills", just common sense. If you get to a soft section of track, just be prepared to place the vehicle in 4WD and if it's really loose, let the tyres down to 18 psi. (or less)
If unsure of the track conditions, pull over and walk it a bit.

Above all else, just wind down a little. You gotta be relaxed before you head off.

Enjoy your trip Tim!

AnswerID: 236995

Reply By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 21:58

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 21:58
Hi Tim,

Pat and I travel all of the remotest tarcks in Australia alone. we have completed a solo madigan, Canning Stock Route and 2 days ago completed 2650 kms of Simpson Desert.

The best prepared vehicle can have problems for which you don't have a spare part. We have had a mechanical failure of some kind on almost all our trips but I won't travel without good communications.

Satphone is fantastic to contact anybody direct but satphone recoveries are expensive because you contact professionals.

HF is fantastic social club that allows you the felling of wellbeing that others knoe where you are and are contactable in an emergency. An HF recovery usually costs you the price of the spare part if you are prepared for thr next traveller passing your way to bring it out to you.

When it turns to bleep e you need to be able to contact somebody and an optomistic 20km radius of UHF isn't enough for a remote area.

other than that enjoy it all. We will be in the Pilbara and the Kimberley after August.

Ian @ Mt Dare
AnswerID: 236999

Follow Up By: Love The Outback - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 21:53

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 21:53
Hey Tim,
don't worry too much, you are going to be an OK !
"The friends are everywhere" only sometime and SOME the Toyota people think they like Americans...........invincible and wouldn't help you if you don't have same.... the Toyota........silly isn't it?
But rest of them and others are good and friendly people.
Dana
FollowupID: 498585

Reply By: hiab - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:12

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:12
as said before, relax, dont get yourself in a spin, its all about enjoying it. you have a strong reliable car, great diesel engine, should learn how to change fuel filter though in case you have to change it.and get familiar with how the fuel system works, know how to bleed system, only thing to stop a 1hz is fuel problems, sucking air etc...

can you change a universal on the side of the road?, if not read manual, do you know a mechanic? if so, ask him to show you how it is done, it is not hard. if you have the right tools. take a test light and try to understand the basics of the electrics of your car. take a second spare, find a place for it, you will need it at some stage. nice to think others will help you, and they will, but dont bet your lives on it.

above all, take it easy, dont rush, know your car, and enjoy the great country you will be seeing.
AnswerID: 237004

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:30

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:30
Hi Tim,
With or without all the best comunications and if you are in doubt of some of the places you are going, always let someone know your intended route and keep in contact with them.
AnswerID: 237007

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:32

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:32
Oh by the way, have a great time there is some magic country out there.
FollowupID: 498040

Reply By: Smudger - Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:55

Monday, Apr 30, 2007 at 22:55
Tim,
If everyone was as consci' as you, there'd be no-one left to save. Main thing is you're mentally prepared for problem solving ..too many have no clue how to change a wheel, let alone a tyre. You should also pack some high tech stuff, like sat-phone, a wire coat hanger and a bottle of bars leaks. (Don't laugh, last trip the wire coat hanger was used a couple of times!)
We'll be doing virtually the same route about 4 weeks before you and I feel better knowing that you're coming up behind me with such a well packed tool kit.
Have fun, don't forget the camera.
AnswerID: 237018

Follow Up By: greydemon - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 12:09

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 12:09
When we did the Gunbarrel a few years back, as soon as we had left the farm we were staying on I realised I hadn't packed any fencing wire ( wire coat hanger on a roll) That of course was the only 'spare' i needed on the whole trip when the exhaust came loose. Luckily I was able to strip some hydraulic tubing off a dead vehicle along the track. It stayed 'fixed' like that for another 18 months!

ALWAYS take a wire coat hanger. (Good for getting hot camp oven lid off and dozens of other uses)
FollowupID: 498111

Follow Up By: Smudger - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 12:45

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 12:45
We keep ours in the tent, it also comes in handy for hanging clothes too!!
FollowupID: 498121

Follow Up By: Tim Owen - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:14

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:14
Thanks for the tip on the coat hanger, what is bars leaks and hat is it used for?
Tim
FollowupID: 498248

Follow Up By: Smudger - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:52

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:52
There are several verions of radiator stop leak on the market, it's possibly the best known brand. Lots of people carry epoxy putty for a temporary fix for radiator leaks. Bars Leaks and similar are generally a suspension of fine particles that seek out and clog into the point of least resistance (the hole) in the coling system. It can even get you out of strife with a blown head gasket. Seriously, a good inclusion in the tool kit. Got a bottle myself, had it for a few years . Reckon it's about $10
FollowupID: 498261

Reply By: Member - John L (WA) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 08:28

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 08:28
Join VKS & display an exploroz sticker - that way you'll meet the best travellers & they will give you great tips on things to see & do. If the going gets tough, stop, have a cuppa, have a laugh & she'll be right mate!
AnswerID: 237049

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 08:54

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 08:54
G'day,

are you carrying a well stocked first aid kit with you? if you don't have time to get on a training course, make sure you have an up to date book with it (St Johns recommended.)

make sure your recovery gear is in good condition and rated.

if you can, take a second container for water eg. 20L jerry. may make it easier to top up the 70L container at times (eg. from creek) and you separate potable/non potable, a leak in one leaves you with water still in the other etc.
AnswerID: 237056

Follow Up By: Tim Owen - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:20

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:20
Yep, have First Aid Kit, and obligatory book that came with it.

I've been thinking about the water arrangements. From what I gather there will be a fair bit of 'environmental' water around up there, but I don't want to put non-potable into the fixed 70l tank. But of course, only a realtively small amount of the water used is food drinking/food prep, so might be best to use a Jerry for potable, and contaminate the tank. Can always dose with chlorine later.
FollowupID: 498250

Reply By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 12:58

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 12:58
You've really put a bit of thought in the trip.
Just ensure all the 'spares' actually fit. Case in point- I was out in the bush with some mates. Blew a Rad. hose- no probs- he had a spare hose. But it was wrongly supplied by the Parts people, and wouldn't fit.
Make sure you can use all the equipment- jack, tyre changing gear, winch etc etc.
And have a great time !!!!
AnswerID: 237101

Follow Up By: Tim Owen - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:32

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:32
Thanks Signman. I've been out in the driveway testing and getting used to using all the equipment that I know how to use. There are many things I don't know how to do, but will kick back and wait for someone to come along that does if it comes to that! I don't want to be dependant on others, but you only learn through experience and being shown some things - I left home relatively young, and have never had the benefit of being around people that know about mechanical things. I'll be a bit reliant on some goodwill. The very first trip I went on after buying the troopy, we came across a 4wd that had rolled on the road between Licola and Jamieson - we did a 2 hour round trip to help out (including doing a tyre in the process!) - so I figure I've joined the club, and perhaps nextime I'll be the recipient - perhaps I'll be helping out again - either way I'm happy.
FollowupID: 498256

Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 13:48

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 13:48
G'day Tim
Even if you can't do the repairs, at least you'll have the parts and manual and undoubtedly someone will come along and help.
With respect to re-seating the bead - try wrapping a rope around the outside of tyre and use a lever to twist it tight. That will help form a seal and compressor can then pump in air and effect the repair.
HF - not essential in my opinion.
Some people on this site argue that a second spare tyre is essential - I'm not one of them. I take the extra tubes approach. Works OK for me.
Driving - you'll learn heaps as you go. Watch for stock near road - especially sheep and roos which appear to like crossing over unnecessarily. Take care on any grids on dirt roads - they often have "potholes" either side. If doing long stretches on dirt take it easy and consider dropping pressures a bit. Care on corrugated bends. Pull over for road trains on dirt roads because you will most likely be enveloped by a huge dust cloud.
On rocky tracks watch out for idiots who refuse to slow down and shower you in windscreen smashing stones.
Troopys are solid reliable vehicles and I hope you have a fantastic, trouble free trip.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 237112

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:35

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 17:35
Did I miss the spare oil (engine/diffs/g-box) and fusible links in your list?

Fencing wire and race tape?
AnswerID: 237175

Follow Up By: Tim Owen - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:34

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 20:34
Thanks Oldplodder. Please excuse my ignorance, but what are fusible links (and what do they do) and what is race tape (and what is it used for).
FollowupID: 498257

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 10:45

Wednesday, May 02, 2007 at 10:45
Fusible links are a big fuse.
Usually in the 20amp to 100amp range.
In the paj I have a panel of them next to the battery.
There is also one on the charge circuit from the alternator.
You may have the smaller fuses, 10amp, 15 amp etc., but you may not have bought any fusible links.

They look like this

www.larpro.com.au/larpro/category/90

Race tape, duct tape, much of a muchness.
50mm wide PVC grey/silver tape.
Called race tape because the racing people use it as a temporary fix for a panel that might be a bit loose after a biff.
Or you can use gaffers tape - the black cloth tape.

Good for sealing vents and generally taping things together.
Has been used to even fix split radiator hoses before now.
FollowupID: 498384

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:09

Tuesday, May 01, 2007 at 21:09
Hows it going Tim,

When I went around Oz I didnt have the cash at the time to buy everything that I needed , some of my friends lent me stuff like roofracks bead breakers etc.

One of my mates lent me this great tyre repair kit , it had all sorts of patchs , spare valves , stem , valve tool ,sheet rubber and glue to cover blow out size holes , no good having a tube if its hanging out the side of the tyre. maybe a trip to an interested tyre dealer may help you out , this may be an alterative if you want a bit of cheap compact back up .

The only other thing might be an EIPERB . compact ones dont take up much room and can be taken when you leave the vehicle for a bit of insurance.

Happy travels.

Glenn.
AnswerID: 237266