Shocking Nissan Probs!! Have you seen this??

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:37
ThreadID: 63268 Views:7307 Replies:24 FollowUps:56
We were talking about this at our 4x4 club meeting the other night! Unbelievable!!!!

Edit by David to Embed the video (Use Embed video in the edit panel)

Check it out!!!

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:44

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:44
gday guys

i'll help.cheersNAVARA
AnswerID: 333817

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:57

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 20:57
Mark , Theres's nothing like good ol "FANTASTIC PLASTIC"

FollowupID: 601590

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:06

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:06
AXLE

your right........they (nissan) must have scrimped on the bash plate on the d40 caues the str has a good plate under it.
probably why they tried to flog the stx cheap & re-release the str.
FollowupID: 601592

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:13

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:13
I got to about 5 minutes of that 9 minute diatribe and got very bored: very well produced video.

I would have thought it would be better to seek legal advice, rather than producing a slick video.

$25,000, I can't see it.

FollowupID: 601593

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:16

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:16
JIM

maybe legal advise might be out of reach financially , as would be for most of us,cheers.
FollowupID: 601594

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:24

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:24
Jim, With Nissan doing the Calc"S on repairs, $25000, is Believable.

FollowupID: 601596

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:30

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:30
thanx David........haven't got that function sussed yet,cheers.
FollowupID: 601599

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:24

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:24
Watch out Nissan Australia, you're about to get the worst possible TV coverage and going by the many unresolved past warrenty issues discussed on here, well deserved too. (not that they are the only brand avoiding their responsibilities either)
A Current Affair will love this one. Family effected by cancer getting the runaround by non caring big company with known design fault. Imagine the calls to ACA the next day from all the 3 litre engine owners.
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 333827

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:28

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:28
CRACKLES

and rightly so..........i had an issue with them last year & what really gives you the right royals is nissans DONT WANT TO KNOW ABOUT IT attitude. they dont even try to be helpful............no customer service to boot.
FollowupID: 601598

Follow Up By: Mark S (cns) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:35

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:35
Exactly Crackles
ACA would like nothing more than to have another crack at Nissan with the ZD's story, should Nissan give them the brush off, which is likely, given the legal power at their disposal.

FollowupID: 601601

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:51

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:51
But whats the point with ACA - makes news for a day and it is move on - a company lies low and nothing happens. Ultimately the legal route is the only way to go.

Garry
FollowupID: 601607

Reply By: Mark S (cns) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:29

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:29
Will be interesting if it makes onto the "trial by media" show.
Have not seen any story of Nissan's well documented 3.0 zd30 disaster on these shows (correct me if I'm wrong), so what are the chances of this far less documented incident getting air time......? Time will tell I guess.
As far as legal fighting goes - need to have deep pockets to take on corp giant like Nissan, or get toyota to sponsor legal fees!

That being said, if it does make trial by media, will be very interesting to see the fall-out....

AnswerID: 333828

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:30

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:30
Hayley & Demc,

I did a small edit and used the Embed Video option available in the edit panel to show the video directly in the thread. Makes it a lot easier for others to find. Enjoy.

DM
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

AnswerID: 333829

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 08:42

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 08:42
Doesn't help those of us behind a corporate firewall :-((
FollowupID: 601658

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 09:50

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 09:50
Why not? The embed function just publishes the already loaded YouTube or Vimeo video directly in the forum. It has nothing to do with uploading the video.
DM

FollowupID: 601666

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:10

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:10
All I see is a blank box.....
Tried both IE and Firefox..
FollowupID: 601675

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:15

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:15
Ok I understand but you would not be able to follow the link and open it on YouTube either from that connection either is that right?

I have no control over your business firewall policies and if they black list YouTube content there is nothing I can do to get around it. Our embed video function directly links the video into the forum thread - if your network policies do not allow you to open YouTube then you are right it dos not help you when you are at work.

FollowupID: 601677

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:21

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:21
Correct, no youtube for us... (legally...;-)

There's ways if I have the URL though... Helps when you're the admin guy.. ;-)
FollowupID: 601681

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:59

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 21:59
Nissan is a big advertiser on all the commercial channels. That leverage might be enough to keep this sort of story off air.

They should not underestimate the power of the internet though.

Norm C
AnswerID: 333837

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:32

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:32
i'm thinking you have a point there Norm.........dont bite the hand that feeds you eh?
sad if it has come to that. :-(
FollowupID: 601619

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:40

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:40
People have tried to take the Grenade story to ACA before and they wouldnt touch it due to advertising rights.

but TODAY TONIGHT, is on another station.... so maybe different

would be good for all people who have suffered from grenades to email ACA on the same day, like MONDAY, and back this bloke up.
FollowupID: 601627

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:37

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:37
At least the guy is pro active!! i hope others join in with the 3 litre nightmares, they may finally get somewhere!! Michael

AnswerID: 333846

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:38

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:38
Poor service from Nissan??

So whats new??

AnswerID: 333847

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:41

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:41
thats wat i said, wheres the shock value? LMAO
FollowupID: 601628

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:39

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 22:39
RACQ extra care sound like the roadside assist contractor.
AFAIK They WILL NOT cover you unless you are on the Australian mainland. No exceptions, no arguments.
Fraser is NOT on the mainland. Gazetted roads or not, Fraser is not the mainland. A gazetted track in Ruddel National Park, yes. Fraser, nope.

But what a mess ! Nissan don't appear to give a rat's.
Poor design, poor quality and poor service.

I agree that in this case the media need to become involved.
I've heard so many good stories about some of their products, but never a great story about their customer care.
Warranty seems to be the 10/10 rule, 10 mts or 10m after you buy it.
I'm sorry Nissan but there's no way I'd fork out $50K for one of these situations. You need a good boot.
AnswerID: 333849

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:43

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:43
I have to disagree. regardless of who the contractor is the information about the roadside assist is here

roadside assist

i searched for fine print and could find none

this statement comes with no asterisks or disclaimers and therfore surely is literal

"You could run into trouble anywhere in Australia. Just around the corner, or a long way from home and help.

As the owner of a Nissan, you don't have to worry, Nissan 24-Hour Roadside Assistance is there to help you.

."

FollowupID: 601630

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 00:28

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 00:28
I was merely pointing out why he wasn't assisted off the Island.

Nissan, as I've mentioned, are responsible for assisting, through their contractors.
It's up to Nissan, not the owner, to make sure that the contractor will assist anywhere in Australia. The fact that the contractor has restrictions, has nothing to do with it.
(But how many RACQ 4wd policy holders check on the exclusions ?)
The owner could not be expected to know about such restrictrions, and I doubt if Nissan were aware or cared much anyway.
It's a cosy deal between Nissan and RACQ. But there's nothing sweet about it in this situation.
FollowupID: 601637

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:48

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:48
I doubt that information about excluding non-mainland locations, as my RACQ policy does not mention any exclusion of that sorts.

If that was the case, then North Stradbroke Island, Phillip Island, Kangaroo Island etc, all mainly bitumen, become uninsured locations.

FollowupID: 601703

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:20

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:20
Andrew, I rang RACQ Extra Care and they specifically stated that it applied on the mainland, no islands. Check it out.
Please ring them and report back !
FollowupID: 601712

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:09

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:09
I just rang them about my policies and the finer details.

There is NO "authorised" RACQ breakdown provider who services Fraser Island however you can arrange to get the vehicle off the Island and then apply for reasonable reimbursement costs.

The confusion seems to be with the difference between Insurance coverage and Breakdown Service. You are indeed covered whilst on Fraser Island (insurance wise) like the rest of Australia (standard exclusions for stupidity prevail :-))

She mentioned that Fraser Island works like any other remote location....normally gain approval to get the nearest service provider to arrange for your vehicle to be transported to appropriate location.....a couple phone calls, and a persistant attitude, will be needed obviously. :-)

FollowupID: 601724

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:22

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:22
Andrew I also just checked with them. They will NOT cover any water crossing. So if there's no agent you are on your own. Which is case in point.
YOU are responsible for getting your broken vahicle to their agent if there's a water crossing involved, which is not mentioned in your policy.
Even the extra care consultant didnt know !
It pays to check your policy for exclusions before you set off, whether its roadside assist or whatever.
FollowupID: 601726

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:49

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:49
Thanks footloose,

I think that placing "Fraser Island" into the conversation is also confusing...RACQ Ultra Care covers the following:

======================================
Towing
---------
(as part of RACQ roadside assistance after breakdown)

Vehicle breakdown 50km in any direction or up to 120km to the attending RACQ Contractor’s premises

Special towing
-------------------
(as part of RACQ roadside assistance after breakdown)

Vehicle or caravan/trailer breakdown RACQ arranges & pays (up to $165 p.a.)

=======================================

$165 won't get you far :-)

FollowupID: 601730

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:11

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:11
hmmm
yes not good but as far as i understand most of the damage was done ruining the motor while driving it with a holed radiator.

pretty understanable doing the bush mechanic thing to get it off the island seeing as the RA wasnt going to happen.

question is what would you do in this siuation?
try and get it off the island the cheap way?
all he needed was a tow to the barge then drive it on the barge and off into the carpark to be covered.

hard to say if he thought at the time he was doing no damage.

that bash plate also did look like something had hit it.

sad story but makes me glad i buy second hand. Saves all the hassell trying to get money out of people if things turn to crap i know the only pocket that will work is my own
AnswerID: 333854

Follow Up By: SPRINT-GTO - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:54

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:54
Davoe
Gotta agree I personally would not have driven vehicle with a holed radiator ANYWHERE!!! I think I would also gone for the tow to the barge---may have been a little expensive for the tow but Iat least would have peace of mind regarding damaging my engine. However unless you were in this situation its hard to be wise after the event!!! Gee I am glad I drive a Toyota.
FollowupID: 601634

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 14:19

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 14:19
My RACQ Policy (which "probably" has the same information for this guy) states when you are NOT covered:

X failure by you to do everything you reasonably can do to
limit and prevent further loss or damage. For example:
if you continue to drive or tow your vehicle after it is
damaged or your vehicle shows signs of mechanical
problems or becomes unsafe or unroadworthy;

=======================================

An unfortunate situation which has come back to bight him. I probably would take the deal and accept "part" blame.

FollowupID: 601705

Follow Up By: Member - Daniel M (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:49

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 20:49
Gotta agree with Davoe. The bash plate looked like it had bottomed out hard, be it on sand or boulder. Also no way i would drive it any further than i had to. There were witnesses present, wouldn't someone be able to tow as far as the barge? You have to agree that it is a poor effort by Nissan design team.
FollowupID: 602163

Follow Up By: Member - Daniel M (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:01

Sunday, Nov 09, 2008 at 21:01
Hi again

Just ducked out to check the setup in the pathfinder i bought a month ago. It has the same brackets on the radiator and a plastic bash plate under. I imagine if i hit anything hard enough it could push the radiator up forcing the cowling into the fan. Memo to me... install new bash plate :)
FollowupID: 602164

Reply By: Exploder - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:52

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 23:52
Take the insurance companies money and what Nissan has offered, buy the engine and radiator out of a written off Navara and have that dropped in by a privet mechanic.

Not ideal but hay, me I just wouldn’t have told the insurance company I drove it with a busted Radiator, not 100% honest but as this vid shows all to clearly Honesty will get you nowhere!
AnswerID: 333862

Reply By: Flywest - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 02:44

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 02:44
Maybe a tow is out of the question if his vehicle is automatic?

Many automatic vehicles state in the handbook not to tow them.

I believe this is because most of the newer auto gear boxes don't have a oil pump driven from the output shaft - so towing means the rear bearings etc get chewed out due to no lube when being towed.

Anyway i know my auto says to put it on a tilt tray ruck to get it back ot the dealer for repair / service and NOT to tow it.

Fraser island IS part if Australia just as Tasmania is ergo Nissans problem to get the vehicle back off fraser Island, not the owners.

That said Nissan are stupid in their advertising or wordin coz places like Cocos Island and Christmas island are likewise parts of Australia by definition so they could be up for plenty worse than a Fraser Island recovery!

All auto companys at the moment suck!

Most are on the brink of fiscal collapse - denying claims is corporate policy to try and stave off bankruptcy, many of the US auto manufacturers would already be broke - if it wrerent for the govt bailouts, Ford USA lost something like $89 Billion in the last QUARTER results - GM & Dodge were worse - there are plans to amalgamate GM & Dodge etc...

The world changed a few weeks ago - this guys gonnagesquat because Nissan have nuthing to give - they are TOAST, broke , scuppered, bankrupt call it what you will. Truth known all the other manufacturers are in the same leaky boat!

Its sad for the guy and he has valid points - but insurance , warranty, etc ONLY mean something of the people you are dealing with ain't broke.

This is the brave new world like the great depression of the 1930's..we better get used to it!

Buying used at a cheap price and expecting to cover your own costs is the way of the future for at least another generation now!

Can'tblame the giy in the vidfor that - his cars been waiting 3 months for repair and in that time - the stock market crashed, and things changed overnight!

Nissan couldn't help him (or the legion of Genaded ZD30 owners with blown motors) even if they wanted too....

Theres no point threateneing them - what are you going to do - make someone lose their job? - Likely non of them will have a job within a month anyway under this economy...

Most of th epeople we know will be unemployed - why in the last 2 weeks - my missus was let go - her brother let go last friday and her sister also let go as well - all from 3 different companys!

Everyone is running for cover - reducing staff, cutting costs, declinng all claims etc etc.

Wait till you have an accident and go to your insurer or your house burns down, a LOT ofpeople are goingto find out the safety net weTHOUGHT we had (and paid for) in insurance and warranty etc is G O N E!

Now - where di it all go?

Heres a little wake up call for everyone!

When you lose our wallet with $100 in it - and someone dishonet FINDS it and KEEPS it, it's G O N E. Sad as it is not many today will do the "right thing and return it to the rightful owner!

Same with the stock market......for all the trillions LOST overnight on the stck exchange - "someone" made a several trillion $ killing!

Worse - our Govt tipped in BILLIONS and TRILLION of Taxpayer $ that we wl be paying for for generations, and the same Merchant Banker Theives, Military Industrial Complex etc who took off woth all of our hard earned were the beneficiarys of that largess!

Everyones been screwed - even NISSAN (who deserved it) - but the facts are - no one has the ability to make this fellow whole again under these circumstances!

A very small global elite transferred the bulk of the wealth of most of the middle classes & big manufacturers like Nissan overnight!

Until people wake up to the fact our worldas we knew it is gone and this is the brave new BROKE world fo the future - people will continue to get their beliefe in safety nets etc broken in harsh ways such as the video above!

Wishin it wasn;t so won't make it so!

IMHO - not even Barack OBama will be able to fix the mess that 8 years of "Dubya the decider" has wrought - his Nissan will be rusted to a pile of dust before this mess is fixed.

Best a luck with it is about all the support most of us can muster.

Golden rule, the guy with the gold gets to make all the rules!

Cheers!
AnswerID: 333868

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 07:29

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 07:29
Well, that was a nice, short, simple and concise answer.....hehehe.

Cheers....Lionel.
FollowupID: 601647

Follow Up By: downtools - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 08:07

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 08:07
Strewth... Flywest!!!!!
I hope I never get that disillusioned, fedup or pesimistic!!!!!!
There may be some truth in your ramblings but I still need to believe this place is what WE make it.
Some things are out of our control but if I pay for a warranty and need it, it had better be there. As far as we can, we should keep the bastards honest.
Sorry to hear about your misfortune, and the cobber with the Navara but hey, its still the best place to live on this earth.
If you can't change it, cop it on the chin and move on.
Cheers Nifty.
FollowupID: 601655

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 09:58

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 09:58
Double STREWTH!!!!!! Pass me a blunt razor blade....I think I'm gunna go slash my wrists after reading all that doom and gloom..... ;-(

Now, back to the point....... If you need to tow an automatic, it's a relatively simple task to climb underneath and remove the tail shaft/s. In fact if you have a bit of fencing wire or rope handy, you'd only need to undo the 4 bolts that connect the tailshaft to the diff flange and secure it (the tailshaft) up onto the chassis cross member so it is out of the way. I reckon the Navara is a part-time 4x4, so you shouldn't need to worry about the front shaft as lang as the stubby lever is in 2wd position.
FollowupID: 601668

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:22

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:22
Sometimes people post such drivel.

"Worse - our Govt tipped in BILLIONS and TRILLION of Taxpayer $ that we wl be paying for for generations"

Hmmm!! Don't you mean the US Government??
Last time I looked "our" government has not bailed out anyone least of all a merchant bank or two??

FollowupID: 601683

Follow Up By: nickb - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:51

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:51
I thought my life was worth living but that has put doubt in my mind...

Re: towing an auto 4x4. I believe that if you put the transfer case into neutral you should be able to tow it as the tailshaft/s are turning but the gears remain stationary.

FollowupID: 601732

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 18:14

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 18:14
Sorry Flywest you have your facts wrong on the stockmarket stuff. Just because someone has lost a billion dollars, does not mean someone else has made a billion.

A simple example. Investors pay $1.00 each for 1 billion shares in a new company. The company uses the money to buy property, machinery etc to make widgets. Lets say the shares trade at $1.00. There is a stock market crash and the shares drop to 10 cents. So collectively the shareholders have 'lost' $900 million. Who made a a killing on the $900 million they lost?

Oh, and also the Australian governmant has not spent a cent on supporting companies (including banks). In fact, they will eventually make money as they will charge for the bank guarantee they have given - once they work out what the hell they are doing).

Norm C
FollowupID: 601741

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 21:05

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 21:05
Hi Norm, last time i looked ABC child care was bailed out to the tune of 22million, garanteed to the end of december 08. Col
FollowupID: 601891

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 21:39

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 21:39
Kiwi we have not seen the detail of what and how the $22 Million is to be applied.
Its also conditional on further figures being forthcoming.

I have little doubt that it will be recoverable from the probable sale of the business further down the track, so rightly no loss to tax payers.

Hardly what could be called a bailout when ABC has debts of around a Billion Dollars.

FollowupID: 601896

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 21:59

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 21:59
John, any money paid into a company failing even before the world crisis is a bail out. You cant get good money back from a failing company. The money we have in australias bank account was not meant to bale out failing comapnys, for any reason, specially when you see the wife suing hubby for 44million. Also many of the centres will not open next year. Poor management for over paid CEOs. 22mill into the federal health system will goe much further. Also am a Rudd supporter. col
FollowupID: 601906

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 22:12

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 22:12
"You cant get good money back from a failing company"

Yes you can when its under Administration as the Administrator now bears responsibility not the original Directors, different kettle of fish entirely. (See Ansett Airlines Loan arrangement for previous recovery of tax payer funded loans)

I am also banking that it will be structured as I said above as some sort of continued payment under the Child Care Scheme for services rendered, but lets wait and see the fine print before we continue to speculate on possible outcomes.

P.S. I'm not a Rudd supporter :-)

FollowupID: 601909

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 23:07

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 23:07
Come on guys. Get a grip.

Point 1. No money had been made available to ABC when I made my post.

Point 2. The money the govt is offering will never see an ABC bank account. It will be paid to the Administrator. That is a different legal entity entirely. The Administrator has no liability to ABCs creditors, shareholders or Board until, all secured creditors have been paid in full. That's not likely to happen. I don't know the detail of the offer, but I'd be pretty sure the Govt will be ranked in front of ordinary creditors and shareholders in getting it's money back.

The Govt has provided this money to 'bail out' the Childcare system, by ensuring it can meet it's payroll obligations. If ABC was forced to close all it's centres at such short notice, it would cause major upheaval. Tens of thousands of working parents with no child care for their kids.

This is a long way from the statement by Flywest I was responding to:

'our Govt tipped in BILLIONS and TRILLION of Taxpayer $ that we wl be paying for for generations, and the same Merchant Banker Theives, Military Industrial Complex etc who took off woth all of our hard earned were the beneficiarys of that largess!

I know this is just an online forum where anyone can post almost anything. But there has to be some semblance of truth or knowledge about the facts for it to be credible.

I'm as angry as anyone about the fraudulent way greedy people were left to run entirely unchecked by regulators - leading to the loss of trillions of dollars - much of it by innocent investors in super funds, managed funds and the like. But that fraudelent activity occurred almost entirely in the USA. Every one of us with superannuation has lost a great dieal through this fiasco.

But any claim that Australian taxpayers $ are being used to bail out failing companies and their shareholders is simply false. And I hope it stays that way.

Norm C

FollowupID: 601921

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 08:30

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 08:30
There are a couple of things that can be of concern.

The vehicle was lifted 50mm. That would void the warranty and 50mm lift is a lot for an independent front end vehicle. 35mm is about the limit.

He also stated that the only way the radiator was damage was if the bash plate moved up. There has to be an impact of some kind.

From what I can remember of the tracks on Fraser Island is that they can have a high build up of sand between the wheel tracks.

The vehicle has been lifted, which means that the front of the vehicle can move down a lot more than if it was standard height.
Winding up the torsion bars allows the front suspension to compress more between the bump stops.

Just driving on the tracks with the build up of sand in the middle of the track and the vehicle properly bouncing, contact was made between the bash plate and the sand. Impact damage.

The cost of repair of $25000. I can't see it.

AnswerID: 333874

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 08:52

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 08:52
"50mm lift is a lot for an independent front end vehicle. 35mm is about the limit. "

Have to disagree with you there... Lots of fully independent Pajero's running around with 50mm lift (including mine) with no problems whatsoever.

A lifted independently sprung vehicle is much better on Fraser IMO as you don't continually keep hitting the mound of sand between the ruts. The height of the mound is normally determined by the diffs on Toyota's and Patrols so an independent setup like the Paj never touches it as the ground clearance is much better ;-))

Can't see the vid yet as I'm at work (shhhhh!) so can't comment further..
FollowupID: 601660

Follow Up By: stevie1947 - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 08:53

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 08:53
Wayne. Your spot on mate. I feel for the bloke but in all reality he is probably to blame for his predicament.
I noticed that most of the people above are Toyo owners so they have a hidden agender and take all opportunties to sink the boot into Nissan. That should get them going?
By the way I drive a Mazda.
FollowupID: 601661

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 09:37

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 09:37
Stevie,

I was trying to keep the vehicle debate out of the reply.

I was just trying to point out a few things that I have a concern with.

FollowupID: 601665

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 10:11

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 10:11
I agree with Wayne....please don't let us get down to the damn toyota v nissan v mitsi v anything else syndrome again. THAT is the sort of stuff David is trying to stamp out lately.

I don't see anything in Wayne's original reply that would constitute a "toyota is best" type of thought.

Let's stick to the problem this poor bloke is having.
FollowupID: 601669

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:18

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:18
Guys, not trying to start a brand war, just pointing out that there's heaps of IFS 4B's running around with 50mm+ lifts with no problem whatsoever. I Mentioned Pajero purely cause that's what I drive and am most familiar with.
FollowupID: 601680

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:40

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:40
No, my comments were directed (or should have been) towards Stevie 1947..... sorry for misunderstanding......

I'm guilty of playing the Toy v Niss game in the past and it was always in good fun (on my part). Hell, if someone came along and made me an offer to buy a toyota at a good price, I would jump at the chance...... They're all good cars ; until something goes wrong.
FollowupID: 601687

Reply By: Philip A - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 09:07

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 09:07
I thought about what my reaction would be to the incident in the video after watching it.
In one of my earlier careers, I was the guy who decided on these things in a major car company.

My first thought is that a fair hit would be needed to do the damage, and with a raised suspension it would need to be something high eg the raised kerb formed by a creek crossing the beach.

Second, most of the expense is "consequential damage" presumably to the engine caused by running without sufficient water.

Nissan appear willing to pick up a new radiator and fan and underbonnet damage.

The RACQ thing would be a quandary for me, but I think I would call either the dealer or the car company seeking their help/guidance. I would have removed the radiator and done /had done a temporary repair before driving.

If I were the manufacturer I think I would take the same attitude as Nissan have. IMHO the degree of help offered is also dependent on the approach taken by the customeras it is entirely possible for Nissan to do the repair under a "goodwill" fund that all manufacturers have.
BUT the FACTS seem to be that the owner did most of the damage by his own actions. Regardless of the RACQ circumstances common sense should be exercised.
Regard sPhilip A

AnswerID: 333875

Follow Up By: Malleerv - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 09:55

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 09:55
Have to agree with you Philip. Looks to me that it was his driving that caused the damage in the first place by hitting the bash plate on something solid enough to push it up and dislodge the radiator. Having done just that his insurance would have covered any repairs.

BUT because he needed to pay for the recovery as Nissan/RACQ would not do it under the roadside assist, he has taken the other option and drove it off the island thus damaging the engine. I believe it clearly states in the roadside assist and warranty the if you continue to drive the vehicle with a known fault and more damage is caused you void your warranty.

He has no one to blame but himself for the situation he is in. I makes me angry when people try to blame someone else or a company for their stupidity. Just because Nissan did not make it totally idiot proof it is their fault
FollowupID: 601667

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 09:53

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 09:53
My take on this is:

The guy hits something pretty hard and blames the vehicle. What was he doing at the time? That sort of damage is often done from being airborne, and coming down with a bang. Hitting something and holing a radiator is normally an insurance job anyway.

The RACQ say they won't fetch it. Does the guy get back to Nissan? He makes his own decision to drive off the Island.

The guy drives the vehicle with a holed radiator - he said he topped it up so it wouldn't overheat. For a $25k repair it sounds like it has been driven until it seized.

Did he think to do a bush repair? What would you or I do out in the bush with a holed radiator? Isn't that what I always carry epoxy and bars leaks for? Surely some help is available at places like Eurong, or from other 4wders who go prepared.

He needs to take it on the chin.

Give Nissan a break!
AnswerID: 333878

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:17

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:17
That just about sums it to perfection.

FollowupID: 601678

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:32

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 11:32
Yes Phil , I also agree with you.
Willie
FollowupID: 601684

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 12:04

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 12:04
We could have a similar video on the 3l engine issues and the alloy wheels that have a habit of falling off.

VKS Mobile 1906

AnswerID: 333890

Reply By: nomadoz - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:02

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 13:02
DILL!!!!!!!

Should never ever bought a 4X4, should had bought a Grader or a Dozer

AnswerID: 333895

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:02

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:02

Reading the above Replys, I thought I would get out the Nissan
24 Hour Road Side Assist Warranty Booklet, that we received with
our 2008 Patrol, thinking we could get into trouble our selves,
I wont go into every minor detail so here is a few listed help features,
*24 hour assistance
*If problem occurs more than 100ks away from home and cant be
rectified in 24 hrs, they will pay for two nights accommodation
upto $150-00 per night.
*They will pay upto $300-00 fares for your passengers to get home.
*If Illness occurs they will arrange suitable emergency accommodation.
*Note They will provide Assistance ANY WHERE IN AUSTRALIA,

I just phoned there Road Side Assist Number, and mentioned
Fraser Island, they said assistance would come from either
Rainbow Beach or Hervey Bay, and Nissan Would Cover The Cost.
If it was a Genuine Warranty Problem.
Theres allways Two Sides to a Story.

Daza

AnswerID: 333911

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:16

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:16
Can you rely on what Nissan Australia say at anytime??

Going on the previously well documented attitude by Nissan towards owners of its product, when push comes to shove they seem to dump more owners on their respective backsides than not.

FollowupID: 601710

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:34

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:34
G'day Dazza,

Like you I also checked on both occasions when I purchased my Patrols as both times we were just about to embark on a major journey to the Cape. I must confess that whilst I also received assurances, deep down I was alway wondering what would really happen. Fortunately I have never needed to find out how good those assurances were but had the number and my sat phone ready just in case.

Sometimes the devil is in the detail and if my memory serves me correct, the first time (1993) there was a proviso that it had to be a gazetted road! No problem - the guy said just tow it to the nearest road.

FollowupID: 601715

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:01

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 17:01
The Police use Speed Cameras up there, and Speed Limits apply,
thats on the Ocean Beach, I dont know about the Tracks,
it must be some kind of gazetted road?
getting back to the 24 hr Assist I can only go by what they
say in the book and what she said on the phone,

All so some people go up there with very little money ect, or know credit on there Plastic, for emergencies and take risks.
FollowupID: 601722

Reply By: David N. - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:16

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:16
There are a few issues here. And i do feel sorry for the guy BTW.

1. The radiator mounting design. It is crap, complete and utter crap! If I owned one, I'd be doing a mod -although then you might void your warranty anyway. Very tricky.

2. The vehicle recovery.... or lack thereof. Nissan has a stated policy which is .....crap! This is a disgrace.

3. The damage done as a result of driving with a holed radiator..... entirely NOT Nissan's fault. There is simply no argument here. If you drive any vehicle with known damage, you risk costing yourself a lot of extra money.......

4. The alleged damage done whilst in storage- very difficult to prove, and certainly not Nissan's fault. Could have been the owner from previously, could have been some apprentice or other yobbo with access to the keys or somebody else who moved the vehicle.

Think I'll stick to my brilliant, bullet-proof GQ! They really made decent cars in those days.
AnswerID: 333915

Follow Up By: Member - Marco T (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 23:13

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 23:13
Agree with you David on all counts. But I might add-
Assuming he did not drive carelessly, it all starts here with Nissan. I to have the assistance booklet here and I would assume I am covered on Fraser Is. Upon finding out he is not going to be towed by Nissan or RACQ (free of charge) you should then do what is responsible.
Better to pay for the tow and fight with them later over the wording on the assistance booklet or you could drive it with presumably no water and fill it now and then.
I have the D40 and the factory 'bash plate' responsible here is useless.
For starters it is poorly designed. You actually have to bend it to use the recovery hook - which is easy because it is paper thin. I wonder if Nissan will fix the faulty radiator design OR just make a stronger bash plate?
Here are some other very common items on this model:

* He should be counting his blessings he did not unknowningly decapitate the oil sump which is not actually protected.
* He should be equally jubilant he did not burn out the clutch on the soft sand (assume manual)
* The 'impact damage' Nissan claim here would have actually happened 10km/hr slower than indicated on the speedo
* Given how much this wonderful vehicle cost him how did he afford the fuel bill for the trip? (not even close to Nissan's stated fuel consumption)
* With 19,000km on the clock, did he need new front rotors also?

Sorry to throw fuel on the flames but the 'truth hurts'

Marco
FollowupID: 601804

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:44

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 16:44
Very weird, I watched the video when it was first posted but now the thing is no longer visible (like some of the others are mentioning) so something has changed - probably my end!

Another comment I wanted to make was that we have visited Fraser a few times and on one careless occassion I was travelling a little fast in the GQ and hit a rise at speed gaining some air with a rather harsh landing (not proud of my inattention). The Gq spat out a bump stop in one of the front coils but other than that came out of the experience unscathed. Certainly no fan blades into the motor.

My landing was hard so I would suggest GQ system was a better design but man he must have hit something hard.

AnswerID: 333924

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 14:49

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 14:49
Haha you were lucky!!

Im repairing a GQ Safari import that did what you desribed but the old 4.2 lifted and tore the engine mounts. This allowed the fan to raise through the shroud and snapped a few fins when it grated on the bonnet!!

Messy but still survived!!

FollowupID: 601850

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 21:17

Friday, Nov 07, 2008 at 21:17
Hi Beatit, so how did you refix the bump stop in the coil, i have the same and tried different fixes and non have worked. Col
FollowupID: 601894

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 08:34

Monday, Nov 10, 2008 at 08:34
G'day Col,

Never got around to replacing it. I sold the GQ for my current GU and am not exactly sure how long I drove around with it the way it was. I would imagine that a replacement would simply involve removing the coil. My memory (5 years ago minimum) isn't that great but I thought it was a bolt on item.

BTW your isn't silver by any chance?

FollowupID: 602216

Reply By: troopyman - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 18:52

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 18:52
You have a plastic guard under the radiator and so does my troopy . How do you get damage like that without bottoming out badly at the front ? You then drove it like that to get off fraser . Moral of the story . I must get a steel bash plate for the troopy . Sometimes you break things when 4wding . All the best , cheers .
AnswerID: 333944

Reply By: mechpete - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 20:19

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 20:19
my understanding of roadside service is it only extends to where a standard 2wd vehicle can go ,if any futher recovery required then it is to be paid for by the owner . from memory thats how RACV works . have i got right or wrong . sorry to hear your dramas ,but do you check the underneath of your vehcile daily to make sure all is ok when your off road . my patrol has a tin bash plate and you need to keep an eye on it in the sandy stuff
cheers mechpete
AnswerID: 333956

Reply By: troopyman - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 20:43

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 20:43
Just on a side note , a 4wd is for 4wding and so the argument where people say you might not be insured if you go off road in a 4wd is rediculous and false .
AnswerID: 333962

Reply By: Member - Stuart W (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 21:28

Thursday, Nov 06, 2008 at 21:28
On the 9th October this year I was walking up to Sandy Cape lighthouse on Fraser when we were passed by a RACQ tilt tray truck on the way to the summit to rescue a crippled (apparently broken timing belt) Landrover Defender. On the way down we passed them, they had rolled the tow truck tyre off the rim and at Ngkala rocks we passed the guy again and he was well bogged beyond any help that we could offer him. Passed a tractor further down the beach on the way to him.
Point is RACQ will go to a bit of trouble to get people off the island.I think this guy has made the mistake of not realising the damage that is possible from overheating.
Stuart
AnswerID: 333974

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 08:09

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 08:09
Sorry guy's, I cannot handle this blokes's dilemma.

Watched this clip a couple of times, and am not too sure if we are getting the whole story delivered to us.

Having driven a standard height D22 Navara across the Simpson Desert, at between 15-20 km/hr., the question I would ask, is why would you want to do the speed limit, on sand on Frazer Island, if it was 80 km/hr, in places.
Not this little black duck..Drive to the conditions, not the speed limit !

I feel for this guy, in regards to the $25k repair damage, but even then, I find that a little hard to handle. If he looked after the motor, and kept the water up to it, then there would be virtually no damage, so why the huge cost.
Personally, I would want to see the itemised list, before I committed to paying that sort of "inflated money", for repair. ?????

For what it's worth, these are my thoughts on the whole thing

AnswerID: 334179

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 11:12

Saturday, Nov 08, 2008 at 11:12
I agree Bucky with the "Drive to the conditions, not the speed limit" statement.

Fraser Island also gets some good whoopsies going, especially heading to Sandy Cape Lighthouse, where whilst the 80km/hr is possible due to the smooth nature at low tide, the conditions dictate a slower and more cautious speed at certain times. Creek/water seepage could be difficult to see at speed, especially around midday where little shadow exists etc.

BTW, i wouldn't compare the sand conditions on Fraser Island with the condition in the Simpson Desert, as they seem worlds apart in their conditions. (i haven't done the desert "yet"). :-)

FollowupID: 601963