Thuraya Sat Phones

I have just done a search of the Archives on these phones and from what I gather they may be available now, has anyone got one or know what the go is as far as availability is at present?

We took our Globalstar with us again and yes we still had major problems with it, we think that we have given them a good enough run and plenty of time (nearly three years) to get these phones up and running again, they are not so bad in the south of the country but get up in the Northern areas (where you need it) they are hopeless.

Thanks in advance

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:16

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:16
You only have to need your satphone once to convince you that Gobal*rap don't work well .
Thruya have apparently been tied up with Optus as their reps in Oz. Some phones have come up on Ebay, but one has to ask if the Thruya network is a proven performer in Auastralia yet. Until they are I'm sticking with Irridium. Not cheap but reliable.
AnswerID: 326535

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 14:37

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 14:37
Hi Footloose, I have just found an outlet for Thuraya in Perth and have contacted them, the lady I spoke to was very helpful and her answers seemed to be truthful, it appears that the handsets have been available for only a week and as she said, even though they have sold quite a few of them there has not been enough time to test them up the north, however she did say that they have had much testing before they went on the market.

Thanks for your input.

D

FollowupID: 593681

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:49

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 12:49
D I assume you are with Pivotel currently as the Global$hit Reps?

If you push hard enough apparently they will change your Global$hit over to an Iridium at no cost???

Give them a ring and get stuck into them, nothing to lose.

AnswerID: 326540

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:28

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:28
HI John, yes you assumed correctly, I intend to call Pivotel in the morning as I have been doing some homework today in relation to what is out there. If we don't get a satisfactory deal we will be going else where, just wanted to know what direction that would be.

Thanks for reply.

D

FollowupID: 593785

Reply By: Jeelan - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 17:23

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 17:23
hey mate

i dealt with TC COmmunicatons in Perth when i bought my Sat Phone. I've had it for about 4yrs with use at least 3-4 months a year and had no problems with it, or TC's service. They've got a 24hr help desk which i've had to use on a few occasions and even calling from the Sat phone itself, ive found their service to be fantastic.

That being said, i dont know anything about Thuraya, as my phone uses the Iridium network.

TC Communications hv got an office in Coburn Central. Their website is www.tc.com.au

Jeelan
AnswerID: 326573

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:34

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:34
Thanks for reply Jeelan, they look good, will give them a look see. Will be seeing what sort of a deal can be had from Pivotel first, we have to do something.

D

FollowupID: 593788

Reply By: trouper - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 17:46

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 17:46
G'day dunworking

With respect, if you want something to work when you really need it, you have to pay for quality. Iridium are not cheap but most people will advise that this system rarely if ever will let you down.If the Remote Area Nursing Service and the RFDS use Iridium (thats good enough for me) you can bet it's the best available.. A friend has Globalstar and he has had nothing but trouble with it for the last 2 years.They have promised the world but obviously they still have not delivered on their promises!!
AnswerID: 326576

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:41

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:41
Hi trouper,

"With respect, if you want something to work when you really need it, you have to pay for quality."

Normally I would agree with you however we paid more for the Qualcom phone than it costs to buy an Iridium, and when we first got it we had no problems with it, we took it on the CSR and could contact anyone anywhere but now the system seems to be cactus.

I fully agree with the fact that the company has promised a lot and not produced the goods, we have given them enough time to come good. it's now time for us to act.

D

FollowupID: 593793

Reply By: RobAck - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 18:39

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 18:39
Optus are the major supplier and there are lots of resellers coming out to sell them as well. Had a detailed look at them both the other day. Lighter, one is dual mode (sat and GSM) and the cost will be around $1600 which is a long way below the others at the moment but you can expect Pivotel to respond along with Irridium. Apart from that I cannot seem anything really wrong with them but too early to tell until we get one for evaluation which should be in a few weeks. Coverage should be OK but their satellites operate in a different range from the Globalstar ones. Only time will tell but if you believe the sales spin they should offer a decent product

RobA
AnswerID: 326587

Follow Up By: Member - John R (QLD) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:41

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:41
Hi Rob

Can you post comments of your evaluation on the forum when it happens? I'm sure lots would be interested. I see the sat only models on Ebay at the moment for A$999, though it looks like the Oz price will be higher than elsewhere because some people can get the Govt rebate. The size and weight of these models look a real advantage over the current Iridium/G'star models.
Cheers, John
FollowupID: 593794

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:53

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 21:53
Hi RobAck, thanks for your reply, I would be very interested in your evaluation of this product. I contacted the dealer here in Perth today and had quite a long chat with her, she seemed to be genuine with her replies and we are really interested in the phone, it seems to have all we want on it (we are looking at the Sat only model which is the 5210) My main concern will be if it works out the back blocks of this country.

John R The one on eBay that you are looking at, is that a prepaid, if not what model is it?

D

FollowupID: 593797

Follow Up By: Member - John R (QLD) - Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 22:53

Monday, Sep 22, 2008 at 22:53
It was the 2510 without connection - you select either plan or pre-paid (both at extra cost) as preferred. Could be better deals elsewhere, so worth asking around (the ad appears to say RRP is $949?). First one I've seen from an Oz Ebay seller though.

Cheers, John
FollowupID: 593801

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 00:38

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 00:38
Hi RobAck, how is the Thuraya Sat phone going???? I have been waiting on your evaluation and wondering if you have had it out in the back blocks yet.

We have had an update from others and the results have not been overwhelming.

D

FollowupID: 596167

Reply By: RobAck - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 19:13

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 19:13
Folks we have two in the field at the moment. One operating around Alice Springs and the other around Nhulunbuy so I am in the hands of the field operators at the moment. We are trying to find some time to do a back to back test against our Irridium so we can get a direct feel for voice and send and receive quality.

Field operators have been pretty neutral in their views at the moment although some feel they are a bit light for sustained field use. Not sure, the jury is still out until I can get one back and form my own opinion

RobA
AnswerID: 328953

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 04:46

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 04:46
Hi RobA, thanks for your reply, we had a look at one of the Thuraya phones and they are quite small, would be great for our use however we believe there could be problems with the handsets themselves. Will wait for your report.

Thanks again for your help with this.

Deanna

FollowupID: 596314

Follow Up By: Member - John R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 15:20

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 15:20
Yes, thanks for the follow-up. Look forward to hearing more.

I assume by "a bit light" you mean not rugged enough for regular field use?

Cheers, John
FollowupID: 596372

Reply By: Trekker Bob - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 12:56

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 12:56
I dealt with a company called TCS R Direct and they helped me get a gov rebate to pay for the phone.

This is for the dual band one where you can use it as a normal mobile and when you trek like we do it reverts to Satellite.

They sent it to us when we where on the road, and they really helped.

www.tcsrdirect.com.au

Trekker Bob
AnswerID: 331026

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 13:28

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 13:28
Hi Trekker Bob, would you mind emailing me as there are a couple of questions I would like to know re the rebate. (deannar@iinet.net.au)

D

FollowupID: 598751

Follow Up By: Member - John R (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 19:23

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 19:23
Hi Trekker Bob

Could you comment on how well the phone is working in satellite mode so far?

Thanks, John

FollowupID: 598847

Follow Up By: Trekker Bob - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:01

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:01
We have used it in areas off the newell hwy right through NSW and across to NT and no problem.

We have the phone on a mounting bracket on the dash, and use a blue tooth hands free module, so its like a speaker phone for both of us to use.

Works a treat.

We receive calls all the time on it, the social butterflies we are Ha-ha. Seriously though, no dramas at all.

FollowupID: 598925

Follow Up By: Member - John R (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:19

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:19
Thanks Bob

Cheers, John
FollowupID: 599050