Mazda BT 50 3.2 - chip tuning

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 20:42
ThreadID: 100022 Views:24480 Replies:12 FollowUps:14
Hi need your help.
I am towing a pretty heavy van with my Mazda BT 50 and have decided to invest in a chip tuning module.
I did a lot of research and came across plenty of companies offering various units.
The bigger ones seem to be DP Chip; Chip Express; DT UK and Red Dirt.
Two of the above units cost $600 one $1300 and one $1500
Of course all companies promise a lot but I could not find any objective test or review.
Does anyone here have experience with any of the above products?
What is the reason for the significant difference in cost?

Thanks heaps for your feedback
Dirk

Reply By: Member - iijmartin - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 21:00

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 21:00
Dirk ,
I have just bought a 2012 BT 50 to tow a 2.8 t van. Haven't hooked the van on yet as am getting a steel canopy built at present.
My previous Navara D40 2.5 TD auto I was very happy with the Steinbauer chip. It was my first choice with DP chip 2nd.
I would have thought the 3.2L BT 50 motor (and I have researched well) would have enough power and torque for a heavy van , without any extra chips etc. I suppose I am always concerned about modifications giving the car manufacturer an excuse to waive warranty claims.
Just a few thoughts,
AnswerID: 502738

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 12:47

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 12:47
Yes agree don't think the BT50 would need more torque and power. They would tow fine and the chip would not make a huge difference.
FollowupID: 779294

Reply By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 21:05

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 21:05
hi there is another one called
www.chipit.com.au
they are an australian company and i have only heard good things about there customer service not connected with them
and havent had personel work done
AnswerID: 502739

Follow Up By: Nutta - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 22:14

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 22:14
I would second that.

My 2.8 colorado price was $1000 for the standard chip with an option for an egt controller for $1300 (inc chip) which i will get down the track.

As for warranty it is always a concern, most of these chips plug straight into the obdII port i think so can be easily unplugged and undetected if going in for a service.

You can never have to much power!

FollowupID: 779248

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Jan 20, 2013 at 19:31

Sunday, Jan 20, 2013 at 19:31
I had a "tunit" in my Landcruiser used for heavy towing.......since changed to a "Chipit"...number of reasons...the two most important reasons for change to the chipit being this

it is coupled to the EGT for safety..........
I can change the tunes on it with my laptop for when towing or normal use........

best read their website if interested

no affliation etc
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 779631

Reply By: Member - Peter H1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 22:10

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 22:10
I have a 29' Travelhome 5th wheeler and my Ford Ranger 3.2 PX XLT 2012 model tows it very well I won't be chipping it.
AnswerID: 502744

Follow Up By: Member - ken m4 - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 09:25

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 09:25
Second that I have the Ranger with the 3.2 litre 6 speed auto towing a 3+ tonne 5th wheeler. We tavelled from south of Mackay to Townsville yesterday (all bitumen) with no trouble and the fuel usage guage showed 15l/100 km mackay to Bowen and dropped back to 14.3lph for the trip by the time we reached Townsville. This with no additional chip, and able to cruise at 100kph when required. The reason the usage declined after Bowen was the speed travelled 90kph and the flatter terain. The reading of 14.3lph would be optimistic and a true reading would be rounded out to 15lph. Am not interested in chipping it further
FollowupID: 779272

Reply By: Ross M - Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 22:33

Wednesday, Jan 16, 2013 at 22:33
Dirk

As mentioned, the NEW BT50/Rangers have much more power and torque than the earlier ones and people towed the same stuff around the planet with them.

Tread carefully. Proving issues when claiming any warranty is extremely hard to do if you are not very tech savvy.
Most chip companies offer a warranty if it is proven their product caused the issue.
Just how would you go about proving that? because it will be up to you to do the proving as they won't find a fault with their gear.
Dealers also will drop your warranty if they think a chip was involved.

Think of this sandwich Dealer/Owner/Chip supplier. Yes, you are in the middle and any pressure will be the squeeze on you.

There are people happy with their chipped vehicles though. It is a tough choice.
Ross M
AnswerID: 502746

Reply By: bluefella - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 05:48

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 05:48
G'day Dirk
I reckon UNICHIP are the best, they tick all the right boxes for fuel delivery, timeing control,and maintain the engines ECU safetey controls.
AnswerID: 502756

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 07:05

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 07:05
Have a Donator chip coming, from Italy . . . http://www.donatorstore.eu/shop/ford-ranger-ford-ranger-30-tdci-156-hp-c-3461_1355_1534_1573_1575.html?language=en

AUD $217.60 delivered.
Remote to activate / deactivate whenever you like as driving.

Found a UK one too that is fairly good pricing http://www.chipexpress.com/products/703/

Anyway, are you upgrading exhaust and fitting an EGT guage ?
Very advisable, as this will work hand in hand with the extra chip power, and ensure you don't push temps too hard, well at least without knowing about it and rectifying.
AnswerID: 502758

Reply By: phasar - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 07:41

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 07:41
G'day Dirk

There is a review of chip modules in ESSENTIAL 4WD HANDBOOK #4.
This mag came with one of the many 4wd drive magazines available at the newsagents.
The STEINBAUER was the one recommended.

I have this one fitted to 2012 BT 50 along with 2.75 inch mandrel bent exhaust.
Results in about 15% increase in power and torque.

I do have to say it is the most expensive, don't know why such a difference in cost.

I am due for 20K service soon, will be interesting to see what Mazda have to say.

Peter.
If you wanna get to heaven first you must raise a little hell
OMD

AnswerID: 502761

Follow Up By: Rockape - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 07:56

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 07:56
Peter,
they will most likely say nothing about it. It may get noted and a record kept. I don't know, but I do know that anything changed from standard can and will void warranty. Now that may not worry you so all will be sweet.

As Ross M said. If it becomes an argument over what caused a problem. Mazda will say it has modified. End of story. The chip people will say. There is nothing wrong with the chip. End of story.

I have nothing against the chips, as with everything some have had the odd problem and others none. One thing I would stay away from is those cheap ones that increase rail pressure.

I am surprised Manufactures haven't installed data recorders in the vehicles to record abnormal setting changes. I don't mean faults or error codes, just changes to the original mapping.

RA.
FollowupID: 779267

Follow Up By: Member - Wamuranman - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 08:17

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 08:17
Peter,

Is the magazine with that comparison a recent one. Can you provide issue date or number...I'd like to track one down to read and keep for future reference.
FollowupID: 779268

Follow Up By: Racey - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 09:12

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 09:12
I would second Steinbauer. They do tick all the boxes including monitoring the accelerator position. I had one on a Ssangyong Rexton XVT and can recommend them. Only sold the car due to towing capacity.steinbauer modules. This link will tell what you need to know.
FollowupID: 779271

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 18:45

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 18:45
I wouldn't believe what magazines say..... next year it will be another brand that will be king of the hill.

$$$$$$$$$ speak, do you really thing a magazine is going to can some ones product who spends BIG dollars on advertising!

Nobody in their right mind would kill "The Goose That Laid the Golden Eggs"
FollowupID: 779328

Follow Up By: phasar - Monday, Jan 21, 2013 at 09:29

Monday, Jan 21, 2013 at 09:29
G'day all

I have a scanned copy of review.(25mb)
If you are interested, email me.

Peter.

OMD

FollowupID: 779661

Reply By: wots up - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 08:21

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 08:21
You have to be careful towing with a chipped vechile as adding more horsepower means more fuel and this can push up your EGTs not to mention your trans temps if you have a auto. I have egt and trans temp gauges and watch how my temps go up when higher tunes are loaded
AnswerID: 502764

Reply By: lance m1 - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 09:28

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 09:28
Dick N
Have a look at the web site of Diesel Smart. I have one on my 3lt Mazda BT50. It has three settings and you can certainly feel the difference between each setting. It is an Australian product, I had mine fitted in Ayr QLD. Lasue 1
AnswerID: 502770

Reply By: Ray 3 - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 10:14

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 10:14
My concern is...if these chips are so good and performance enhancing, why don't the vehicle manufacturers use or recommend them?
AnswerID: 502773

Follow Up By: dbish - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 10:30

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 10:30
Probably because they have to meet emission standards !!
FollowupID: 779277

Follow Up By: Ross M - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 10:53

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 10:53
dbish.
I think you are on the money and the manufacturers can easily "up the ante" as chip makers can, it's even easier for the vehicle manufacturers.

Emissions are most likely the reason they don't and also the torque and heat developed is held within their design parameters.

Lots of chips say, we monitor and detune and all sorts of stuff, but that only comes into play or be necessary when the limits are near being reached. If you run or work at near your limit, do you get tired, wear out or collapse unexpectedly? Most people do and machine also.
Now about that warranty?
FollowupID: 779281

Follow Up By: Gronk - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 16:35

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 16:35
All manufacturers will run with the lowest state of tune they can get away with ( long engine life...no warranty claims )

But....when the opposition up there power figures ( either by tweaking their engines or by putting in a newer design engine ), then the others feel they need to play the game and do likewise...

But unlike a chip maker....the manufacturer has massive resources available to be able to up the power while also redesigning things to cope with the extra strain..

We as chip installers....hope the extra power doesn't cause unwanted problems....and one reason I will take mine out if it had to go back for any warranty work on the engine..
FollowupID: 779318

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 18:41

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 18:41
There are many reasons why manufactures who sell there vehicles here don't.

1) Australia is known for abusing vehicles and you have probably heard the phase "treat it like a company car" or "drive it like it was stolen" ..... people who perform performance modes on the vehicle usually take better care of them then people who drive them into the ground.

2) Manufactures play this little marketing game of give people just enough of anything for them to be happy...... the next model will will always have more, last years model had 140Kw's and next years model will have 155Kw's ( what a great reason to upgrade).

3) Australian lives in the dark ages when it comes to what people want..... look at Europe, the USA and Asian countries, there are many factory endorsed tuning companies who will happily tune and mod your vehicle and are backed by the manufacture.

FollowupID: 779327

Follow Up By: phasar - Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 20:01

Thursday, Jan 17, 2013 at 20:01
G'day Olcoolone

I think you are right on the money.

Peter.
OMD

FollowupID: 779332

Reply By: Burnt Damper - Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 10:35

Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 10:35
Dirk.N
I have a present model BT50 with a Roos System from Brisbane chip and 3inc exhaust and have done just short of 30,000km ( just had 30,000 km service)
I tow a two axle van ( bogie) plus have a boat on top of checker plate canopy with motor,camping gear etc inside. All up I would gross close to 6 ton and still manage to get along at 100kph with fuel consumption of 15.2lt per100km. That was my fuel consumption just before Christmas travelling from Normanton Qld to Daly River NT
distance 2069km.
I haven't had any problems what so ever with the vehicle ( upgraded suspension and increased GVM). It has the manual 6 speed, standard rims, Mickey Thompson tyres, 2nd battery and very few other accessories.
I spent 2 months travelling Cape York travelling over 5,000km with boat on top but without van and got 12.3 lt per 100 km.
Just by the way if you can handle the heat the Gulf and the Territory are great places to be at this time of the year!
Cheers Geordie
AnswerID: 502848

Reply By: wal109r - Sunday, Jan 20, 2013 at 17:07

Sunday, Jan 20, 2013 at 17:07
Hi Dirk & all other forum users,
I have fitted the stienbauer module to my Freestyle XTR & the difference is amazing,
it feels like the percentage that the makers claim. People say that the chip does not work with cruise control on, but this is false as i have tested it on the same incline numerous times with the chip on & off & the difference is 30 klms in speed at the top of it.
AnswerID: 503026