Canopy ideas

Submitted: Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 21:11
ThreadID: 100061 Views:4461 Replies:9 FollowUps:12
Hi am having a steel canopy made next week for 2012 BT 50 dual cab. Two side lift up doors/no windows. Just fishing for ideas and want to have all the right inclusions welded BEFORE it gets powder coated.
There must be people out there with stories of "I wish I had added that to my canopy while it was being built".
Let me know if you have or have seen good interior set up ideas
Much appreciated.

Reply By: Crusader - Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 21:30

Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 21:30
Hi Ian,
For what it's worth I had a canopy made last year for my 2012 BT50 Freestyle trayback.
The chap who did mine fitted it out as follows:
: a rear door with a window
: two side doors with no windows.
: a separate latch on each end of each door as opposed to one centre mounted latch with rods - if you get my drift.
: amplimesh (shark cage) to the inside of the doors so that if any load moves it doesn't damage the panel work
: two by roof bars ie roofrack
: a pressure relief vent in the roof

None of it was my idea :) but I use it for both work and private and I'm more than happy with the door/window arrangement and have since seen what happens to an unprotected door when a load moved inside (not in my ute) and am pleased that I have the mesh inside.

Crusader
AnswerID: 502901

Follow Up By: Member - iijmartin - Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 21:52

Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 21:52
Thanks Crusader,
I had thought about the latches on either side of the doors. The amplimesh is a great idea..much better than visit to the panelbeater. Was the amplimesh welded on before powder coating or screwed on afterwards?
The pressure relief vent - is that to prevent dust ingress?
FollowupID: 779476

Follow Up By: Crusader - Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 22:05

Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 22:05
Ian,
The amplimesh was welded on to the inside of the door frame - I only had the door skins powder coated and then glued on afterwards.
Yep the pressure relief does prevent dust ingress - exactly how I don't know but so far up here in FNQ and west of here I've had no leaks - dust or water.
I've seen a couple of bodies - perhaps poorly done where a single latch was used and the the linkages seemed to not secure the door to well. I think it could be done properly with one but I ended up with two and it works well.

Crusader
FollowupID: 779481

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 22:27

Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 22:27
Hi Ian.
Have your doors dobble sealed that way you don't need a pressure relife vent. Also 2 spare wheel mounts on the back.

FollowupID: 779484

Follow Up By: Member - iijmartin - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 22:16

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 22:16
Nice rig Andy's Adventures, thanks
FollowupID: 779582

Reply By: Member - sue and shaun - Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 21:49

Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 21:49
g day ian and kathleen wouldn't hurt to weld a chain link in each corner hang wet clothes or any thing really got all your lighting organised and maybe some external hooks so you can lift it off or tie tinny down you just never know lastly i am not sure on this one but maybe a vent at the front they say this reduces dust from being sucked in good luck hope this helps sue and shaun travel safe
AnswerID: 502906

Follow Up By: Member - iijmartin - Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 21:59

Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 21:59
Sue and Shaun,
Thanks for your ideas
FollowupID: 779479

Reply By: Member - Ross N (NSW) - Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 22:46

Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 22:46
When I designed the layout of my canopy I chalk marked the floorplan on the garage floor & then laid out all the items I wanted to carry in the canopy within the chalked area. Friges here, chairs & tables there,tucker boxes etc.
It gave a very good idea of where everything should go & what racking etc was required.
Ross N

AnswerID: 502911

Follow Up By: Member - iijmartin - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 22:18

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 22:18
Ross, THAT is a great idea. Real nuisance is things don't fit and the design could have been modified from the start.
Thanks mate
FollowupID: 779583

Reply By: Mick O - Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 23:05

Friday, Jan 18, 2013 at 23:05
2nd attempt - just lost all the photos and the response prior to submitting.

Drawers with slideout tables are great. I'd also consider the storage options that you want/need and in particular the type of containers you will be using. Make sure you design accordingly to ensure they will fit in!

AnswerID: 502915

Follow Up By: Member - iijmartin - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 22:23

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 22:23
Mick O
WOW that is a nice rig. Might be a bit out of my budget. Your drawers with tables are a real neat item.
I am sure you put real thought into your design.
Many thanks
FollowupID: 779584

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 07:45

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 07:45
Be mindful of adding excess weight, particularly with a dual cab
The Oates plastic drawer from bunnings are excellent to do the kitchen withA headboard poly water tank are good if you are wanting on, keep the heavy items forward like fridg, battery and water tanks
Consider the way the doors are hinged if you are considering a RTT or side awning as with some door designs you need to mount them up higher to stop the door fowling on tent
Run a few rows (3) of Unistrut on the roof for universal fixing of anything later
You can get electric locks if you wanted central locking
Amplimesh panels are great dividers as you can occur strap to them easily

Gull wing canopies are fantastic to use but watch your weight
AnswerID: 502929

Follow Up By: Member - iijmartin - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 22:31

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 22:31
Thanks Alby,
Fortunately the new BT 50 have a bit more carrying capacity..but I will be very mindful of the weight going into the canopy.
The amplimesh looks great in Mick O's rig. Will definitely include in mine.
Can you please elaborate on the Unistrut channel (3rows) on the underside of your canopy roof?
FollowupID: 779586

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Sunday, Jan 20, 2013 at 07:34

Sunday, Jan 20, 2013 at 07:34
Unistrut is a channel system that you can clamp bolt pretty much anything to it
I have attached it to the roof of the canopy as a form of roofrack and it is very handy
You often see it being used on tradesman vans in the form of a traditional roofrack, I think Rola make some accessories for it as well
A 6 metre length will cost you about $60
Google it and you will see some images to better explain, your fabricator most likely will know about it
FollowupID: 779599

Follow Up By: Member - iijmartin - Sunday, Jan 20, 2013 at 22:59

Sunday, Jan 20, 2013 at 22:59
Thanks Alby
FollowupID: 779651

Reply By: Parafan - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 08:51

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 08:51
Door alarms so you don't drive off with the door open and wipe them out. Have them on mine linked to the ignition and have saved me a couple of times.
Everyday is a holiday
Norm & Lisa

AnswerID: 502936

Follow Up By: Member - iijmartin - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 22:32

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 22:32
Good idea with my memory!!
FollowupID: 779587

Reply By: Barry 2 - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 18:04

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 18:04
Hi Ian & Kathleen
My first canopy ended up getting dented from things flying around on the inside.
My latest canopy which is Aluminum to save weight I have lined inside the roof and gull wing doors with Polystyrene sheets 20mm thick.Sheets are available in 2400 x1200 mm @ $8 each and glued with Poly glue available from bunnings etc. Keeps inside of canopy a little cooler and stops the dents so far !! easily replaced and light.
Good luck with it all.

Barry - Southern Cross Dreaming.
AnswerID: 502972

Follow Up By: Member - iijmartin - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 22:36

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 22:36
Thanks Barry,
Good idea. I have used those polystyrene sheets before. Last ones cost me about $25/sheet. Where do you get your bargains from?
When the polystyrene dents/breaks do you get much mess in the canopy?
FollowupID: 779589

Reply By: GEMAC Solar and Power - Sunday, Jan 20, 2013 at 10:31

Sunday, Jan 20, 2013 at 10:31
Hi IIJ

I had asteel canopy on a4.2 cab chassis.
had a real issue with the heat buildup and fridge not working.
On hot days the heat inside the canopy was not allowing the fridge to operate very well.
For the fridge to work it needs to get rid of the heat from inside, andd the hotter external was making it impossible.
I added a wirly exhaust fan at the rear and had two inlets at the front.
Added some drainage slotted tube between the inlets and this was attached behind the roofbar. this stopped bugs and rain and dust from entering the canopy.
I added two socks over the outlets of the front vents to trap anything that may have managed to get past the slotted tube.

works a dream.

AnswerID: 503004

Reply By: Barry 2 - Sunday, Jan 20, 2013 at 17:01

Sunday, Jan 20, 2013 at 17:01
Ian & Kathleen

I am in Melb and purchased the sheets from NPS in St Albans - Ph (03) 83268080.
No mess, just a few dents in the polystyrene where items have slid. Sure saves the doors from dents.

Barry
AnswerID: 503024