Electric tankless hot water system

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 06:01
ThreadID: 100070 Views:6775 Replies:9 FollowUps:7
Hi we are trying to find an electric tankless rv hot water system with little luck not wanting gas, that runs 12v and 240v any ideas ?

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 07:48

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 07:48
We investigated all the alternatives when setting up our Oka motorhome/camper and trying to heat water with 12v is pretty much an exercise in futility, takes way too long and uses way too much power.
We ended up fitting a Webasto Thermo Top which provides hot water and central heating, we have no LPG so use a Webasto diesel cooktop for cooking. An electric jug and toaster running off the PSW inverter take care of cuppa's and toast.
AnswerID: 502931

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 10:10

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 10:10
We have a similar Webasto setup and can recommend it unreservedly.

Ours is a small storage HWS (about 15 litres, I think). Webasto makes a non-storage version now if you want to avoid the weight of a storage system, but I don't think it is instantaneous - AFAIK it needs some time to fire up and heat the heat exchanger.

FollowupID: 779508

Reply By: Tim - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 08:18

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 08:18
From an electrician POV, I'm not sure that you will find one. If you do, the current draw would be very high. Without a tank we are talking about instantaneous hot water which requires the water to be heated up within a few seconds. If you think it takes a 2400W (10A) kettle maybe 1 min to heat up a few cups (500-1000mL) of hot water (admittedly they are going to boiling point), you can only imagine how long the same 10A would take to heat up 20L for a shower, then if you add to the equation that the 20L is flowing through then you start to get some big number in terms of amps.

If someone is bothered you could calculate the actual energy required to do the job.
AnswerID: 502933

Reply By: A J - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 10:48

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 10:48
Bescat - try to google Hey Presto RV hot water - the space you gain by not having a hot water tank is taken up by the 3kva generator you will need to operate it.

A J
AnswerID: 502945

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 14:02

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 14:02
An excellent point A J.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 779537

Reply By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 14:04

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 14:04
Have a look at these mate. I don't have any personal experience of them but was talking to a caravan salesman and he said they were beginning to become widely used. They use water as required and don't heat up a tank of what often becomes unused hot water. Most shower systems in the UK are run on a similar system as it eliminates the inevitable wasted energy. The hot water is just as instant as the usual 240v systems as it is heated through an element/heat exchanger.
AnswerID: 502962

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 14:05

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 14:05
oh........the link:

http://awardrvwarehouse.com.au/ENDLESS%20HOT%20WATER
FollowupID: 779540

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Monday, Jan 21, 2013 at 15:03

Monday, Jan 21, 2013 at 15:03
That product is almost identical to a Companion.

The 40 - 60 degree water temperature rise is degrees F, that's a 25 to 40 degrees C rise if you are lucky.

Not bad is you understand that you are getting water that is "just" hot, especially on a cold day. Great for showers and maybe washing up.
FollowupID: 779687

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 14:12

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 14:12
Hi Bestcat,

Many RVs have their water heated by the engine water via a heat exchanger fitted inside the hot water tank.

I had one which I made up on a 38 foot cruiser I owned about 35 years ago. It worked brilliantly. I started the engine to charge the batteries and ran it for 20 mins and there was enpough hot water for 2 quick showers.

So in the case of an RV, at the end of a days driving there would be more than enough hot water for any use.

Is there some reason you cannot fit a tank?

These tanks can be fitted with a 240Volt element if required also.

Regards, Bruce.

AnswerID: 502964

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 14:35

Saturday, Jan 19, 2013 at 14:35
Just had a brain snap,

Search for Rezi on Ebay and you will come up with one type of what you are lookling for.

Cheers, Bruce.

FollowupID: 779543

Reply By: Echucan Bob - Monday, Jan 21, 2013 at 13:24

Monday, Jan 21, 2013 at 13:24
The best solution will depend on how much hot water you need, how hot it needs to be, and how often you use it. You'll be carting the water whether its hot or cold. My needs (shower, dishwashing) are met by a Coleman on demand water heater. It runs on gas cannisters. Being portable, it can be placed outside the vehicle when in use. If you need instant boiling water at any time there bare gas cannister fired units. The other option that has been mention is the Glind which transfers engine heat to the water. I can't imagine electricity playing much of role.
AnswerID: 503064

Reply By: bescat - Monday, Jan 21, 2013 at 19:06

Monday, Jan 21, 2013 at 19:06
We had a an instaneous in our last bus run on 12v and 240 volt and was excellent no problem with losing power didnt draw anything hardly but we cant remember the brand ,i need the unit so we can run it on power or battery ,diesel ones are ok if youre travelling what happens when you are parked up, we havent the space for a tank instaneous.
AnswerID: 503089

Reply By: Member - Keith Berg - Tuesday, Jan 22, 2013 at 16:30

Tuesday, Jan 22, 2013 at 16:30
Maybe have a look at the Duoetto
Duoetto
AnswerID: 503148

Follow Up By: bescat - Wednesday, Jan 23, 2013 at 00:27

Wednesday, Jan 23, 2013 at 00:27
we had one simular to the Duoetto it lasted one shower and blew up bit dubiash about something that small thanks
FollowupID: 779824

Reply By: mick m4 - Tuesday, Jan 29, 2013 at 10:59

Tuesday, Jan 29, 2013 at 10:59
G'day bescat.
Bunnings have a 240 volt instantaneous h/water heater for $99.00. draws 13.9 amps.I think. It is not pressure rated so could only be used on an open ended line.
that is between the tap and a shower rose. regards mick
AnswerID: 503544

Follow Up By: bescat - Wednesday, Jan 30, 2013 at 00:33

Wednesday, Jan 30, 2013 at 00:33
thanks Mick we saw them but as they are just like the one we just bought which lasted 2 showers then it s....itself we are abit dubiase about it thanks
FollowupID: 780336