PX Ranger dual battery help

I am at a bit of a loss when it comes to hooking up my second battery cabling at the starter battery. Have researched and now i am a bit confused.

Ford state that you should not take the negative from the negative terminal if you are adding accessories, it should be taken from the body earth because of the current sensor.

Other opinions are when it comes to a second battery the positive and negative should be taken directly from the starter battery.

If someone with experience with these Rangers could set me straight it would be very appreciated.

Thanks,
RA.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 08:58

Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 08:58
Hi Rockape,

I have no experience with the Ranger and its electrics, but your post intrigued me. More and more technology, and smart technology that must be treated right. The obvious way of doing things isn't obvious any more because some computer will take offense or compensate in an unexpected way! Reckon we'll stick with our 25 year old Troopy!

On a more constructive note - the current sensing is likely to be in the negative line to the battery. To take it out of contention, I'd follow Ford's recommendation and make my connection at the earthy end, not at the negative terminal. I'd also go one step further if it's feasible, and connect to the engine block rather than just anywhere on the vehicle body. This will minimise losses, because the alternator negative is connected to the block.

I googled "ford ranger px dual battery" and got lots of hits. There's been a lot of discussion on this one and if you haven't already done so, there might be some useful reading there.

Cheers

John
J and V
"Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted."
- Albert Einstein

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 504044

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 09:06

Monday, Feb 04, 2013 at 09:06