Klms from Melb - Camerons Cnr

Submitted: Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 21:27
ThreadID: 10040 Views:2262 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
Ok,

Talkin to a mate, thinkin of a 'DASH' to the corner for something to do!

So how far is it from Melbourne to the corner.

thanks

Reply By: Phil - Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 21:49

Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 21:49
www.travelmate.com.au
AnswerID: 44406

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 21:55

Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 21:55
Distance Approximate Time
From Melbourne VIC to Cameron Corner 2880 NSW
1304.37 Km 17:24 Hours

Ray, you must have measured from Geelong
If you hold your heart and focus,
you will end up holding your dream
FollowupID: 306614

Follow Up By: Mad Dog Morgan (Geelong) - Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 22:02

Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 22:02
I must be drunk Geoff but hey it's Australia Day BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
maddogmorgan@mail15.com
FollowupID: 306619

Reply By: Mad Dog Morgan (Geelong) - Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 21:50

Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 21:50
1320k's BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
maddogmorgan@mail15.com
AnswerID: 44407

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 21:51

Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 21:51
yea already done the travel mate thing, thats to Tibooburra.. how many from there.

thinking of 1 day up, take photos come home next day!
FollowupID: 306613

Follow Up By: Mad Dog Morgan (Geelong) - Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 21:58

Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 21:58
I recorded 140k's from the corner to Tibooburra going around the flooded waka claypan, would be 139 going straight across it..hows that..lol BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
maddogmorgan@mail15.com
FollowupID: 306615

Follow Up By: Mad Dog Morgan (Geelong) - Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 22:01

Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 22:01
I'll save you a swag of time and send ya my pics. You just send me the fuel money..lol BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
maddogmorgan@mail15.com
FollowupID: 306617

Reply By: Member - Alex B - Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 21:52

Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 21:52
G'day Truckster, according to 'travelmate.com.au' it's 1171k's to Tibooburra, then buy my Hema map it's another 139k's to the Cameron's corner.= total of 1310km

I'd be keen to here how you go
Alex
AnswerID: 44408

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 23:18

Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 23:18
There was a website of another dude that did it in a lux, but I cant find it!

Mate is really keen!
FollowupID: 306625

Follow Up By: Mad Dog Morgan (Geelong) - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2004 at 17:57

Tuesday, Jan 27, 2004 at 17:57
That was Ruley BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
maddogmorgan@mail15.com
FollowupID: 306683

Reply By: Mick - Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 22:37

Monday, Jan 26, 2004 at 22:37
Hello Truckster. You can certainly do it in a day up and a day back. We came back in a day - the roads are very good. Only thing that'll prevent you doing it is rain because the roads quickly become impassable and are closed to traffic. Hefty fine for trying to go on them once closed too - somewhere around $1,000.00 per wheel I think.
AnswerID: 44415

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2004 at 06:04

Tuesday, Jan 27, 2004 at 06:04
Just take care that you don't come out on the other side.Willem

Googs Lake camp
AnswerID: 44438

Reply By: duncs - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2004 at 17:32

Tuesday, Jan 27, 2004 at 17:32
Truckster,

Just talking in town (Broken Hill) today to a guy who went to Tib for the weekend and he said the road is as rough as guts at the moment. last I was up that way was Oct and it was bad then. No rain means no grader and that mens it must be worse.

Normally I would allow about 4- 5hrs to the Corner from BH but if the road is bad that could be a bit longer. Most here reckon 10hrs to Melb.

If you go check out Milparinka along the way.

Have fun
Duncs.
AnswerID: 44497

Reply By: Jeff (Beddo) - Tuesday, Jan 27, 2004 at 18:36

Tuesday, Jan 27, 2004 at 18:36
Well you have the answers to Cameron Corner - you should do the alternative route from Tib to the corner via Mt Wood, Olive Downs and Middle Road to Fort Grey. Good scenic drive !
Also there is a good drive between Tib and Milparinka thru the Gumvale Gorge and Gumvale gold battery. Call NPWS at Tibooburra for details on the above - plus they can tell you exactly what the road conditions are like at present.Cheers, Beddo
Surf KZN185
<- Yengo NP, Central Coast NSW
AnswerID: 44508