rav4 pulling power

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 12, 2013 at 11:40
ThreadID: 100505 Views:2994 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Hello, I am new on here and was wondering if peeps could provide thoughts on whether a Rav4 could pull a speed boat? I want to buy a 4cyl - 4wd, or something similar I have been looking at rav4, purely for the looks and have read good reviews that they can pull camper trailers no dramas but what about a boat? Launching, pulling up hills??? Thoughts please and I would appreciate suggestions on similar vehicles that may perform better.. Thank
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - DereelGirl - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2013 at 12:07

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2013 at 12:07
Hi Trudy, I'm no expert but I have a X-trail auto and it tows my camper (I carry a lot of stuff in it) easily. They say it has the best fuel economy and I have heard but again cannot confirm that the Rav4 is a little thirsty.
I would think that if my X-trail can pull the camper it would be able to pull a boat.
Robyn
Dereelgirl

My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 504571

Reply By: Geoff in SA - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2013 at 12:40

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2013 at 12:40
Hi Trudy

RAV4's unbraked towing capacity is 750Kg across the range. Braked towing
capacity is 1500Kg in 4-cylinder models and 1900Kg in 6-cylinder models.

Hope this helps

Regards

Geoff
AnswerID: 504575

Reply By: The Bantam - Tuesday, Feb 12, 2013 at 14:54

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2013 at 14:54
That all depends on what you call a speed boat and under what conditions you want to tow it.

I have a 14 foot front controll tinny, that weighs in at about 700Kg on trailer....YES I have weighed it......I would hook that up behind the wifes RAV and drag it down the boat ramp with no hesitation.....as long as shee was not looking.

I also have a 16 foot centre console on a trailer with over riding brakes..it weighs in at arround 900Kg......Id drag that down the ramp too.