What is a good deep cycle battery replacement

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 17, 2013 at 21:22
ThreadID: 100604 Views:4733 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Evening all,
I need to replace the deep cycle battery in the engine bay of my GU Patrol. It is currently a N70 size, but has apparently died (neglect or lack of use, I'm not sure). It recharges sufficiently to run the Engel after running the engine for a while, but does not last overnight. The battery is 2 years old. Anyway, hoping you can recommend a good replacement. Thanks in advance.

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Sunday, Feb 17, 2013 at 21:56

Sunday, Feb 17, 2013 at 21:56
I am surprised the deep cycle works in that role at all. The GU alternator probably only gets the battery to 60% charge on the alternator even after running all day. You would be better off with a marine battery or something similar. I confess I am not a battery expert, and I am sure others who are will chime in, but my experience is that deep cycle batteries are not good in this role, when charged from a standard alternator.
AnswerID: 504967

Follow Up By: Member - J&R - Sunday, Feb 17, 2013 at 22:08

Sunday, Feb 17, 2013 at 22:08
Is the battery you want to replace an auxiliary battery or the main starting battery?

Also, where are you? If the far north, eg Kimberley, deep cycle batteries only last as long as standard batteries due to a number of issues.
FollowupID: 781873

Follow Up By: carnaby - Sunday, Feb 17, 2013 at 23:54

Sunday, Feb 17, 2013 at 23:54
Hi ,
I use 2 marine pro 720 under the bonnet of my GU
And a third in the van they have lasted really well done the lap with gibb river and the cape
if one dies all being the same i can swap and always get going again
marine pro are stronger inside and can be used as starter or deep cycle as they are designed to do both
Alan
FollowupID: 781880

Follow Up By: bks - Monday, Feb 18, 2013 at 10:46

Monday, Feb 18, 2013 at 10:46
a