Why good recovery points are worth it

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 29, 2004 at 22:59
ThreadID: 10124 Views:2260 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
Was talking about recovery points with some mates and a friend pointed us to this site. Nothing like a good snatch to remove a car.

14 meg Vid clip

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 29, 2004 at 23:12

Thursday, Jan 29, 2004 at 23:12
...or part of it......
AnswerID: 44818

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 29, 2004 at 23:13

Thursday, Jan 29, 2004 at 23:13
Nice 1 Truckster looked like a nice car before the snatch & the insurance Co what would the say?

CheersPrado TD Auto
AnswerID: 44819

Reply By: Member - StevenL - Thursday, Jan 29, 2004 at 23:52

Thursday, Jan 29, 2004 at 23:52
Great clip!

Not hard to see who has Broadband around here when you are linking to 14Mb videos. Beware all you dial-up dudes - estimated download time at 56Kb/s is about 84 minutes!

3mins 34secs on Cable.

StevenLPlaydoe GXL TD Manual
It's on order, Delivery in April '04.
This pic will have to do till then. Can't wait!!!
AnswerID: 44823

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 08:36

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 08:36
Good reminder of us poor guys on dialup Steven. I have never achieved 56kb/s except in centre city on the laptop. Usually sub 30kb/s is the normal. Hope to be ISDN soon at up to 128kb/s. Awaiting Telstra.

You better post it to me Truckster.

How much reinforcement is required for the chassis and normal tow bar fitting at the rear?
How much at the front too?Regards

JohnR - Not enough of the right travelling, some here..... some over there.......
FollowupID: 306971

Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 16:49

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 16:49
Hit the link video started in 10 seconds, yesterday slower than dial up went & made coffee before next page loaded.Regards Bob
Where to next
FollowupID: 307015

Follow Up By: bruce.h (WA) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 19:03

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 19:03
thanks for the heads & here i was sitting waiting for it to load would have looked right goose if i had not read down further & i so wanted to see it
lmao
bruce
FollowupID: 307025

Follow Up By: Member - Frank - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 19:54

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 19:54
member J ohn R

My nephew and I have our own computer company

Part time (after hours) and I will give all you lads the real drum
no provider will give you 56 all the time very rarely as when too many people are on you will get packet loss at full speed but if they drop the speed 2 to 4 k you will not normally

ps they will never admit thisCBS
Cant Bl**dy Sitstill
FollowupID: 307028

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 11:03

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 11:03
Frank, am interested in your comment. The modem conect speed is one thing I know and it varies with the modem from 24,400- 28,800 and occasionally 31,200 with the lap top but has been below that too, to occasionally 33kb/s for the incomputer for the desktop. Is about 12 kms from an exchange.

Packet speeds frequently are non-existent dependent on load of the net I guess. Vary from 1.4 to just over 3 kb/s on a "normal" operating speed.

My son has got a faster download through using his mobile at 9600!! I guess it depends where ith ISP sets the priority.

I hope I get better responses with the ISDN as a friend does locally. They will need to install a repeater I understand.Regards

JohnR - Not enough of the right travelling, some here..... some over there.......
FollowupID: 307104

Follow Up By: Member - Frank - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 11:46

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 11:46
Member - JohnR posted this followup

John all modems are not the same you get what you pay for loaded vid in 3min plus few seconds

ps cable rules if can get will never go back loved the video darwin in actionCBS
Cant Bl**dy Sitstill
FollowupID: 307108

Follow Up By: Member - Frank - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 11:47

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 11:47
Member - JohnR posted this followup

John all modems are not the same you get what you pay for loaded vid in 3min plus few seconds

ps cable rules if can get will never go back loved the video darwin in actionCBS
Cant Bl**dy Sitstill
FollowupID: 307109

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 22:24

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 22:24
Frank, I have had some pretty good modems here and none better than than the line quality will permit. That has been 31,200 and occasionally 33Kb/s. One line a lot better than others. Willem has it a lot faster than my dialup line.

Cable is not available believe it or not is not available here and satellite is not much advantage til you get the expensive ones two way and higher grade. Regards

FollowupID: 307150

Reply By: John - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 00:52

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 00:52
Talk about plastic cars
AnswerID: 44824

Follow Up By: ThePublican - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 22:32

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 22:32
Made in Japan.
FollowupID: 307045

Reply By: Member - Jeffrey - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 11:13

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 11:13
Howdy Truckster,
OOOOOOch, most young'ens dont think the situation out before they do what they think is rite.It looks to me if they had of dug, kicked,gotrid of mt everest behind the car they might have made it,,,,..these blokes are certainly going to learn from the HIP POCKET NERVE..the thing we do when we are young and still learning ( Stupid ).
All The Best In Health And Wealth
Jeff
Good clip though.

AnswerID: 44838

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 20:52

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 20:52
Hmmmm...mine said 2 hours and 51 minutes download....think I'll give it a miss.

Talking about recovery points............One day in the wet season in pouring rain a bloke got bogged in a L200 ute. My co-driver got out to connect the 5000lb Warn on the front of the Suzuki to recover the L200 but the rain was pelting down so hard he grabbed a snatch strap from the back of the ute and proceeded to hook that on to my proper recovery hook on the bull bar. Trouble was that the whole bull bar setup was made from alloy and although I had gone to great pains to secure it properly to the chassis the following occurred. I reversed and gave the strap a gentle tug.....nothing happened....tugged a little harder...still no movement from the L200......decide to give it a yank and the whole bullbar, winch and spotties went flying forward, ripped clean off the chassis mount. Then we had to hoist the lot on to the roof rack and drive out through even harder rain and rising water. We left the L200 in the hole and recovered it the next day. What a mess...........

Willem

Googs Lake camp
AnswerID: 44881

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 21:14

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 21:14
Gee Willem,

That is almost the exact script of Truckster's clip only it involves a large Yank ute and a boy racer sports car stuck in a snow drift. Tug, Tug, RIP! Very entertaining though.

My 84 min download estimate is based on the industry standard of about 6mins per megabyte. Your link must be a little slower again. As the guys posted above - no-one ever gets a true 56kb/sec link. This is only the max speed of the dialup technology. I mostly get about 42-48k when I use my Optus Dial-up if Telstra Cable is non-functional (happens from time to time).

BTW, I just had a read of your web site diary of your CSR trip. Sounds like heaps of fun but alot of hard work too! Must have been a worry only having 7 litres of juice when you got to the fuel dump. I like your descriptions of some of the interesting characters you met going the other way (read - idiots). Imagine pulling a trailer of furniture through there. Wonder if they made it?

Very entertaining reading.

StevenLPlaydoe GXL TD Manual
It's on order, Delivery in April '04.
This pic will have to do till then. Can't wait!!!
FollowupID: 307036

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 22:50

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 22:50
Have a closer look Steve, I think it was staged, but went wrong, he could have driven out forward...
FollowupID: 307050

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 23:26

Friday, Jan 30, 2004 at 23:26
G'day StevenL,

I run a separate phone line for my dial-up and it only gives me 44,000bps. Then my missus' computer is in her studio down the back of the block and I run a cable to it and it drops down to 32,000bps. My normal phone line gives me 52,000bps. At one stage I cornered the local Telstra bloke in the main street and he said "You're lucky.....Telstra only guarantees 19,000bps". So.. go figure.........The only other connection we can get here in the sticks is ISDN but it is around the same cost so there is no real advantage except speed of connection.

Yep, our Canning adventure was one of a kind. Throughly enjoyed it but won't do it again. Planning a trip sometime this year out to the Western Deserts probably in August/September....will see...........

Willem

Googs Lake camp
FollowupID: 307062

Reply By: Jacs - Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 10:07

Saturday, Jan 31, 2004 at 10:07
video link 'out of order' ????
AnswerID: 44939