To buy 100 series td, year 2000 $20K or Prado150R GX Td $40K Year 2010

Submitted: Friday, Mar 22, 2013 at 23:36
ThreadID: 101246 Views:2834 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
This Thread has been Archived
Hi ,
I'm purchasing a camper trailer about 1800 Kg ATM,
The plan is to leave the vehicle and trailer at different locations around Oz and use when circumstances allow , probably about 10 days every 9 weeks. I have limited 4wd experience but will learn
do i buy a Year 2000 landcruiser 100 series turbo diesel approx. 300,000KM for about $20K or

for around $20K more a 2010 year Prado 150R GX diesel for about $40K.about 110,000KM on the clock, I have 3 young ones so reliability is a big factor in my decision, i'm not planning on doing any extreme 4x4wd but I don't want to be worried about crossing a creek or going down a dirt road either,
i guess there are are 2 trains of thought ,

1) the landcruiser 100 seriers is bullet proof even at 13 years old with 300k !!
2) the prado will have far superior technology and safety attached as it's only 3 years old

I will appreciate any comments.
John
Back Expand Un-Read 1 Moderator

Reply By: mountainman - Saturday, Mar 23, 2013 at 03:09

Saturday, Mar 23, 2013 at 03:09
spend the extra 20 on the 100series turbo diesel, that should get you around the 2003/ 2004 mark. maybe 200k's or soo.

forget the prado.
the engine is far superior in the 100 series, the prado doesnt even compare !
engines are built strong and can handle 500k with ease with correct servicing.

the 100 series will have more room than any prado on the market.

you will find thousands of people prefer the 100 series over the prado when going off road.
built tough and handle the abuse day in day out, and a great ride.

AnswerID: 507390

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Mar 23, 2013 at 07:46

Saturday, Mar 23, 2013 at 07:46
100s for me as well.

The Prado will be a tight fit with 3 kids as well, whereas the 100s will have that little bit more room.

Cheers Kev