Storage of fuel for Generator

Submitted: Saturday, May 18, 2013 at 22:26
ThreadID: 102289 Views:5665 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
This Thread has been Archived
I am new to caravanning and I am naïve.
Where do you store fuel for your generator?
to be more specific do you get one of those jerry can holders and put the container
in it and affix it to the A frame some how or do you put the container in the van's boot.
I don't like carrying fuel in the car.
thank you all for your input
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 08:04

Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 08:04
I reluctantly store mine in the boot of the van. I open the boot at every stop to let out any fumes and I make sure the water drain hole is not covered in the hope that with forward movement it will act like a boats venturi valve and suck out fumes.
I have looked at placing a jerry can holder on the back bumper of the van but I understand that as the container will have petrol in it, that it is illegal to store in this way.
Placing a jerry can holder on the draw bar is not an option.
I suppose the correct way is to have a roof rack and store it there: more wind resistance and at 71 it would be difficult for me to safely get a full container up there.
I will be very interested in other suggestions, too.
Stay well & stay safe
PeterM (Qld)
AnswerID: 511354

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 08:06

Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 08:06
Peter

You say it is illegal to store petrol on the rear bar. I am not challenmging that. Okay. What is the picture with diesel? Is it the same?

Phil
FollowupID: 789567

Follow Up By: Member - Peter M (QLD) - Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 08:28

Sunday, May 19, 2013 at 08:28
I'm not sure BUT I think as diesel is not as volatile as petrol then the possibility of an explosion following a rear ender is less. I believe it is all about the volatility of petrol.
Regards
PeterM (Qld)
FollowupID: 789568