Hummer ownership

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 25, 2002 at 00:00
ThreadID: 1025 Views:1423 Replies:2 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Anyone out there actually own or have owned a Hummer. Seeking information, considering purchase.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Steve - Friday, Apr 26, 2002 at 00:00

Friday, Apr 26, 2002 at 00:00
Are you thinking of this for the Outback or as a street 'toy' ? Wouldn't fancy trying to get one around some of the Outback tracks, as IMHO I reckon it would be too wide in the tracks to be of practical use in a lot of areas....remember that the Toyotas and Nissans are the most common work horses in the bush and the tracks are made by them and suit them best ....
AnswerID: 3154

Follow Up By: Peter - Saturday, Apr 27, 2002 at 00:00

Saturday, Apr 27, 2002 at 00:00
For outback use actually, I've been travelling all over Oz since 1974, I'm on my 6th Toyota, and apart from some overgrown sections on desert tracks like the Anne Beadell etc I don't see the width as a problem. It is only 200mm wider than a 100 series with approx the same difference in track. Given that there are a lot of Cruisers and Patrols with side rails and trays that are nearly the same width with ever larger tyres travelling the outback these days they will do most of the track clearing for me ;-)) Same width as a big Ford too.
They look wider but I suspect it is a function of the lower overall height.
Peter
FollowupID: 1253

Reply By: Gordon - Tuesday, Apr 30, 2002 at 00:00

Tuesday, Apr 30, 2002 at 00:00