Subaru Outback 2004 advice

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 04, 2013 at 20:33
ThreadID: 103097 Views:3725 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
This Thread has been Archived
Hi everyone,

Before I start I'll just say that I have very little experience when it comes to offroading, and cars in general. So forgive me if I'm asking silly questions here.

I've just purchased a 2004 outback and planning to take it to the occasional beach to do some fishing. I definitely don't plan on taking it on any hardcore 4wd tracks or anywhere crazy, and I realise its not really made for that.

I've noticed the ground clearance is average, and I've read posts about it having issues bottoming out in sand and mud, so I'm curious as to if it's a good idea to try and raise its ground clearance, what the pros/cons of doing this are, maybe a rough cost? and how to go about getting this done if it is a good idea.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, and dumb it down as much as you can!

Thanks,
Adam
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Chris_K - Thursday, Jul 04, 2013 at 20:53

Thursday, Jul 04, 2013 at 20:53
Hi Adam

We had a Subaru Outback for a few years, and had it on the beach quite a few times. Our car was a manual, with the "low range" gear reduction...not much "reducton" in the "low" range though! We looked at lifting the car, but the advice we had at the time was not to bother. The real issue is that the Outback runs out of torque pretty quickly in the really soft stuff, lift or no lift. In any case with a little momentum, it was a pretty good vehicle in the sand - two pieces of advice we received at the time were pretty much on the money :

1. Lower your tyre pressures for the sand (maybe 20-22psi) - makes a huge difference in the end. You can go even lower if you need to.