Enginesafe ems500 temperature/coolant gauge.

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 09:51
ThreadID: 103389 Views:3527 Replies:6 FollowUps:15
This Thread has been Archived
I have read their blog about their product and it sounds OK, but all ads sound OK, don't they?

Has anyone used the ems500 and is their product any good?

I looked on the net and could not find any reviews. I also searched our site under Enginesafe and did not get a result.

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: garrycol - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 10:13

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 10:13
I have no experience with the EMS500 nut do have an Engine Saver TM2 Combo - it monitors coolant level in the cooling system (sounding an alarm if it gets a little low) and the engine block/head temperature (not coolant temp) with a display and alarm.

I would not get a system that had a coolant alarm as the temp gauge in the car will do that - what is more important is the temp of the actual engine rather than the coolant and the level of the coolant.

I think another system is the Watchdog system which is similar to what I have.

Whatever you get make sure as a minimum it has a coolant alarm and a engine block/head temperature alarm - some newer ones may also have water temp, oil temp and oil pressure alarms in addition to the basic two systems.

Garry
AnswerID: 515291

Reply By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 10:59

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 10:59
hi boo-boo
I have an engine watchdog and it is very responsive I have it mounted at the rear of the block away from the fan slip stream
the rear of the engine temp rises quicker than the front when something goes wrong because of it being away from the fan
mine has saved me twice
if i had been relying on the normal engine temp gauge to respond i would have cooked the motor as they don't respond until the motor is boiling its head off and is basicly an after event read out imho