the old jaffle iron

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 10:05
ThreadID: 10351 Views:5403 Replies:7 FollowUps:14
these are the best thing since sliced bread i nearly through mine out but saved it at the death nock last minut.Since then ive used it everywhere i can, shove wot you like in it if you wont to travel light, you only need some bread and a can of your favoret mix it is excellent in the winter just put the curry in or for lunch go with the ham n cheese there must be hundreds of recipes out there for these sandwitch makersgu bush basha

Reply By: Mad Dog Morgan (Geelong) - Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 10:16

Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 10:16
Thanks for that, got onein the shes somewherd must get itout. I like thequick and easy food also BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
AnswerID: 45822

Follow Up By: Member - Tim&jan - Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 10:23

Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 10:23
MAD DOG BE CAREFULL THERE ADDICTIVEgu bush basha
FollowupID: 307820

Follow Up By: Mad Dog Morgan (Geelong) - Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 10:30

Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 10:30
Struth, gotta stop drinking so early or proof read before posting. BEAM ME UP SCOTTY

Hooroo
Ray
FollowupID: 307822

Follow Up By: macca - Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 11:32

Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 11:32
MDM, Becareful there mate,have you seen the latest government warning they are going to put on our stubbies?
" WARNING" the crumsumptem of alcahol may Mack you tink you can tipe wrealy gode .!"
FollowupID: 307831

Follow Up By: Member - Eskimo - Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 16:29

Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 16:29
itbout time tey poot somtink on the stub stub stub stub stubbie th't i can standunner er i mean unnerstandWow, am I cute! The extra long legs are built-in prevention against ducks disease. Great looks and a real goer. Doesnt waddle along like some.
FollowupID: 307860

Reply By: Diesel1 - Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 10:21

Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 10:21
I fully agree with you - along with the camp oven, a jaffle iron is a very versatile cooking implement. Years ago, I inherited an ancient jaffle iron from someone in the family and it was a beauty - someone decided one day that they needed it more than me and pinched it from my camp and I haven't been able to find one that matches the quality since.

One of the fillings I go for is apple with a bit of sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg - bloody beaut.

Diesel 1
AnswerID: 45824

Follow Up By: Member - Tim&jan - Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 10:26

Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 10:26
yeh mine is an old one with deep cuped so ya can shove heaps in itgu bush basha
FollowupID: 307821

Follow Up By: Member -Bob & Lex (Sydney) - Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 11:27

Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 11:27
How about a photo of the Bush BashaRegards Bob
Where to next
FollowupID: 307829

Follow Up By: GOB member vic - Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 21:47

Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 21:47
deisel1 if you are in melb Hillbilly cooking goods make them we have had one of threres for afew years i think they have a website but would have to wait till after wandin 4b show and get site name then

steveimagine a 03 gu 4.2tdin the picture
as i am having trouble sizing the picture
FollowupID: 307880

Follow Up By: Diesel1 - Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 08:31

Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 08:31
Thanks for the info Steve - I'm a Top Ender and rarely venture south of the Tropic of Capricorn these days - too damn cold down your way.

Diesel1
FollowupID: 307908

Follow Up By: Diesel1 - Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 08:52

Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 08:52
I found that website Steve - www.campingwithhillbilly.com - the prices are good and there is a retail outlet here in Darwin.

Diesel1
FollowupID: 307910

Follow Up By: GOB member vic - Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 21:30

Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 21:30
glad you found that deisel1 we were in darwin last august for 12 days and had a ball have got a couple of mates working up there must ring them and see how they are going with the wet
we will be back in 2 years on another trip as we love it up there

steveimagine a 03 gu 4.2tdin the picture
as i am having trouble sizing the picture
FollowupID: 307998

Follow Up By: Diesel1 - Tuesday, Feb 10, 2004 at 08:10

Tuesday, Feb 10, 2004 at 08:10
You should give some thought to visiting the Top End during the wet Steve - it's definitely at it's best and you can just go absolutely beserk playing in the mud.

Diesel1
FollowupID: 308039

Reply By: Member - Tim&jan - Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 12:26

Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 12:26
on its way when i can work out how to scan and resize it to 50kbsgu bush basha
AnswerID: 45852

Follow Up By: Member - Tim&jan - Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 14:53

Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 14:53
happy nowgu bush basha
FollowupID: 307853

Reply By: Member - Eskimo - Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 16:32

Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 16:32
we often have few cans of sardines (in tomatoe sauce of course....)a poet and didnt kow it)) and a small gas cooker and a few slices of bread and presto ...a feast fit for a king. Wow, am I cute! The extra long legs are built-in prevention against ducks disease. Great looks and a real goer. Doesnt waddle along like some.
AnswerID: 45882

Follow Up By: Member - Tim&jan - Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 23:22

Sunday, Feb 08, 2004 at 23:22
everyone to there own you can shove anything in these from cheap can food to the tables leftovers and still end up with a wicked lunch or dinner on a bleep ty night where you dont need to cook.mine wont get time to rust it will get used all the time....................time for that drink now nonnightgu bush basha
FollowupID: 307896

Reply By: Member - Frank - Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 20:52

Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 20:52
favorite recipe

one can tin steak and veg, sausage and veg what ever your preferance

12 jatze biskits crushed mix with tin dog

1 small can beaked beans mix with above

butter both sides of bread have old round jaffle iron so use pipe loaf no trimming

place on gas ring or coles cuuk tik light brown

put favorite sauce on plate and dip cooked jaffle. bite carfully its hot

ps crushed biskets take up juices you will never go back

frank

CBS
Cant Bl**dy Sitstill
AnswerID: 46055

Reply By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 23:18

Monday, Feb 09, 2004 at 23:18
Hi Folks
haven't used ours for a long while, but I used to get jaffles at a lunch shop
1 poached egg & slice ham is good can also add tasty cheese or baked beans
2 I have had ham or corned beef & salad !!!!!! when it was suggested I thought NO WAY but is very tasty & the lettuce is hot but still crisp as where the other vegies, give it a try some time.

Reminds me must get the irons back into the camp kit.
CheersPrado TD Auto
AnswerID: 46086

Reply By: silvia - Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 00:47

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 00:47
My personal favourite is ham, cheese and tomato with lots of fresh ground pepper. I saw some jaffle irons at Kmart the other day and toying with the notion of buying a set. I never cooked in an iron before (well never cooked in a camp either, there is always a first time) but it sure sounds like fun!
AnswerID: 46554

Follow Up By: Member - Tim&jan - Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 23:52

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 23:52
just do it silvia you will never look back these thing are the easyest things on the market for a quick feed brilliant when the kids get hungry at 5 and your havin a couple of beers around the camp fire and wont to eat later im yet to try a seafood cocktail with praws could be scrumptiousgu bush basha
FollowupID: 308552