WARNING 12 volt inverters

Submitted: Friday, Aug 16, 2013 at 00:04
ThreadID: 103817 Views:2841 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Took my inverter on a recent trip. but it "died" while charging a rechargable camera battery and taking out a "hard to locate" fuse.
On reading the fine print, it warned against charging such items, "as damage may occur", so a lesson learnt.
Pays to read up sometimes.
Cheers
Ian

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Candace S. - Friday, Aug 16, 2013 at 07:12

Friday, Aug 16, 2013 at 07:12
I presume you're talking about the little device you plug into a 12-volt power outlet (aka cigarette lighter) on an automobile? I've been using one of those for many years to recharge camera, computer, cell phone, and satellite phone batteries and never had a problem. Maybe I've just been lucky?! It actually blew a fuse on the vehicle? Interesting, thanks for sharing this.
AnswerID: 516472

Reply By: The Bantam - Friday, Aug 16, 2013 at 07:33

Friday, Aug 16, 2013 at 07:33
There are a host of risks associated with inverters and how they get used, but so many people just don't want to know.

Yes, so many people have just been lucky.

By far best if you can charge direct from 12 volts, and most battery powered devices can be charged direct from 12 volts these days without the extra complications and risks of an inverter.

One thing that is sort of inverter related and sort of not is the ability and suitability of factory installed ciggy lighter sockets.

Originall the cigarette lighter socket was designed to deliver the fair amount of current requited to light a ciggy but only for a very short time and it was never designed as a high quality 12 volt accessory connection.

more recently they have been added as accessory sockets, but the wiring is invariably light and they always share fuses with other functions.