12 volt kettle

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 08:59
ThreadID: 103954 Views:5222 Replies:12 FollowUps:11
Have just purchased a Waeco 12v kettle for on the road stops,MCK 750ml,takes 28 mins to boil,power is as required in handbook,any one else had this situation and resolved any issues ?

Reply By: toffytrailertrash - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 09:12

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 09:12
You cannot beat one of the little single burner gas cooktops and a kettle for boiling water. I looked at the Waeco and decided against it for that very reason.

Merv
AnswerID: 516759

Follow Up By: Mike S2 - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 09:48

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 09:48
Thanks Merv,got one of those cooktops,felt that an upgrade in technology was overdue,what a disappointment,looking for refund see how I go.
FollowupID: 796202

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 09:41

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 09:41
28 minutes is nothing, according to Waeco :-o)..... "boils in no time at all". Have to agree with Merv.... the small black camping stoves are a dead set industrial design classic... cheap as chips, highly effective and fast.....28 minutes for 750ml is of little use to campers....not safe to have on in advance, while mobile..... refund ?
AnswerID: 516762

Follow Up By: Mike S2 - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 09:50

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 09:50
Thanks also to you Darian,refer to reply to Merv,cheers
FollowupID: 796203

Reply By: Phil B (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 10:04

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 10:04
Hi Guys
Try one of these

See here for more. There are others brands around Eco- billy and Dingo from memory.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 516763

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 13:13

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 13:13
We have one of the original Eco-Billy 1.5lt kettles and love it, we use it all the time when travelling.... a hand full of small sticks/twigs and your away. It boils quicker (less than 3 minutes) than the time it takes to make lunch.... and it works fantastically on the fire.

Most friends we travel with also use the Eco-Billy.

We also have a high tech expensive gas burner that we use if cooking on the go.

Electric kettles are a thing of the past and a waste of money.

FollowupID: 796221

Follow Up By: Member - Wozikev - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 13:22

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 13:22
Hey Phil - have you got one, is it reasonably rugged and are you happy with it? I ran into an old character at Niagra Dam years ago and he had a home made one (galvanised) and he knocked me up a brew in a matter of minutes. They're just so amazingly fuel efficient, and half a shovel of coals does the trick. I always look after my gear, but they need to be reasonably robust and travel well. I didn't know they were available commercially, you've done me a great favour. I will do some more homework on the 3 litre model I think.

Thanks heaps Phil and fair weather. Cheers................. Kev
FollowupID: 796224

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 13:32

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 13:32
Our Dingo stays in the dmax and is used all the time.

Would not go back to the canister stove.
FollowupID: 796227

Follow Up By: Phil B (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 15:13

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 15:13
Hi Kev

Yes I have one - a Royce, very pleased with it but the metal is a bit thin - so can't just toss it into the back of the vehicle. Maybe Eco Billy or Dingo is more robust.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 796243

Follow Up By: Member - Fab72 (Paradise SA) - Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 14:07

Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 14:07
G'Day .. I also have the Eco Kettle...the large one. Saved me a buck load of $$$ when we went on our outback odessey with the kids. Can't beat 2 minute noodles and Easy Macs for lunch.
As stated, it boils on a handful of twigs, leaves or a couple of sheets of newspaper.

In other situations, it can be used on top of a gas burner by covering the centre hole (boils even faster) OR if no leaves etc are available, a piece of Jiffy fire lighter..

Cool down time is super quick too, meaning you can throw it in the car and go.

Fab.
FollowupID: 796361

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 12:38

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 12:38
I find no reason to own a 12v kettle. I do own a couple of the little butane stoves..
great bit of kit. I wouldn't consider a Royce type kettle either..too expensive & fiddly.
So what about the "on the road morning Cuppa" ?? I didn't invent this solution but
use it all the time. No quicker way either..???
Yep, that's right...the old fashioned Thermos flask..filled at breakfast time when time
isn't an issue. Not many households don't have one in the cupboard. If not..go & buy
one & have that brew in an instant...no gas..no fire..no problem..all at minimum cost.
cheers....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 516777

Reply By: member - mazcan - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 12:45

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 12:45
hi mike2
yes I bought one and used it twice
pain in the butt slow and heavy draw of current even just boiling 2 cups of water instead of filling it up
ditched it for the little gas canister single burner
they are a gem of an invention and much quicker
and cheap to buy now and run
in 2005 when they first came on the market
it cost me $64 you can buy 3 for that now with bonus cans of gas
AnswerID: 516778

Reply By: Rangiephil - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 13:11

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 13:11
Have a look here if you want a specific quick boil.
http://www.wildearth.com.au/buy/jetboil-sol-titanium-premium-cooking-pot-system/jsol-ti?kpid=7215&gclid=COSJle6Fi7kCFQMwpAodAUEADQ

2 minutes 15 seconds for 0.5 litre.
I just use a small kettle on my camper trailer stove.
Regard sPhilip A
AnswerID: 516780

Follow Up By: Rangiephil - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 13:17

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 13:17
BTW just be aware that screw in disposable canisters are like hens teeth once you get into the boonies. I couldn't find any anywhere in outback SA and AFAIK, the first I was able to find were in Darwin.

I was able to buy an adaptor in Kmart( the last one) that adapts the screw in fitting to fit the cheapo aerosol type containers sold cheap by Woolies etc. I only use them for "mood" lighting as SWMBO loves a lamp at dinner time.
Regards Philip A
FollowupID: 796222

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 23:06

Tuesday, Aug 20, 2013 at 23:06
Pricey for a cuppa :O

Working link Jetboil

Gas burner works for me where-ever. One lightweight camping kettle, one heating method for all cooking.

FollowupID: 796306

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 08:12

Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 08:12
Over the years there have been various gadgets that tried to boil/water/make coffee while you were on the go. The better ones tended to be self contained so you didn't spill them. As far as I recall, none were ever any good. All took too long. Attempts to get faster ones drew too much current and caused electrical wiring problems.
AnswerID: 516833

Reply By: Winner W - Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 08:53

Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 08:53
I got a 12v from Anaconda for $40 , took ages to warm, never boiled. Got a $15 one from super cheap and it boils 750mls in 5 minutes . Seldom use it . Little gas stoves are good but sometimes the 12 v is good while you on the go on a smooth sealed road and dont want to stop to boil water
AnswerID: 516835

Follow Up By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 15:00

Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 15:00
hi winner w
nah! smooth sealed rd or not I decided after 1 trial to not boil on the go in case I had to slam the brakes on and then risk a scolding from the elect kettle contents
I was severely scolded at 4yrs old and havent forgotten those burns chose your consequences as they say
FollowupID: 796365

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 17:56

Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 17:56
Unfortunately there just isn't enough electrical energy avaiable to boil 750ml in 5 minutes Winner.

FollowupID: 796378

Reply By: Winner W - Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 15:40

Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 15:40
Yep, the reason why I dont use mine. Maybe nice in a Campervan in a secure spot in the back or so.
AnswerID: 516850

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 18:07

Wednesday, Aug 21, 2013 at 18:07
At a practical level re-wiring the input cable and taking it direct to battery will reduce the time by around 30%.

If you like to play with stuff then there is something else you can do Mike but I don't reccomend it unless you know the issues.

You can simply use a voltage converter to run the unit off higher voltage.

In practise you will only be getting some 11v into the heating element but if you up the volts to 16v at the element then you will get around twice the heat.

Unless you fix the cable plugs etc in the whole chain you will probably burn something out though.
So as I said I don't reccomend it but then some switch there dual batteries to 24v to power the winch for 10 seconds and turn it off just before it burns out.

AnswerID: 516857

Reply By: Member - Paul T (NSW) - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 08:03

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 08:03
Hi Team

We boil the billy either on the camp fire or on the gas each morning while we are standing around gaving brekky. We then filll the thermy (2ltrs) with the piping hot water. Instant hot water for smoko and lunch. Even in cold weather the water is hot at around 4pm.

Paul T
AnswerID: 516940

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 08:09

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 08:09
Mike, your experience demonstrated the futility of trying to use 12 V power in heating applications. Generally we can not carry large enough battery banks to use electric power to heat things. This includes the heating element in 3 way fridges (which does not need nearly as much power as boiling water.)

AnswerID: 516941