My 4wd bounces when towing van

Submitted: Monday, Sep 02, 2013 at 11:03
ThreadID: 104154 Views:12998 Replies:10 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
My 2011 Ford Ranger 4wd twin cab bounces in the back on rough roads when i'm towing my 16" Jayco Discovery single axle. I'm new at towing vans. I dont use WDS as i was told its not necessary. Any ideas how to stop this ?? The Ranger has got standard suspension. Sitting in the front seat its not bad but the passengers in the back feel it the most.
Caravan GCM 1700
Ball weight 120kg-160kg

Thanks
Bob
Back Expand Un-Read 1 Moderator

Reply By: blown4by - Monday, Sep 02, 2013 at 11:28

Monday, Sep 02, 2013 at 11:28
Assuming your ute shockies are OK, it sounds like you may have insufficient weight in the ute section of the twin cab allowing the rear of the tug to bounce or too much draw bar weight. Assuming you have the weight distributed evenly in the van with some draw bar weight for towing stability, a WDH would probably be worth a try. I assume you mean ATM 1700kg when you say Caravan GCM 1700.
AnswerID: 517512

Reply By: disco driver - Monday, Sep 02, 2013 at 11:33

Monday, Sep 02, 2013 at 11:33
Hi Bob,
My 07 Mazda extracab was doing the same thing and I put it down to the long distance between the back axle and the tow ball giving a bit of extra leverage.
Using an old rod type WDH has reduced it to an acceptable amount.

Hope this helps.

Disco.
AnswerID: 517513

Reply By: Thinkin - Monday, Sep 02, 2013 at 11:46

Monday, Sep 02, 2013 at 11:46
Hi Bob 5,

Sounds like your suspension might be bottoming out, you might need to look at a suspension upgrade and shocks. (not suggesting airbags).
You don't say how many kilo's load in the twin cab you have.
Strange ball weight figures ( 120- 160kg), have you actually weighed the ball hitch? you should have one precise number.