Which older BT-50 for slide on?

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 08, 2013 at 13:41
ThreadID: 104235 Views:1695 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
Hi,

I'm an older member, joined ages ago and then had to shelve any camping plans for some time, we'd like to finally give it a go and so we're looking to buy one of two older BT-50s. One a 2007 3.0l 4x4 & the other a 2008 2.5l 4x2. Both single cab chassis

I'll be using this as my day to day vehicle but the primary reason for a ute is to carry a slide on camper, fairly old and battered but free! & so i'll spend a bit of time renovating it for summer. Due to family restrictions & special requirements we'll be visiting established campsites only i.e. no offroading other than gravel track.

This is our first real foray into utes/camping etc. since coming to Australia so i've very little knowledge or experience (or much in depth knowledge of motors in general!)

Both vehicles are in similar condition, similar KMs, $$$ etc.

Are either of these vehicles significantly better than the other? Better suited to the task? Any particular reasons why?

Thanks for any help

C.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Ross M - Sunday, Sep 08, 2013 at 19:29

Sunday, Sep 08, 2013 at 19:29
G'day Charlie & Helen
The 4x4 3L would be my preference, while the 2.5 is a sweet engine the 3L will have more torque to haul the load/wind resistance.

The availability of 4wd may very handy when in some rougher areas or slippery conditions ie wet gravel and greasy roads.

Is the 3L an auto? I think the 2.5 came out in manual only, where the 3L has more options. Not sure of all options available though.
AnswerID: 517833

Reply By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 08, 2013 at 20:35

Sunday, Sep 08, 2013 at 20:35
Charlie