folding solar panels 1 vs 2

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 06, 2013 at 23:15
ThreadID: 104612 Views:3516 Replies:6 FollowUps:16
This Thread has been Archived
hey guys just a quick question am looking at buying some folding solar panels and have found a seller on ebay recommended in another thread on this site that I like but it is actually cheaper for me to buy two 120w kits rather that 1 220 watt kit both come with regulators and I would get and extra 2 or so amps going with the two separate panels could they both be hooked to the battery simultaneously?
also are there any disadvantages to have two separate panels as opposed to one?

im new to solar so there might be something simple im missing but it seems that if two are cheaper than one and produces slightly more amps they would be the way to go.
these are the two options
220watt

120watt

look forward to your feedback thanks guys
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: trev h - Monday, Oct 07, 2013 at 02:03

Monday, Oct 07, 2013 at 02:03
I have a 140watt rich solar kit and later on purchased an extra 100watt panel, the foldup provides more than enough power ( approx 7-8 amp's closed circuit) for the fridge and 7 50cm led lights and the bildge pump shower. The extra panel only gets used if its a little cloudy or batteries need a little more ooomph.

The kit has been faultless but I did remove the contoller on the back and remounted it closer to the batteries ( If I can do it anyone can really easy and well worth it)

So it would really depend on your requirements and batteries etc etc but keep in mind the space they take up when your not using them
AnswerID: 519299

Follow Up By: psychonaught - Monday, Oct 07, 2013 at 23:34

Monday, Oct 07, 2013 at 23:34