Fuel mileage terminology

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 17:04
ThreadID: 10482 Views:2804 Replies:14 FollowUps:35
Being of the generation brought up on MPG I have gradually accepted metrification, though I still carry a conversion chart so I can arrive at meaningful (for me) figures.
Now I find that the usual formula of l per 100k is being overtaken by kms per litre.
I don't think I can handle the trauma of another major change in this lifetime, and I'm tiring of the mathematical challenges of yet another conversion.If you knew how much stress this is causing me, I'm sure you'd all embrace the universally accepted terminology,or then again, maybe not!
Regards. Mijochka

Reply By: Jimbo (WA) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 17:18

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 17:18
mijochka,

I take it from your post that you keep track of your fuel economy. If you do, and if you have Microsoft Excel, I have made up a simple sheet that I use to record fuel figures in three different formats - MPG, lt per 100 km, and km per lt. All that is required is to enter the litres used and kms travelled each time you fill up.

If you want this emailed to you just let me knowCheers, Jim

"Lead, Follow.....or get out of the way!!"
AnswerID: 46476

Follow Up By: 10 Para- Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 17:57

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 17:57
Hi Jimbo would love that one as well if you have the time
brian@thereadhroup.comGoing soon can't wait
FollowupID: 308363

Follow Up By: Member - Frank - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:09

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:09
jim

I am an old fart too can you send it to me

frankCBS
Cant Bl**dy Sitstill
FollowupID: 308366

Follow Up By: Member - Frank - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:11

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:11
sorry no adress on thatn one

cbs@senet.com.au

thanks
CBS
Cant Bl**dy Sitstill
FollowupID: 308368

Follow Up By: Member - Frank - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:11

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:11
sorry no adress on thatn one

cbs@senet.com.au

thanks
CBS
Cant Bl**dy Sitstill
FollowupID: 308370

Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:34

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:34
Frank,

Done!

Brian,

Your email address doesn't appear to be working.Cheers, Jim

FollowupID: 308375

Follow Up By: 10 Para- Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 19:02

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 19:02
Sorry Jimbo don't know who i am brian@thereadgroup.com wish i could type without the glasses " the handbrake rekons i am not good with them either"
RegardsGoing soon can't wait
FollowupID: 308387

Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 19:12

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 19:12
Brian,

Is done... is good!Cheers, Jim

FollowupID: 308392

Follow Up By: Member - Bear - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:06

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:06
Jimbo

I would also appreciate a copy if you could

blundell69@optusnet.com.au

Bear
BEAR
FollowupID: 308409

Follow Up By: Member - Bear - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:07

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:07
Jimbo

I would also appreciate a copy if you could

blundell69@optusnet.com.au

Bear
BEAR
FollowupID: 308410

Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:42

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:42
Bear,

on the way!Cheers, Jim

FollowupID: 308420

Follow Up By: Moneypit - Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 02:01

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 02:01
Jimbo,

Oldies unite.

To

sbrierley@westnet.com.au if you could please.

Thank you.

FollowupID: 308441

Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 11:29

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 11:29
Dave,

Sent this morning.Cheers, Jim

FollowupID: 308468

Follow Up By: Moneypit - Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 20:59

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 20:59
Thank you. Simple and effective for what I needed.

FollowupID: 308526

Reply By: Roachie - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 17:23

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 17:23
Mate,

I'm with you. Although I was born mid 50's and grew up on MPG; I have tried bloody hard to accept l/100klm as the new measure....and I've done okay too. I keep records in a book every time I fill up. At the right side of the double page I now have 2 columns headed up "l/100klm" and "klm/ltr". Every few months, I take the book inside and get out the calculator and work out both figures.
There is no way I could ever go back to MPG and I'm stuffed if I know how people can still refer to that terminology when they talk about their consumption....after all, the fuel bowser is calibrated in litres and the odometer is in kilometres. I'm a bloody bank manager, so I'm used to doing calculations; but why the bloody hell would I want to sit down and work out how many miles I've done for a certain number of klicks and then work out how many bloody gallons of juice I've just bought???
What else could we do to complicate our lives???? Oh! I know!! We could then work out how much it cost us to fill the tank in pounds, schilling and pence and go on to calculate how many schillings per mile it's costing us run our trucks.

Or would it be better to devise a whole new set of calculations.....say "furlongs per fortnight", instead of Klm per hour??
LOLOLOL
AnswerID: 46477

Follow Up By: mijochka - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 17:49

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 17:49
Jimbo.
Thanks for the offer, but I've already got a conversion chart which is "ruffenuf" for when I want to revert to that portion of my brain which still equates to MPG. I'm OK with lper 100k, I just get p.....ed off when the other, non standard formula, is quoted. One of the foibles of advancing years is a reluctance to accept change.
Regards.
Mick
FollowupID: 308360

Follow Up By: 10 Para- Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 17:59

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 17:59
What about sorting out the tires while you at itGoing soon can't wait
FollowupID: 308364

Follow Up By: Roachie - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:07

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:07
Yeh Brian...

I'm working on that one too. The current formula seems to have more to do with voodoo than anything else. Why the bloody hell would they quote the size of a tyre as partly metric and partly imperial???

It just doesn't make sense.

So to work out the diameter of a 265x75 R16 we have to multiply 265 x 0.75 x 2 then divide that by 25.4 and add on 16" to come up with 31.649" or multiply that by 25.4 to come up with 803.9mm.

Why couldn't they stay with 31 x 10.50 R 15.... for crying out loud!!

FollowupID: 308365

Follow Up By: 10 Para- Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 19:05

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 19:05
Hi Roachie,
This site might help you on the tires bit its a tire size calculator

BrianGoing soon can't wait
FollowupID: 308390

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 20:33

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 20:33
Tires instead of tyres, now my head really hurts!
FollowupID: 308399

Follow Up By: Poida4x4 - Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 03:19

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 03:19
Tyres = Aussie
Tires = Yank
FollowupID: 308443

Follow Up By: rolande- Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 11:13

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 11:13
Yes, I know! Can no-one take a joke.
FollowupID: 308465

Follow Up By: farmer - Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 11:26

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 11:26
If everyone just stuck to L/100km all of us 40 plus plus would cope, but when you start seeing Km/ L well just another clump of hair falls out ( haven't got to much hair to spare now) Probably if things had started with km/L it would have been easier for us to change from mpg. ie just dived L into km like galls into miles.
Just for interest when you talk about the height of someone do you say he is around 6 foot or around 1.83 m. I reckon there should have been a metric foot ( 30cm ). A 6 ft 2 person would be 6 metric foot 5 cm or 6 mft 5.
FollowupID: 308467

Follow Up By: 10 Para- Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 13:21

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 13:21
Roachie just reading the thread back and i forgot to send you the ite for the tyres here it is below

http://www.miata.net/garage/tirecalc.html

Regards BrianGoing soon can't wait
FollowupID: 308477

Reply By: Max Boyley - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:06

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:06
mijochka

I am ancient too, but was lucky enough in my job (as an engineer) to learn how blooming easy it is to use metric. I have had the rule of thumb that when some clown quotes mpg I divide it in to 280 and it gives a rough enough figure in l/100km.

However, people who want to quote km per litre just baffle me. Why bother??

If you have a sign board saying its 150 km to the next fuel, and you know you are doing 15 l / 100km, then its real easy to work out that you need 15 litres of fuel.

However, when someone insists, the conversion is easy enough in the head - divide the number into 100. Happliy our generation can also do mental arithmetic!But it would be easier not to have to!! Try looking pained - it won't help but you might feel better!!
AnswerID: 46482

Follow Up By: Roachie - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:10

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:10
Sorry Max, but it's gunna take you 22.5 litres to do that 150klm to the next fuel stop....LOLOLOL

Cheers mate,

FollowupID: 308367

Follow Up By: David O - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:38

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:38
Litres per 100 kilometres is superior to kilometres per litre. Why? Better precision. Most people don't use decimals to quote fuel consumption, they say my car gets 7 kilometres per litre whether it gets 7.1 or7.5 or for that matter 7.9 especially around the campfire after a couple of beers.

Now 7.1 kilometres per litre is 14 litres per 100 kilometres whereas 7.5 kilometres per litre is 13 litres per 100 k and 7.9 litres per kilometre is 12.7.

Stick with litres per 100k

I grew up with miles per gallon too, but as a chemist I have always used SI units and it is just as easy once you get the hang of it.

FollowupID: 308377

Follow Up By: Max Boyley - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:44

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:44
Woops - pays to think. Yep - 22.5 litres

:-D
FollowupID: 308381

Follow Up By: 10 Para- Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 21:25

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 21:25
Just need to go furthur on lessGoing soon can't wait
FollowupID: 308403

Reply By: Member - Eskimo - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:29

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:29
if you can afford a 4wd i dont know why your worried about how much fuel you use.

but i like mpg and carry a calculator with me if i really need to work it out. Having said that I use metric formulaue for airconditioning heat loads....double dutch gone haywire eh?

Buy a calculator and sit down with a beer to relieve the stressWow, am I cute! The extra long legs are built-in prevention against ducks disease. Great looks and a real goer. Doesnt waddle along like some.
AnswerID: 46485

Follow Up By: David O - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 19:01

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 19:01
You think A/C is bad, I am a gliding instructor, yes you know the aircraft without engines, no not the ones that look like kites, the ones with really long wings!!! :-)

we measure height in feet amsl
distance in kilometres
rate of climb in knots
speed in knots

now if I fly at 40 knots how long wil it take me to travel 50 kilometres?
and how fast am I climbing if I take 2 minutes to climb 300 feet?
and then from 3000 feet with a glide ratio of 30 to 1 can I travel 10 kilometres, and will i arrive above 1000 feet?
Jeez beats me??????
FollowupID: 308386

Follow Up By: David O - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 19:04

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 19:04
You think A/C is bad, I am a gliding instructor, yes you know the aircraft without engines, no not the ones that look like kites, the ones with really long wings!!! :-)

we measure height in feet amsl
distance in kilometres
rate of climb in knots
speed in knots

now if I fly at 40 knots how long wil it take me to travel 50 kilometres?
and how fast am I climbing if I take 2 minutes to climb 300 feet?
and then from 3000 feet with a glide ratio of 30 to 1 can I travel 10 kilometres, and will i arrive above 1000 feet?
Jeez beats me??????
FollowupID: 308388

Follow Up By: Member - Frank - Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 20:05

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 20:05
I thought I saw a ehred where the duck needed extra fuel to cook some muCBS
Cant Bl**dy Sitstill
FollowupID: 308512

Reply By: Surf - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:36

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:36
Try this link, it does all the work for you www.hicloneqld.data.htm. Perhaps Hiclones do serve a useful purpose after all?
AnswerID: 46486

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:07

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:07
Hi Surf,

That should be http://www.hicloneqld.com/data.htm

or click here

StevenLPlaydoe GXL TD Manual
It's on order, Delivery in April '04.
This pic will have to do till then. Can't wait!!!
FollowupID: 308411

Reply By: Russell [Pajero] - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:47

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 18:47
Try

http://www.euronet.nl/users/grantm/frans/fuel.html

Russell
AnswerID: 46488

Reply By: bazza - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 20:26

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 20:26
g'day jimbo - any chance of obtaining that info please /

bandjh@dodo.com.au

thanking u kindly
AnswerID: 46500

Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:45

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:45
Bazza,

It's on the way!Cheers, Jim

FollowupID: 308421

Reply By: Member - StevenL - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 21:47

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 21:47
G'Day all,

Found a great site today while surfing for Camper Trailer Hire here in Adelaide.

Desert Access Equipment Hire

Gives some simple formulas and also a handy conversion chart between L/100KM and MPG.

Has some pretty good gear for hire and sale too! Long term camper trailer hire (6 weeks or so) works out at about $17 a day. Thought that was pretty good.

AnswerID: 46515

Reply By: Roachie - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:32

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:32
I'm sorry blokes, but I still don't get it??? Why would you go to the servo and buy 100 litres of fuel, drive 600klm and then want to sit down (even with the most simple formulae in the world) and change that into: "How Many Miles I Travelled For Every Gallon Of Fuel I Used".
As I said before, I was born mid 50's (okay....1955) but I can't remember now whether 30mpg was good/average or crap economy. However, I know that if I getting 14 litres per hundred klicks, that's not too bad for my old banger.
I know for bloody sure that I wouldn't like to go back to "pounds/schillings/pence days" and that's what you're trying to hang on to, even by bothering to calculate back to MPG.
Just my opinion.
AnswerID: 46538

Follow Up By: Member - StevenL - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:51

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:51
Roachie,

I don't watch it like a hawk but it's good to know what it is using as an early indicator of need for servicing or working out range.

MPG is important when talking to my 60 odd year old father who hasn't quite converted yet! Also if you are talking to guys of his generation it helps to know what they are talking about so you don't look like a complete dufus!

I went for a job in a timber and paint store at a TV studio not that many years ago in the set making workshop. During the interview the manager asked me if I was familiar with feet and inches and gallons. I was able to say yes and then he actually quizzed me and asked me how big in mm was a 6 x 4 sheet, how wide was a 2 inch paintbush ect. Most of the tradies in the workshop were older guys and spoke mainly in old measure. I got the job. That was only in 1990. I still work there but now I manage the finance computer system and the workshop is an outsourced memory. Ah, progess!

If I did not have command of "the old money" I may not have got that job and not have the career I now have.

FollowupID: 308424

Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:51

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:51
Roachie,

I for one DON"t want to be stuffing around with converting and formulas etc. I too was bought up on MPG, however I "think" in ltrs per 100 kms.

But that doesn't change the fact that in normal every day conversations you'll say "I'm getting 11.04 ltrs per 100 kms" and you'll get the response "what's that in MPG" ; or "what's that in km per ltr?"

By keeping my records in this format I have the info I want, and can readily access the two other main means of measurement without any effort at all.

I suppose it's like everything else, "to each their own"

BTW, I'm following your stuff about the compressor and tank and cut-off valve etc as I'm going down that track myself soon. Keep the good ideas coming!Cheers, Jim

FollowupID: 308425

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:45

Thursday, Feb 12, 2004 at 22:45
Seeing as many on this thread admit to being from the MPG generation I would state that "why would you worry about what mileage you are getting from your vehicle? " You should by now have enough money to go where you want to be, without worrying about how much fuel you may be using. Anyway if you want to convert your figures back to MPG then multiply the kilometres travelled by 4.55 then divide by 8 and mulitply by 5. This will give you MPG. Driving along in the bush without a calculator you will keep your grey matter working for quite a few kilometres:-))) My old truck uses the same amount of fuel most of the time. 5km/l or 14.2 MPG.......it doesn't matter...I go where I want to and budget accordingly.

Cheers,Willem
Out on the Gibber
AnswerID: 46541

Reply By: Mike - Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 10:18

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 10:18
Jimbo,
if not to late and not streaching a friendship too much, can I please, please also have a copy emailed to me
mrowlands@ozemail.com.au
AnswerID: 46574

Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 11:37

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 11:37
Mike,

On the way!Cheers, Jim

FollowupID: 308470

Reply By: Hoffy - Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 11:46

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 11:46
10 Para I noticed from the photo of your Nissan you have a rear mounted HF aerial. Is the bracket you use a commercial one or is it home manufactured. I am looking at at doing a similair job on the back of my Pajero for an Amateur Radio HF antenna. Any details would be appreciated. You could email me on hoffmann@usq.edu.au if you like.
Keith
AnswerID: 46584

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 12:59

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 12:59
I was just going through the end of primary school when the "metrification" was about 2 years away, so I learned both. I still say someone is about 5'10" and 75 kg.... or 177cm and 12 stone.... or 1.77m and 170lb. and can happily convert "on the fly" depending who I am talking to.

10l/100km = 10 km/l = 28.5 mpg.....unless you are talking US gallons, or nautical miles ;-)
AnswerID: 46589

Reply By: Member - StevenL - Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 15:21

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 15:21
Don't forget that this whole metric/imperial thing was what caused one of the Mars spaceceraft failures. The mission was a joint effort between NASA and the European Space agency. There was a full technical explanation but the short story was along the lines of:

"Landing parachute was programmed to be deployed at 1000 metres above the ground but due to confusion with units was actually programmed to deploy chute at 1000 feet (about 300 metres) thus impacting the ground at very high speed".
Result: $500 million dollar pile of debris!

Why can't the whole world agree on one system? Just look at the way we describe Tyre and Wheel measurements eg:- 265/70R16 is 265mm wide 70% high Radial tyre to fit 17 inch rim.

Madness!!

AnswerID: 46602

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 20:52

Friday, Feb 13, 2004 at 20:52
....and more than a couple of airline accidents between US and Canada (litres rather than gallons!)
FollowupID: 308522