navigators

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 27, 2013 at 14:45
ThreadID: 104883 Views:1755 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
This Thread has been Archived
Hi Guys,I have had no experience with on board navigators.How accurate are they away from major cities and regional centres especially up the west coast?Also are they easy to use or are maps the better option?
kman
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Herbal - Sunday, Oct 27, 2013 at 15:05

Sunday, Oct 27, 2013 at 15:05
They are very accurate.

They work via satellite, so yes, they will work in remote areas...In fact anywhere they can see a satellite, which is pretty much the whole of Earth.

They work via GPS, Global Positioning System. GPS is owned by the US Department of Defence. As the world changes, ie roads are built or closed etc, so too does the info stored at the base GPS station. This means that they need to up date their information from time to time.

Most on board navigators (car GPS) download maps and work off them. All they do is "talk" to a satellite for exact position. For this reason, you need to download new maps from time to time. So look for a GPS that offers FREE lifetime maps !! Otherwise, you will have to pay for map up dates !! My GPS is Garmin, with lifetime free maps. I noticed a few days ago a Navman advertised with lifetime free maps...So shop around.

Ease of use ?...about as hard as posting to this forum ! You can just turn it on, and it will tell you where you are, yes tell you! They speak...Type in the address (yes right down to house number) and it will talk you through the entire drive. It will tell you when to turn and give you notice of up coming turns. You can even program it to take you home, or any other place...So if you get lost and can't remember the name of the caravan park or camp ground you are staying on, you can simply press "home" and the GPS will guide you to safety :)
AnswerID: 520442

Follow Up By: Herbal - Sunday, Oct 27, 2013 at 15:09

Sunday, Oct 27, 2013 at 15:09