to snorkel or not to snorkel

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 08:09
ThreadID: 105159 Views:2481 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all. I have recently purchased a 2001 Gu patrol 3.0l. My local mechanic says to put a snorkel on. I would probably drive approx. 5000km a year on dirt road. Would a snorkel be worth the money. He also suggested a turbo timer. I'm new to this game so go easy on me.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 08:20

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 08:20
Instead of a turbo timer, I just let mine idle a bit after a long run to allow cooling. I have the engine temp on a scanguage to check.

I fitted a snorkel and was amazed at the change in inlet air temp hitting the engine (also on scanguage) It gives considerable temp drop compared to normal engine bay inlet. Having a higher inlet, I believe it helps with dust in air filter.

Alan
AnswerID: 521568

Reply By: Member - Andrew L (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 09:03

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 09:03
gibberj, ...have you ever read anything about the early GU Patrol ZD30 engines..?
Do you have any history on the vehicle/engine..?
AnswerID: 521573

Follow Up By: gibberj - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 16:59

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 16:59
Yes I know about the 3.0l problems. I know the history of this patrol as it came from a relative. Oil and filters done every 8000km. it was a bitumen bus. Also has the N.A.D.S. installed. The 4.5 was difficult to find and the Toyota didn't interest me.
FollowupID: 802310

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 10:00

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 10:00
Hi gibberj