VW Amarok In the Simpson

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 18:46
ThreadID: 105168 Views:11107 Replies:13 FollowUps:33
I have been giving this vehicle a bit of attention, no I can't afford one ..(need lotto) but I like them .

VW Amarok TDI420 Trendline review

Reply By: equinox - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 19:46

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 19:46
What's wrong with the Troopy Doug? Trading it in? :-)

AnswerID: 521616

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 14:55

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 14:55
No mate ...not trading it in, it's only just ticked over 780,000 , I thought I better check the oil after 7000 Ks after the last oil change, it only needed a litre , I have changed oil every 10,000 since I got it , I always add NULON to the sump and to the gearbox/Transfer and diffs. it is still using original diffs and Uni joints. I don't work it as Pilot/Escort any more, the last job it did was the Fetlers house from Katherine to Adelaide River before I came down to Orange.
Yes I would get something new if I had the money but I haven't, geez I might kick the bucket before Troopy does...

FollowupID: 802401

Reply By: Nutta - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 19:51

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 19:51
I can't stand the thought of the puny little motor, imagine 2 - 3 tonne on the back.
AnswerID: 521617

Follow Up By: Nutta - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 20:21

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 20:21
And the roller skate wheels!
FollowupID: 802335

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 21:11

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 21:11
That puny little motor out performs most other dual cab utes.
FollowupID: 802341

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 22:43

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 22:43
for how long will be the question. VW have had a lot of trouble with auto transmissions, though Im not sure if this extends to Amarok also.
FollowupID: 802346

Follow Up By: Nutta - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 22:43

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 22:43
Hmmm, maybe from the 80s!
FollowupID: 802347

Follow Up By: Ron N - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 23:40

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 23:40
The VW auto transmissions that have been giving trouble are the DSG (Direct Shift Gearbox) transmissions that are effectively an auto without a torque converter.
These transmissions use electronically-operated, dual wet concentric clutches in conjunction with two manual gearboxes, along with a heap of electronics to control all the shifting automatically.

They were designed by Borg-Warner, who then sold the idea to VW. These transmissions have been one of the most unreliable components that VW have ever produced - and when they blow up, as they do on regular occasions - you'd better go see your bank manager about an overdraft.

VW have recalled 25,000 DSG-equipped VW's in Australia to replace the DSG's electronic control unit (the "mechatronic" unit), after they were inundated with thousands of angry owners complaining about the transmission disengaging involuntarily.

In Sth Africa, VW have recalled thousands of DSG-equipped cars to check that they are using the correct oil. Some owners have used synthetic oil, which makes the DSG fail.
Overall, VW scored 12th and last on a list of car manufacturers who sell cars in Australia, for customer service satisfaction. VW have promised to lift their game, but it may be too late for a lot of VW owners.
FollowupID: 802349

Follow Up By: Ron N - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 00:14

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 00:14
I forgot to mention the Amarok doesn't have the DSG. It has a standard clutch and sliding-gear manual transmission, and the top of the range model now has a proper ZF 8 speed auto (with a torque converter).

Here's the Amarok owners website (below). There's some interesting stories on there. They appear to chew out a lot of belts in quick-smart time. The consensus is that around 50-60,000 kms is the life of the fan belt. There are 7 pages of discussions around the various Amarok problems under "servicing and warranty".

http://www.ausamarok.com.au/forum/forumdisplay.php/18-Servicing-and-or-Warranty-reports?s=54b848e7323d7c39be8dd9abf5e4a578
FollowupID: 802350

Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 00:14

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 00:14
These gearboxes are not fitted to Amoraks so this line of discussion relating to the DSG is not relevant to this topic.
FollowupID: 802351

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 00:28

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 00:28
Its still of interest Gcol, and considering the lengths the Australian owners had to go to receive similar warranty service, its a subject i would consider closely if looking to buy one
FollowupID: 802352

Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 06:24

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 06:24
There's a fair record of the ZF's throwing torque convertors off the amaroks on the same forum. That is the reason we bought fords because the amarok is a nice ute otherwise. Shame they managed to bog empty utes - what were they doing? I wouldn't be raving too much about that economy either, my last auto Colorado nearly got that on the French line loaded to the gunwales and with 4 people on board?
Like all VW's, I'd have a new one but it'd be gone before the warranty ran out.
FollowupID: 802354

Follow Up By: Echucan Bob - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 08:46

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 08:46
Nutta,

the Amarok out guns the Prado and Hilux for torque and power, and has bigger wheels (8" v 7.5" and 6"). But, hey, don't let the facts ruin an otherwise informative contribution.

FollowupID: 802362

Follow Up By: Nutta - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 08:57

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 08:57
The patrol copped a hammering with the 3.0litre for being too small so this can't be any better.
FollowupID: 802365

Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 09:17

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 09:17
You can't be serious. That was just a dud motor in the patrol and the navara. Go and test drive an amarok and you'll forget what displacement the motor is. They drive well.
FollowupID: 802367

Follow Up By: Nutta - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 09:47

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 09:47
I am serious, I'm not talking about the grenading, I'm talking about eveyone moaning the motor was to small for the weight.
FollowupID: 802371

Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 11:50

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 11:50
Nutta - as said you cannot be serious - don't let the facts get in the way of a good story. The Nissan had issues related to other factors not its 3 litre size. I have a 2.7 TDV6 pulling around 2.5 tonnes when not towing and it performs better that most other vehicles including the single turbo Toyota TDV8. The three litre version of the same engine outperforms the twin turbo Toyota engine - and well the 3.6 TDV8 version ......

It was not the 3litres of the nissan engine but its well known issues and low state of tune. The 2.7 Nissan was lugging around the same weight and while not the greatest powerhouse around it is a pretty reliable combination.

Along with this little 2.7 engine doing well with big weight, there are plenty of other marques like VW with smaller engines that are all able to do their jobs very well.
FollowupID: 802384

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 16:05

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 16:05
Just an observation guys, I have seen few, if any, sprinters make good marathon runners! Long live reliability!!
FollowupID: 802405

Follow Up By: Ross M - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 19:26

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 19:26
VW Amarok does not have a "sliding gear" manual transmission.
That style went out of use when crash boxes died out.

All gears in most gearboxes are merely a sleeve which locks over a spline collar for whatever gear is selected, hence a ratio selection.
FollowupID: 802428

Follow Up By: Ron N - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 21:33

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 21:33
Ross - Yes, my apologies. Meant to put "constant mesh". I had just been talking to a mate about vintage crawler transmissions, and still had "sliding-gear" stuck in my brain!
FollowupID: 802446

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Nov 19, 2013 at 14:15

Tuesday, Nov 19, 2013 at 14:15
Agree with GBC on the Amarok, sounds great but I wouldn't want one outside of warranty. I am up to 200,000 clicks on my Hilux and the servicing is so cheap and affordable. As for any German car outside of warranty they can be expensive to maintain.
FollowupID: 802501

Reply By: Ross M - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 19:57

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 19:57
G'day Doug.

Good fuel economy as expected but the statement,
"Each ute's fuel gauge optimistically shows about a quarter tank remaining; precise refilling reveals one has used all but 6.5L and the other nearly 13L" is a bit worrying.

1/4 of 80 litres is 20. One had 13L left and the other 6.5L but they read similarly?

The 13L is close to 1/8th of the tank and the 6.5L is well below a 1/8th. or under 3/16ths and the other a bit over 1/16th.

It would pay to get to know the fuel gauge.
AnswerID: 521619

Follow Up By: Axle - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 20:17

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 20:17
Lol Ross!,.. If the thing stopped you would need to know someone that was half educated in the assembly of the fuel system, prefabley a mate from the factory or there abouts!

FollowupID: 802334

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 20:26

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 20:26
But perhaps more importantly is the somewhat significant variation in consumption between two identical vehicles.
FollowupID: 802336

Follow Up By: Ross M - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 22:56

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 22:56
They didn't appear to carry much load because they had backup vehicles.
I see they forgot to mention the load and the economy of the backup vehicles which would begin to be realistic.
It didn't show if they were standard.
Really a PR exercise.
An empty or near empty Dmax or Colorado might do quite well too.

I remember reading about Dmax doing runs in the Simpson, not sure if from one side to other but they used slightly more than half the 76L in 400km in the desert.
FollowupID: 802348

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 20:10

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 20:10
Love the old lifted Beetle. It has almost as much clearance as the Amorac. Bob.
AnswerID: 521622

Reply By: Ron N - Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 20:28

Sunday, Nov 17, 2013 at 20:28
Just remember what the racers say, Doug - only milk comes in 2 litres! [;-)
AnswerID: 521624

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 20, 2013 at 10:18

Wednesday, Nov 20, 2013 at 10:18
I know that referencing racers is probably a little OT, but aren't Formula 1 going to be 1.6 litre next year, & if my memory serves me correctly, they were getting 1000hp out of 1.5 litres back in the early 80s.

FollowupID: 802557

Follow Up By: Ron N - Wednesday, Nov 20, 2013 at 11:10

Wednesday, Nov 20, 2013 at 11:10
Shaker - They sure can get the HP or Kw out of small cubes if they try - but the question is - for how long? [;-)

That's what most people are looking for in a vehicle purchase - longevity and reliability.

We could all drive dragsters, too - but they rebuild their engines after every race! I seem to recall the life of an F1 engine is 500kms??

I've got a firm belief that's been regularly proven over 45 yrs I've been around engines, and owned engine-powered stuff (a lot of it!) - and that is - you can't get the same engine life out of an engine that's 2/3rds the capacity in a comparison test, and producing the same power as an engine that's 50% bigger capacity - despite what salesmen and sales women try to BS to us, about "high technology", "better materials", "better design" etc, etc.
FollowupID: 802560

Reply By: andoland - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 06:36

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 06:36
I did a trip across the French line and then across the Madigan line earlier this year. In the group were a 150 series Prado, a current Masda BT50, a GU patrol and an Amarok.

All vehicles were heavily loaded. The Amarok did the trip just fine and used the least amount of fuel of all vehicles.

AnswerID: 521635

Reply By: olcoolone - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 11:49

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 11:49
Before ordering our Ranger we test drove a Amarok, could not wait to get back to the car yard and give it back.

Interior reminded us of a 1970's-80's Volvo 240 series and the lack of power down low made hard work driving it..... hate to know how it would go loaded up towing.

$1000 for bluetooth for our phones was a big ask.

Lack of dealer support around Australia and availability of spare parts would be a concern.

And all the sales man could keep on saying was they used them in the Dakar..... but he couldn't answer how much they spent to keep them running and how much VW paid the organisers to use them.

BTW we are not aligned to one vehicle manufacture and we buy what best suits our needs at the time.

Any review like this has to be taken with a pinch of salt as it does not represent real driving.

AnswerID: 521650

Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 12:34

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 12:34
Hi olcoolone,
Everyone has to use the vehicle that suits their needs therefore each has a preference.
Mine is the Amarok and I have tripped, from Brisbane, around Tasmania, Cape York and just returned from Victorian High Country towing a Vista RV Crossover. Had a little glitch when it broke a serpentine belt outside Jindabine but was fixed in Canberra after marvelous Service from VW.
I don't feel the need to denigrate other makes just because they are not my choice of vehicle.
By the way the car, loaded and towing averaged 11.66km/l
Kev
FollowupID: 802389

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 18:33

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 18:33
No body is degrading anything...... one persons view should be taken seriously if they have had something to do with what the subject is.

To many become defensive over a stupid thing like a vehicle and many seem to take it personally. If you think your Amarok is good them it's good and you should not be concerned what others think.

Ones choice to not buy a certain make or model can be seen as degrading and just because I don't like it doesn't mean everyone else should.

FollowupID: 802421

Follow Up By: Nutta - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 20:21

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 20:21
8.6 litres per hundred is pretty good economy.
FollowupID: 802439

Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Tuesday, Nov 19, 2013 at 08:36

Tuesday, Nov 19, 2013 at 08:36
Hi gents,
Nutta it was 11.66 I would be extremely happy with figures around 8.

Olcoolone,
I think that's what I said
Kev
FollowupID: 802466

Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Wednesday, Nov 20, 2013 at 08:03

Wednesday, Nov 20, 2013 at 08:03
I know it proves absolutely nothing and its not intended to but it's a bit of a laugh.
Kev

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=RQ8dIuJoKFw
FollowupID: 802551

Reply By: Ron N - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 13:26

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 13:26
The Amarok has been on sale since early 2011. That's 2 1/2 years to make a big dent in the huge light commercial market in Australia. This market is the biggest boom market behind SUV's at present.

Amarok roared onto the scene, talking about "Dakar winner", "proven in Sth Africa", "built with legendary German strength/quality/features", etc etc - but after more than 2 1/2 years, Amarok sales are running at less than 600 a month, and struggling to increase that monthly sales figure.
You have to ask why. If they are the ultimate light commercial, as VW would have us believe, wouldn't they now be selling 2000 units a month, and wouldn't there be a major wait list??

Hiluxes are still top of the wozza at around 3300 units a month (admittedly, Toyota chase the fleet and mining markets. However, VW can't seem to break into these markets. Could there be a reason for this? Would it be "total cost of ownership"?).

Navaras are selling at around 2000 units a month and the Triton is right up there with the Navara at around 1970 units a month.
Nissans are pushing 0.9% interest deals and Tritons have a major price advantage over all the commercials, so I guess these are factors in these two models sales figures.

Holden Colorado is running around 1700 units a month, a good figure for any light commercial, and this is probably because of Holdens backing, with service, warranty and parts availability.

The Isuzu D-Max is running at around 900 units a month, and this is still 50% better than the Amarok - however, the lack of Isuzu dealerships must play a part here. The "truckiness" of the Isuzu is what loses it sales, I don't think the vehicle is any less worthy than the top sellers.

The Amarok wins on ride and interior comfort, quietness (lots of insulation), looks, and a reputedly-better fuel economy from the smallest engine of any of the light commercials.

However, I come from the "no replacement for displacement" mob - and one thing I've found, with a small capacity diesel, is that they provide good fuel economy under light load - but push them hard, and fuel economy will be as bad as a engine twice its size.

In addition, VW customer service has been appalling - and parts and service costs, and overall robustness and reliability of the Amarok, long term, are still suspect. No-one has had an Amarok "in the field" for 5 yrs yet, doing "hard yakka".

One much-vaunted motoring report had a "long-term test" of an Amarok - they got it with 700kms on the clock, and returned it with 3000kms on the clock, after touring around the suburbs with the family on board. What a joke.

My experience with European vehicles is that their parts costs are substantially more than any other vehicle from other countries - that many European designs of their small, important components, are infuriatingly cheap and "plasticky" (remotes that fall apart, levers and switches that break regularly, plastic radiator tanks that have outlets break off, and way too many other annoying weaknesses) - and all these combine to make "total cost of ownership" over an extended period of time, considerably more than other brands.
AnswerID: 521659

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 16:23

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 16:23
Ron

You obviously have industry info. What are sales figures for Ranger and BT50?

FollowupID: 802407

Follow Up By: Ron N - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 17:13

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 17:13
Rocco, sorry, I forgot to include the figures for the Ranger and BT-50.

Sales for the Ranger have been gradually increasing on a monthly basis through the year, from just over 1700 units in May, for example, to 2027 units sold in October 2013. However, the increase may be related to improved supplies of the model in recent times,as compared to earlier in the year.

The Mazda BT-50 is struggling to get above 1300 units a month, with about 1250 the average. They have a big celebration every time they crack 1300 units a month.
No-one I know likes the BT-50 styling - there's nothing you can say for it, its just plain fugly - and this seems to be reflected in the sales level.
Mazda are just content to crow about the fact they are soundly beating their 2012 BT-50 sales levels, which averaged 987 units a month over the whole of 2012.

The Labor Govts announcement of the removal of the FBT tax on vehicles sent the fleet and business vehicle sales into a tailspin, with about a 6% overall drop in sales - and light commercials were badly affected.
The Abbot Govt has been slow to make it clear they wouldn't proceed with the Labor FBT proposal.

Surprisingly, private purchases almost made up for the FBT fiasco, with a 4% increase in private sales overall, thus saving the day for the car industry.
Overall, annual vehicle sales are heading for another record year, so things can't be all that bad.

Cheers, Ron
FollowupID: 802412

Follow Up By: NTVRX - Wednesday, Nov 20, 2013 at 09:32

Wednesday, Nov 20, 2013 at 09:32
Ford Ranger/Mazda BT 50 won RACV award.....how many units a month are selling?
FollowupID: 802555

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Nov 20, 2013 at 10:20

Wednesday, Nov 20, 2013 at 10:20
Interesting read, thanks Ron.
I am surprised that the Amarock figures are so low and given all the talk of how far behind the 8 ball the Hilux is and that they are losing sales in the mines to other variants that their figures are still holding well which must be very annoying to the other brands.
I was speaking with aToyota fleet sales person about the Hilux and asked if the Ford Ranger was giving them grief but she said the one that they seem to come up against teh most is teh Amarok, go figure.
FollowupID: 802558

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 14:36

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 14:36
I own a VW Trendline Auto and I love it.
I had a problem with the climate control and that has been rectified.
Have done over 25,000 kms since I got it in March and it has handled everything I have asked of it.
The 2litre motor is fantastic.
I went on a trip in July / August from Katherine to the tip of the cape and back again towing a camper trailer.
Nothing would stop it and it gave me an average consumption of 12.09 l/100km. My old patrol would have struggled towing in the same conditions and returned about 16L/100 kms.
Some people are put off by the small motor. I researched that before I purchased the vehicle. That motor has been used in the transporter for years and has been extremely reliable.
I also drove a number of vehicles before making my choice. At work I have driven Hi-lux and 70 series cruisers. Neither of those vehicles compare to the Amarok.
I am surprised at is the low sales of the Amarok. I am also surprised at the high sales of the Hi-lux. There is no comparison between the vehicles. The Amarok is a better vehicle in every aspect. I guess the reason is brand loyalty.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 521664

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 15:38

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 15:38
A good friend ,real fussy sod, assessed all the dual cabs before buying a Mazda. He
dismissed the Navara & Triton for poor ride & comfort. The hilux for being old school.
Didn't mind the Colorado/Isuzu. The Amorok was his choice for ride, finish,comfort,
power looks etc etc. He loved it..but didn't buy it. As a van owner he just couldn't get
his head around the little motor. Maybe he was wrong, & reports from owners on this
post are good. But there is a lot of negativity on other sites & the sales figures are poor. If I was in the market I still wouldn't buy one. I think the difference in work
& leisure use of dual cabs has a big effect on sales figures. The tradey will be happy
with a Triton/Navara or even a Great Wall. They only have to last the length of the lease or warranty. Miners buy Toyota. So do Cockies, but they also buy Colorado & use the Holden Dealer network for service. The leisure buyer usually wants to tow
something, wants comfort & space & economy too, & many want to tart it up with bolt
on stuff. So they buy the high spec models of their choice, many consider the Aust.
wide availability of parts & service very important in that decision.
Me ? Still trying to wear out a petrol Jack..so only an observer...:))))...oldbaz.
AnswerID: 521670

Reply By: Ron N - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 17:59

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 17:59
Has anyone checked out the maximum recommended "factory" fording (wading) depths of the various 4WD commercials?

Ford Ranger - 800mm (actually factory tested, and they're happy to show the test pictures)

Mazda BT-50 - 800mm

Hilux - 700mm

D-Max - 600mm

Colorado - 600mm

Amarok - 500mm

Navara - 450mm (Nissan are refusing to quote fording depths for Australian models, this is off a Sth African site)

This is quite an eye-opening variation in fording depths, and both the Amarok and Navara come out of this specification badly.
It indicates the manufacturers are not prepared to back up their vehicles in a situation where a number of electronic components could get even slightly wet.

The Euro 5 specification of the VW engine sees it equipped with a particularly complex "catalytic coated diesel particulate filter".
This CCDPF is fitted close to the lower part of the engine, after the turbos, and contains a number of electronic sensors and actuators - which are all tied in with proper engine operation, of course.
Fording a moderately deep creek and getting copious amounts of cold water onto these exceptionally hot electronic components, would appear to me, to spell the start of lots of trouble, with a capital T.

http://www.volkspage.net/technik/ssp/ssp/SSP_336.pdf

I'd hazard an educated guess that there's plenty of creek crossings in Northern Australia that would void your warranty on the spot, with an Amarok, or a Navara.
AnswerID: 521677

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 21:04

Monday, Nov 18, 2013 at 21:04
If VW can make their vehicles more reliable, then they would earn more sales. I speak as a VW Tiguan owner who follows the VW owner forums and would buy an Amarok if they could get it right.

Sales are down across the board because of world wide recalls - the latest was announced a few days ago and affects 16,000 Amarok vehicles in Australia: Link Here

The Amarok owners have been less than impressed by the serious teething problems that would see you retrieved on the back of a truck:
- fan belts that strip after 25-40k
- broken timing belts (and trashed motors) due to a timing cover problem that has since been fixed
- automatic trans torque converter failures
- clutch slave cylinder and master cylinder failures leaving you with no clutch (and needs gearbox removal to access the slave cylinder)
- leaking injector pipes (see recall)
- The manual vehicles stall easily on takeoff.

Add to this
- limited clearance, once you add the necessary sump guard
- small tyres for the size of the vehicle
- poor departure angle once towbar is fitted
- The presence of a $4000 DPF that eventually blocks with time
- VW electronics that need a VW specialist to interpret. You even need the electronic reset when you replace the rear disc pads.
- And the electronic handbrake - how does that work in an emergency situation? It is just a parking brake!

Having said all that, they are a nice vehicle - best looking ute around, great finish and well laid out inside.
AnswerID: 521687

Reply By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Nov 19, 2013 at 19:13

Tuesday, Nov 19, 2013 at 19:13
The Amarok is pretty capable off road. Gees Arm South track near Kurrajong is no cakewalk but this one seemed to handle it ok....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=clWLYWCDrHI&feature=youtube_gdata_player
AnswerID: 521733