Planning ahead which car to buy

Submitted: Monday, Nov 25, 2013 at 22:06
ThreadID: 105262 Views:2233 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all
I have been reading posts on this forum for a while now but this is my first time posting something on the forum so pardon me for any mistakes.

As the subject says I'm planning ahead which car to buy next to avoid to getting stuck with something that it is not the right product for me.

So here is the setup that we (me and the Mrs) have in mind:

For short trips/high country rough tracks = Car, swag, small fridge and a Jerry Can of water

For long trips and holidays = Car and Tvan

The car we would like must be/have:

-Wagon
-Solid Axles
-Auto
-Drawers (I need them to carry my working tools)
-Outback spares at hand

So far I'm tossing between Nissan Patrol (possible engine swap to V8) or Toyota Lancruiser 76 Series converted to auto.

I'm aware that the Toyota will be dearer ($20k) but I still like to hear your thoughts on this two options.

Thanks a lot
Max
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Nov 26, 2013 at 07:00

Tuesday, Nov 26, 2013 at 07:00
Hi Max

Firstly hope you enjoy it here...

We have a VDJ79 Series Dual Cab which is just being finished off for long range outback travel and we tow a TVAN. The set-up works well for us. Some pictures in my last blog...

A friend of ours has just purchased a new 76 Series and also tows a TVAN. Last weekend was spent out and about and both vehicles performed well...

My only suggestion is to have a clear picture of what you want the vehicle to do and work from there...

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
AnswerID: 522114

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Tuesday, Nov 26, 2013 at 07:14

Tuesday, Nov 26, 2013 at 07:14