Perth to Adelaide trip - basic fishing tackle I should take

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 30, 2013 at 23:57
ThreadID: 105326 Views:2942 Replies:7 FollowUps:18

What essential fishing tackle should I have in my kit for a 2 month trip along this stretch of coast?

I don't have a boat - will be fishing from the beaches/rocks

So far I have:

10 foot surf rod
7 foot rod
Small eggbeater reel
5" Alvey reel and a big eggbeater reel
A few sliding floats, hooks, swivels and sinkers

My fishing experience is fairly limited (caught a few herring, and bream and flathead in estuaries), but I'm hoping to change all that :D. I want to make sure I'm carrying the essentials for a trip like this though, I'd hate to go all this way and not bring the right stuff.

1. What is a good, basic selection of lures I should take (I know very little about lures)?

2. Should the Alvey go on the surf rod, or a big eggbeater, or should I take both?

3. Anything else I should absolutely bring? (trying to keep it to the essentials...my car is small!)

Reply By: Member - DOUGLAS L - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 01:16

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 01:16
G,day James all what you have stated is good,Exept i would get rid of the alvey mate as your going in to some big fish country down there and the alveys are good but they are tiresome to work, use your big eggbeater, as for lures i would use some plastics there not to bad, but you cant go past the mulie or pilchard that is if your fishing in the ocean, If its the murray river your thinking of then i would be looking at trying to get and old dip tin tie a piece of soap or an old chop in it and catch some shrimp and yabbies, there good tucker to cobb,And the fish are biting well along the murray. Get your self some No 3 and 5 gang hooks and you wont miss to much cobb, Good luck and all the best, Douglas
AnswerID: 522394

Follow Up By: Chris v4 - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 15:34

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 15:34
soap is illigal
FollowupID: 803479

Follow Up By: rotor138 - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 17:06

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 17:06
Can you quote the relevant law that makes it illegal Chris v4?

When using soap make sure it is unscented otherwise they won't be attracted to it.
FollowupID: 803489

Follow Up By: Chris v4 - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 21:29

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 21:29
talk to the National Parks
FollowupID: 803514

Follow Up By: Member - DOUGLAS L - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 23:03

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 23:03
soap may be elegal but i reckon thats for the poms mate
FollowupID: 803519

Follow Up By: rotor138 - Monday, Dec 02, 2013 at 08:33

Monday, Dec 02, 2013 at 08:33
Can't quote anywhere it's written? Just hearsay?

What if the waterway is not in a national park? Is it still illegal?
FollowupID: 803526

Follow Up By: Chris v4 - Monday, Dec 02, 2013 at 09:11

Monday, Dec 02, 2013 at 09:11
not hear say . do your own home work.
FollowupID: 803527

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Dec 02, 2013 at 09:15

Monday, Dec 02, 2013 at 09:15
just unsure why you would want to use soap anyway.

theres plenty of stuff to use that works just as well

for instance the salted pilchards weve mentioned will catch yabbys, chook pellets in a stocking, cat food, a snag -- whatever

absalutly no need to use soap - thats just silly given the alternatives
FollowupID: 803529

Follow Up By: Member - DOUGLAS L - Monday, Dec 02, 2013 at 12:42

Monday, Dec 02, 2013 at 12:42
people i grew up in the murray districts, and it is a sure way to catch a feed if the need arises it was just a suggestion only,and if you go through your law books regarding what baits you can and cant use, you wont see that in there But you will see that chicken pellets in some states are not allowed so why all the bitching over someones blog to help out,jees i can understand now why a lot of fellow travellers want to stay out there alone and get away from the know alls
FollowupID: 803543

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Dec 02, 2013 at 13:35

Monday, Dec 02, 2013 at 13:35
the piont is the detremental effects of saop on waterways is well documented and given theres about 100000000 different types of bait that will all work equally as well it just defys any kind of logical belief someone would suggest soap when theres 100000000 different more environmentally friendly options

yabbies are bottom feeders they will feed on just about anything with no preferences

and no I dont believe the story your about to trot out about having 6 nets and the only one catching anything had soap in it
FollowupID: 803547

Follow Up By: Member - DOUGLAS L - Tuesday, Dec 03, 2013 at 01:23

Tuesday, Dec 03, 2013 at 01:23
you have to be a know all pom who the hell said any thing about 6 nets you nerd
FollowupID: 803579

Reply By: landseka - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 10:47

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 10:47
Get onto fisheries website for both WA and SA to see what fish you could expect to catch, how to identify them (eatable or not) size limits of those fish and bag limits.

A tape measure wouldn't go astray and a camera to record the BIG one.
Will you be keeping some? You have a fridge / freezer?

One trip I had a long beach rod and for a laugh I tried casting some bait off the cliffs in SA near the border. I don't think my bait was even reaching the water cos you can't (don't) get close enough to the edge to tell.

Are you going down the coast from Ceduna to Pt Lincoln? Well worth it, you may make friends with a caravaner in a park with a boat and get out into some King George Whiting. Best eating fish in the sea in my opinion.

Have fun.

Cheers Neil
AnswerID: 522406

Reply By: Herbal - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 12:17

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 12:17
For your kit...What you have listed plus -

A fillet knife and steel along with a stone. A general (bait knife).
Tape measure. You can get fiberglass ones that are salt water safe.
First aide kit including some side cutters capable of cutting the largest hook you have.

First, the Alvey question... Is the rod made to take an Alvey reel ? To tell, the butt of the rod should be quite short. That is the length from the butt (blunt end of the rod) should be only a few inches from the reel seat. The stripper guide should be quite large compared to the other guides. The stripper, is the first guide up from the reel. If the rod does NOT have these two features, then it is not designed for an Alvey reel.

There are some very good videos on youtube and I believe also on the Alvey web site showing how to use an Alvey correctly... Even if your rod is not designed for an Alvey, you can of course still use the Alvey on it...So to answer the question, take both the threadline (eggbeater) and the Alvey.

Lures... Because you are still learning, I would suggest some basic soft plastics. Hard body lures take some learning and are more intended for specific situations. As a "starter" kit for soft plastics, have a look at a Gulp re-charger pack. They are about $30. BCF or any good tackle store will know what you are asking for if you just ask for a Gulp recharger pack. Ask the staff to show or explain to you how to rig the soft plastics using jig heads. Then select 2 or 3 different size jig heads to put in your tackle box.

Some one mentioned bait (as apposed) to lures. Whatever bait you take, make sure it is salted. You can buy salted pilchard. Any other bait you can salt yourself. You need a plastic garden sieve and a bag of salt. Simply put in a layer of salt in the sieve, then layer the bait then cover with more salt. Wait 2 or 3 days and remove the bait...Done, salted ! A 25kg bag of pool salt is about $7.50 at Bunnings and they also have the sieves. A lot of juices come out, you can collect it in a bucket under the sieve and it makes a very good "recharge" solution ;) Salted bait does not need to be kept in the fridge. You can simply keep it in any old container or plastic bag...it will not go off.

Fishing can be as simple as you want, or it can be an absolute science...My almost 50 years of fishing have taught me one thing above all other lessons - KISS. Keep It Simple Stupid method.

So your last question is very difficult to answer... To KISS it, I would absolutely grab one of those 300 or 500 piece starter kits. Gillies do a few different sized starter kits complete with a Plano tackle box.
AnswerID: 522411

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 15:24

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 15:24
James most of it has been covered, but if you leave the alvy at home I would buy a Shimano 6500B reel.

It is a really good one. Their around the $190 mark if you can afford it.
FollowupID: 803476

Follow Up By: Herbal - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 17:02

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 17:02
Agreed...One cannot go past a Shimano when it comes to reels.

A 6500B might be a bit of over kill for a beginner...I assume you are talking about a baitrunner ? I don't know of any other Shimano with 6500B other than a baitrunner... A specialised reel designed for a specific purpose...??? I have a 4500B and 2 GXB80's (you can google that ;) ).

James has asked for some basic advice. He is a learner...Give him a brake...James has his kit already, and it sounds OK to me !!! He just wants to know if anything else might be needed for a 2 month stint across the bight...a surfboard maybe hahaahahahahah !!!

There is nothing wrong with an Alvey. I have 3 of them. Sure they take a little learning....about 5 minutes on youtube !!! and that is it...That is the learning curve...5 minutes on youtube!
FollowupID: 803487

Reply By: get outmore - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 15:19

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 15:19
ok as far as tackle goes. if you want to keep it simple a selection of star sinkers and hooks. I find size 6 hooks are a good size for small fish like leather jackets, tommies, whiting etc

also 1/0 hooks which are good for decent sized fish and also gangs of 4/0 hooks

now you will be spending a fair bit of time away from bait stores so what i do is get a sturdy plastic bag like some sort of rubish back and get a block of pilchards. you defrost the pillies enough to seperate them and put them in the bag along with 500g-1kg of salt which you can buy home brand of from the supermarket for almost nothing

the pillies will easily last a week now and toughen up instead of getting soft and mushy

if your intending on fishing off rocks like around talia, elliston and streaky bay also foam floats are good. unfortuanatly decent foam floats are almost immposable to find in WA.

I used to have an alvey and was so much happier when i pulled it off and chucked it in the bin replacing it with big long cast eggbeaters which are les than $50.

forget lures if you want to catch fish
AnswerID: 522413

Follow Up By: Herbal - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 16:36

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 16:36
You almost had me hooked there, get outmore.... I had to delete my reply three times before I realised you have typed in jest... You did speak in jest, didn't you?

I had to seriously think about your salting method...I agree, it would make the pillies easy last a week. But that is more like a dry-ish brine rather than a salting.

The idea of salting is to remove the water content...Pillies are not gutted. So using a bag like that would allow them to soak in the water extracted, albeit salt water, the guts will rot...

James, if you want to salt yourself (I mean your bait not yourself;) ) use my suggested method above. The pillies will be salted and dry. A few might still have enough water to cause the guts to rot, but it will take months for that to happen. Most of them will last years if need be !! Dry salted will last month after month with no fridge or ice.
FollowupID: 803483

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 18:14

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 18:14
no its not jest and yes ive done it countless times and no they dont rot

ive kept them for up to 2 weeks - after this time they can start getting a strong smell - its not a rotting smell just a strong fish smell

besides if there kept for 2 long like this you do start removing too much of there moisture and they go too stiff and cardboardy and lose thier fish attraction somewhat

one thing I did forget to add is every day or so just try and tip out excess juice

it fair dinkum takes me minutes on my way out of town to prepare them. what takes the longest is waiting for the pilchards to defrost enough to seperate them. If you spend a bit more and get IQF pillie its as quick as throwing them in the bag, chucking the salt in , jostling it a bit to get the salt amongst all the pillies and awaqy you go.
I chuck them in a 25l esky no ice to contain any excess juices that may leak through the bag
FollowupID: 803494

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 18:29

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 18:29
should add the whole idea is not to have them too dry as would happen in your method,
for starters the less moisture means the less fish attracting smells will waft off the bait (thats not to say you still wont catch fish with them)
. and second by excessivly drying the pilchards they become stiff and carboard and can behard to put a hook through.

this can all happen with the mothod I use but it takes longer - pretty much after a week useability starts decreasing

also for shorter trips where I salt them in the morning and am fishing by the afternoon they can be a bit mushy and its not till the next day they get thier firmness. after that there at there peak for about a week.

agreed for very long trips with no bait a more studios method of salting would be advantageos but as i said Ive used my method for over 10 years now on countless fishing trips. with no issue

these days however im just as likely to end up with too much bait as I tend to use these pillies to catch whiting, mullet or tommies which are usually proliffic in the surf and use fillets of them as bait
FollowupID: 803495

Follow Up By: Herbal - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 19:40

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 19:40
It is Sunday...I am drinking beer...Cos if I don't drink it someone else might...and I cannot have THAt !!!

That strong fishy smell is oil...Salting removes the water...the oils remain !

Along with the water some oils and other good fishy stuff is also removed. This can be collected in a bucket or other container under the sieve. You can then use that watery-oil-other stuff-fishy mix as burley, or to taint your lures....It is very high in salt content and will last for years upon years...:)

I actually add Ultrabite to my pillie extract for the X factor. Note - not sure if I am allowed to say that - but that is what I do.

I will see your 10 years and raise you to 50...

I have no question about your salting method other than it sounds like a dry-ish brine. As I said before, even with careful dry salting, some rotting will happen with pillies (unless you want to gut them) because of the gut. I just don't see how your salt dry-brine is going to get into the gut. Even commercial salted pillies are frozen to reduce the gut rot affect....Actually, I think they call them brined and not salted.

James has asked for tips for a 2 month trip. Although I most certainly do not disagree with you, because what you are saying is sound, James is asking for tips to cover 2 months.

I actually like your idea. I will give it a go. Your suggestion of a week or maybe 2 weeks life of the bait, is OK....If it does start to rot before then I will just throw it in the crab pot and turn it into dinner. ;)
FollowupID: 803502

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 20:19

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 20:19
he wouldnt have need for bait for the whole 2 months
- I wouldnt recomend that with my method more between towns sort of thing.

yes you do get stron fishy smells but not rotten putrid smell hence putting them in the esky, end of the trip just wash it out and a bit of bleach. getting the salty juice through the vehicle I could not recomend
FollowupID: 803509

Reply By: jamesgill - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 16:37

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 16:37
Awesome. Great replies. Thanks to everyone.

Definitely some things I hadn't considered, but will now!

QUick one regarding using the salted pilchards - do I just rig em up using some ganghooks, swivel and a sliding float?
AnswerID: 522421

Follow Up By: Herbal - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 17:12

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 17:12
No float...

Yes, you can use them whole with gang hooks. Or cut into cubes and use a single hook.

FollowupID: 803490

Reply By: jamesgill - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 16:38

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 16:38
Oh and to answer your question - I won't have any refrigeration so the plan is to eat whatever I catch on the spot, or chuck it back. Unless there are any other alternatives?
AnswerID: 522422

Reply By: Member - Russler - Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 18:04

Sunday, Dec 01, 2013 at 18:04
And research which fish you need to 'bleed', eg. Australian Salmon. It sounds a bit brutal, but it saves the flesh from being tainted with the blood of the fish. There's a few videos on YouTube that show how it's done.
AnswerID: 522428