landcruiser 80 series 4.5 ltr petrol economy

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 04:32
ThreadID: 10535 Views:35240 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
I have 80 series landcruiser 4.5 ltr petrol, need ideas on how to save fuel, get better klm to the ltr, any suggestions are helpful, going across the Simpson shortly.

Is it worth putting a Snorkel on.

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 08:37

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 08:37
Great vechicle,pity about the fuel economy.

1. Keep it light
2. Keep it slow
3. Reduce tyre prussure

Crossing the desert, a snorkel will not help with fuel econmy that much, mainly because of the speed that you should be travilling.

4.Keep the air filter clean.

AnswerID: 46753

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 10:56

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 10:56
Dave We had a 80 petrol auto with us across the simpson from mt Dare to Birdsville along the French line it used 205lts about 100lts more than the other trucks.
I know this is not what you asked but it may help in fuel needed.

www.capeyorkconnections.com.auCape York Connections
AnswerID: 46762

Follow Up By: Greg - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 16:15

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 16:15
I was on the Simpson with an 80 series manual. It used 150 litres Birdsville to Mount Dare via Rig road (800kms) and 20 litres less Mount Dare to Birdsville via French Line (650kms). Figures are only approx but this was about 20 litres more than the next worst petrol and 50 litres more than the 4.2 Nissan diesel. The owner of a 4.2 Nissan petrol told me he used over 180 litres but not sure if it was an auto. If you used 205 litres and not an auto I think there must have been a hole in the tank or lead on your foot.
FollowupID: 308752

Follow Up By: Greg - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 16:18

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 16:18
Eric just realised yours was an auto but still way too much fuel for the French Line.
FollowupID: 308753

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 17:01

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 17:01
Greg we were also amazed how much fuel he used the oil burners used about 105 - 120 for the same trip.
amazed
EricCape York Connections
FollowupID: 308768

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 13:08

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 13:08
Tune up is the best way to save fuel, followed by tyre choice and inflation pressures.
Buy a L/R tank for the aux (170l) and you will only need to fill her up once on that trip. Mine gets me round for 2 weeks on 270litres@20l/100kms.
Other option is to put it on gas, hense replacing the 45l aux with a 100 usable gas tank. Either option will require a spare wheel carrier and a set of rear springs aswell. The l/r tank will be 1k cheaper than the gas conversion.
Option 3 is to trade her in on a new electro diesel, and start to recoup losses on purchase price premium.
wheredayathinkwer mike?
AnswerID: 46778

Reply By: Pappas - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 21:20

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 21:20
If all else fails, Use your 4c a litre off shopadockets from coles or woolies.
AnswerID: 46810

Reply By: roscoe - Monday, Feb 16, 2004 at 01:15

Monday, Feb 16, 2004 at 01:15
Gday, I have a 1993 80 series 4.5L auto. I get around 18L/100km in city driving, ie approx 750 out of the two standard tanks. Although nothing great, my other car, a 1996 Fairlane gets about 15L/100km, so I can't complain too much. As has already been said, keep it light for the foot, the added weight (maybe even resorting to not filling both tanks and filling the main only half full more often) remove rear seats if not needed, remove roof rack (if any) Check the speedo and stuff are right as you may be understating milage if the tyres are a different size. These may be of help to you. Good luck and well done for choosing such a wonderful truck.

Seeya.
AnswerID: 46845

Reply By: Moose - Monday, Feb 16, 2004 at 15:27

Monday, Feb 16, 2004 at 15:27
G'day Bluesman
Yes they are a bit thirsty. You could try getting it converted back to part-time 4WD instead of full time for more economy when not needing 4WD eg on highway. That is supposed to save a bit. I haven't done it because I reckon the initial cost will take too long to recover in fuel savings. Check the plugs. Make sure tyres are are correct pressure. Don't carry unnecessary weight. Be gentle with the right foot.
Mine (96 manual), 16 *285/75 tyres, bull bar, no winch gets around 18mpg on the highway (that's about 15.7 lt/100km) and a lot less around town. On holidays with roof rack and family of 4, fully loaded but not towing I get about 16.5mpg (17 lt/100 km). I fitted a long range auxilary tank and that gives me ample range. Given the consistently cheaper petrol prices in Brisbane and the cheaper maintenance costs I reckon I'm not too far behind the diesel boys in overall operating costs. I doubt that the snorkel would do much for economy - I don't have one as once again even if it did improve economy it wouldn't be by much and that initial cost would take a long time to recover. Have never found water to be a problem (which I think would be the only valid reason to fit a snorkel) and it's been over the bonnet. I suspect you will have to learn to live with the vehicle's thirst as it's cheaper than the alternatives.
AnswerID: 46897