Waeco specials

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 10:52
ThreadID: 10537 Views:4017 Replies:12 FollowUps:7
The recent specials offered by Waeco seem pretty good. I assume that the units on offer are either demo's , or warranty returns which nave been replaced. Has the quality of the fridges purchased by forumites been acceptable. I am thinking of buying one just because they are cheap but don't want to end up with a pieceof junk.

Brett

Reply By: ianmc - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 11:06

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 11:06
Brett, I bought a waeco 45l several years ago & am quite happy with its performance. It has the commonly available Danfoss compressor unlike the Engel which is VERY costly to repair it seems.
It is light & easily managed, will freeze, & will run for more than two days in moderate heat on a N70 battery as tested at home.
The ones on special have a 12 month guarantee so at half price sound great.
Others will no doubt have their answers for you.
AnswerID: 46764

Reply By: ThePublican - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 11:15

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 11:15
Brett,,the specials in feb are demos and warranty ect but the 70 + 90lt are actually "run out " models,,,buy Waeco and you wont be dissapointed by price or service and warranty,,,got their 80lt freezer/fridge with cover +240v adaptor for less than the recommended retail price of the 80lt alone,, very happy jan.
AnswerID: 46766

Follow Up By: Rowler - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 13:34

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 13:34
I have to say that the ff-90 that I recieved on thursday last week was a piece of crap!
It's going back as soon as the paperwork arrives.
I knew that they were demo's or perhaps reconditioned units, but the one that we got was very 2nd hand.
Large crack in the interior plastic lining which had been smeared with silicone in an attempt to repair it. All of the handles were rusty etc.
I was happy to give it a good clean & live with a few scratches for half price...... but it should have never left the shop with functionality problems.
It took 7 phone calls before I could get onto the correct person to deal with my problem! Not happy so far, when we get the replacement it had better be in better condition or it's all going back & I will save my $$ for another day.

Cheers Rowler
FollowupID: 308745

Follow Up By: ThePublican - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 14:26

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 14:26
Rowler,, we physicaly went to the fridgeshop and picked our purchase,, as I pointed out in a prior post the fridgeshop uses a grading system of stickers to define their demos,warranty returns ect,, yellow = demo , unlucky to find a scratch,, blue= demo minor blemish,, white = demo+or warranty return with a truly used look,,,, yellow = full demo price,, blue = 10% less than demo price + white = 20/30% less than demo price depending on your negotiating skills,, ,,,,,,,, got ours ,yellow sticker ,80ltr + new cover + 240v adapter[new] for $1023 CASH .. No card ,no cheque,,plain old Cash,,, reco retail = $1700.. still happy jan.
FollowupID: 308746

Reply By: Michael_FNQ - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 11:15

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 11:15
Find out who is your local repairer for both Waeco and Engel and ask for his honest opinion. Ask how easy it is to get spare parts for both. I think you may be interested in the answer.
AnswerID: 46767

Follow Up By: Stuart - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 21:22

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 21:22
To save me the hassle, how about telling me the answer you came up with. Not looking for an argument, I would just like to know what somone elses research came up with and then I'll tell you mine. (if you like). Cheers..
FollowupID: 308808

Follow Up By: TrucksterNT - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 23:20

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 23:20
Michael tell us what you found - no need to be bashful - I will be interested in what you know. I'm guessing that Waeco is hard to get parts and Engel is easy but that's only my guess.
FollowupID: 308832

Follow Up By: Michael_FNQ - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 23:59

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 23:59
Anyone I run into when talking about Engel fridges always comments on their reliablity. I was talking to my local repairer when pickup up a Autofridge (blown compressor - Big bucks!!) It would be fair to say that he was very familar with Waeco fridges and was not impressed with their parts back up. Don't want to start an argument but have met a few unhappy waeco owners but have never seen anthing but positive comments here.
FollowupID: 308834

Reply By: Brett - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 11:28

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 11:28
Tahnks guys.
I already have a FF40 and have no complaints. Just was wondering what the actual condition of these particular run out models was.

Thanks again

Brett
AnswerID: 46769

Reply By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 11:30

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 11:30
Hi Brett,
I got myself a waeco 80ltr with power adaptor and cover also, was not on special at time but still an impressive price over the Engle.
Have used it a few times and cannot fault it, except for the headache i get when sculling cold cans too fast !!! Damn thing keeps everything ice cold.

Ran it for 4 days and nights straight off car battery's and when it was time to crank the old girl over (the GQ not the wife) it started no problem

Id suggest ya go for it mate, cant go wrong at all. I even use mine at home now as my personal fridge, keeps the coke very very cold indeed....just love itI love it when you talk DIRTY !
AnswerID: 46770

Reply By: Diamond(due to duck season) - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 12:54

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 12:54
gday brett.
i boughjt the 90ltr only pproblem was is had a bit of dust on it lol.
also eric bought a 90ltr and mentioned it had a 1 cm scratch near the control knob.
my boss got his 70ltr on friday a little dent the size of a 5 cent piece down the bottom and dirty.
as the publican said weaco way to go.
due to duck season coming
ive decided to hide out
love jemima puddle duck
back after the season
AnswerID: 46776

Reply By: Cumbo - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 14:25

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 14:25
Can anyone tell me what the FF model is. I looked on the WAECO site and can't find any specifications on it.
Thinking of getting one myself.

CumboNow where did I park the b..... GQ?
AnswerID: 46782

Follow Up By: ThePublican - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 14:29

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 14:29
FF = fridge or use as freezer / not both at same time.
FollowupID: 308747

Follow Up By: Poida4x4 - Monday, Feb 16, 2004 at 04:25

Monday, Feb 16, 2004 at 04:25
These are now discontinued so are not on the Waeco site. From what I gathered, they're the same internals as the CF's but different externals. I think they're a bit more plasticcy than the the CF's...
FollowupID: 308840

Reply By: Member - Geoff & Karen - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 14:41

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 14:41
Hi Brett, Our waeco ff110 arrived on Wednesday from the fridge shop. It was one of their February specials, not the 1/2 price special though. We paid $1060 for it and it is in top nic. Has 3 little scratches on it (which is nothing, dosnt affect the performance of the gear) and works like a charm and keeps the right temps.We also brought the thumper pack off them (48A/H) and it is in perfect condition. It was $9.09 freight from them to southern NSW and the weight was 53 kgs. Can't complain about the cost of frieght.
So needless to say we are happy with our purchase.
KarenKind Regards
Karen & Geoff
(Happy holidaying)
AnswerID: 46783

Reply By: Member - Andrew (Bris) - Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 21:45

Sunday, Feb 15, 2004 at 21:45
I bought both a 30l and a 70l unit. Both units were very dirty, and the 30l had a crack in the top of the case about 3 inches long. Both units looked very used, but seem to work well. Already have an engel 40l, and these two units don't appear anywhere near the same build quality. Wonder if they'll stand up to a bit of rough treatment.

At 1/2 price, and twelve months warranty I reckon they are worth it.

I had no problems with the staff at fridgeshop. I made several calls to them, had to leave messages a few times, and they were not real quick to return the calls. But once I was able to talk to someone there, they were really helpful.

I did have hassles with the delivery people who were supposed to phone before delivery, instead they called around and simply left a note for me to make other arrangements. Once I called them back, they were very apologetic because they had not phoned first, and made alternate arrangements for delivery straight away.

The 70l was for a mate. He had problems initially - the fridge appeared to be a no-go. But after talking to the staff at fridgeshop my mate discovered that the fridge was fine, but the wiring in his 'surf' was not up to it. Now that he's updated the wiring, it's working great.

I probably expected the fridges to look a little 'newer', but they seem pretty good value.
AnswerID: 46814

Reply By: Poida4x4 - Monday, Feb 16, 2004 at 04:29

Monday, Feb 16, 2004 at 04:29
I bought an FF-40 from the fridge shop and am pretty happy with it. It looks as though it's been a bit battered but it works really well. I'm glad I didn't go for the 70L, even though it was only $50 more, they're too big for me...
AnswerID: 46847

Reply By: chenj3 - Monday, Feb 16, 2004 at 11:59

Monday, Feb 16, 2004 at 11:59
Bought my CF-50 from fridgeshop before Chrismas and found the compressor failed on the 7000Km trip way down to Melbourne. After talked to Fridgeshop over the phone they phoned a agent in NSW to swap my unit straight away. The finish quality of this unit is better than I expected, especially compare with Engel's. The unit functioned well as a fridge/Freezer during our 7000Km trip.
AnswerID: 46871

Reply By: Member - Munny @Mt Gambier SA - Monday, Feb 16, 2004 at 20:28

Monday, Feb 16, 2004 at 20:28
Hi brett i just received my FF90 on wednesday and use it all weekend for 2 familys to camp at Dartmoor vic for the rodeo and it work Xelent. It appears like a demo fridge only cosmetic scratches and a few tiny dents. (mine has a yellow sticker on its lid) Very happy with performance and price. GR8 CAR 1 AWESOME WIFE 5 FANTASTIC KIDS
AnswerID: 46946