TRAVEL THRU NTH AUST

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 12:12
ThreadID: 105998 Views:2813 Replies:11 FollowUps:8
I AND MY WIFE HOPE TO TOW OUR CARAVAN FROM BRISBANE TO BROOME VIA SAVANNAH WAY AND THE KIMBERLEY'S MID 2014 AND AM CONCERNED RE COMMUNICATIONS eg SATPHONE/EMAIL etc WHAT IS THE BEST AND MOST RELIABLE AS I HAVE TO BE IN CONTACT WITH MY STOCKBROKER AND MARKET PROGRAMS ON AT LEAST A DAILY BASIS.

Reply By: Lyn W3 - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 13:44

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 13:44
Perhaps you could SHOUT
AnswerID: 525322

Reply By: 410 - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 14:25

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 14:25
Hi Don
We travelled around Australia last year and found reception was a hit and miss. Best idea is to ring ahead and ask about reception in the towns you are travelling through.

AnswerID: 525323

Reply By: Swaggee - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 14:51

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 14:51
Hi mate

cannot answer your question but with caps lock on its classed as shouting and not very good to read. Lowercase is better.

Goodluck.

AnswerID: 525324

Reply By: Member - Adam H3 - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 15:02

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 15:02
having just dome a trek from Darwin to Perth via Broome and Kimberlys in Dec we found from to Broome there was only a few places we didn't have normal phone reception, it was very surprising... not sure about the Kimberlys though as we never really paid much attention to the phone, but on the road Kununurra, halls creek, Fitzroy,Perry Creek stn road, Wyndham, Derby and in between all the way to Broome had reception.
AnswerID: 525325

Follow Up By: don e - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 15:37

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 15:37
Thankyou AdamH3 that is very helpfull and could save me considerably.
FollowupID: 807268

Follow Up By: baz&pud (tassie) - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 16:27

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 16:27
You will get normal phone reception in most major towns, it's in between those towns that you may have a problem, so doubt if you will be able to phone your man every four or five hours.
baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 807271

Follow Up By: Member - Adam H3 - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 17:00

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 17:00
Only a few spots in between we were without reception briefly, with Telstra that is.
FollowupID: 807273

Follow Up By: KevinE - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 18:59

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 18:59
Telstra must have upgraded their network, we never had any coverage between Derby & Kununurra at all, other than on top of a lookout near Home Valley.
FollowupID: 807279

Reply By: Member - John - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 15:57

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 15:57
Don, maybe forget about the market for a few days and enjoy your journey more?

AnswerID: 525327

Follow Up By: don e - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 16:18

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 16:18
My only source of income cut off for 4 months - no thanks.There is no doubt about my enjoying my trip but some strategies have to be monitored at least twice daily, some options trades can be put in place for months ahead(11-12 months and I am doing that) , but some such as cfd's,strangles,iron condors etc. have to be monitored dilligently.To quote Victor Hugo"the soul is the only bird that likes it's cage".
FollowupID: 807270

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 16:43

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 16:43
Agree with John, Don e you won't have reception for quite awhile up in the Kimberley and you would only have Sat Phone contact with the outside world. That itself can be a hit and miss depending if you are in a Gorge and can't get the sat signal. Up here in the NT section you will only have next G in towns and that is within 3 km of town. It will take 2 days to drive from Borroloola to Roper Bar and have limited service their.
Would suggest a very good Sat phone for your needs because next G realy dose not exist on the savannah way.
Cheers Andy

FollowupID: 807272

Reply By: John and Regina M - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 16:30

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 16:30
Hmmmm
SHOUTING
It's the Kimberly. Singular, plural and all others.

How unfortunate for yr wife. Not a real holiday I guess however. ..

Satellite phone will be 100% Telstra 3/4G fair bit of coverage but not all.

Are you sure you want to do this sort of trip with yr dependence of telecommunications every minute of the day?
AnswerID: 525329

Follow Up By: Member - Adam H3 - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 18:01

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 18:01
Yr - typically = year...?

Good on you Don e if you can travel and still do your business on the road, means you can adventure for longer and still have an income . I am sure you and your wife have a wonderful holiday.
FollowupID: 807276

Follow Up By: gary - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 23:09

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 23:09
John and Regina, you may be right about the "s" but how about an "e" in Kimberley!
FollowupID: 807310

Reply By: 17 South - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 16:32

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 16:32
G'Day Don - I live here (The Kimberley and work there a lot NT)
Mobile coverage - Telstra (don't waste your time with anyone else) - Best coverage (towns of course) and 65% of the Gt Northern Hwy (growing every year)
Satellite Phone is safest option - you should use like a two way (over, copy, roger etc - makes for much clearer conversation. ClientSat in Subiaco, Perth has outstanding service and knows the area. Best deal probs. Inmarsat iSatPro on a casual top up plan (has email).
NT - is similar but less - coverage around towns only

Wildling from the North

AnswerID: 525330

Reply By: rocco2010 - Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 18:29

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2014 at 18:29
Gidday

I was working on a two week survey at Neale junction in the Great Victoria desert in early October 2008 while the markets were in meltdown.
every day at lunchtime I would tune in to the Radio Australia news on the shortwave to hear how bad that days carnage had been. At dawn we would get the update from overseas.
There was a sat phone in the camp but it wasn't for ringing brokers and advisers.
When I got back to the city I found my super fund had lost a heap but so had everyone else's.
My colleagues were actually in a worse state psychologically because they were sitting at work worrying, watching the news, trying to get advice. I was out in the desert having a great time, not worrying about something I could do nothing about.
Your need to communicate is obviously greater than mine so I wish you luck.
As others have said for mobile phone coverage Telstra is the only choice.
Enjoy the trip.

AnswerID: 525332

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 30, 2014 at 01:40

Thursday, Jan 30, 2014 at 01:40
Hi Don

If you need daily contact by phone, a satellite phone is the only way. If you need daily internet, again satellite is the only way. Australian Nomad Technology is the only one I know but there may be others. Not cheap to get set up with.

AnswerID: 525354

Reply By: Tassie_Sue - Thursday, Jan 30, 2014 at 13:32

Thursday, Jan 30, 2014 at 13:32
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Advertising/Self-Promotion Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 525382

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Feb 01, 2014 at 10:51

Saturday, Feb 01, 2014 at 10:51
Don,

As well as a sat phone, make sure you get an external aerial for Telstra 3/4g reception.

I bought a small, about 350mm long, aerial with magnetic base, and it can give continual reception between major towns.........as long as it's mounted on the roof of the vehicle.

If your current phone doesn't have a socket for aerial, some of the cheaper ones do, and are often "blue tick" as well. Some towns have free wi-fi near their libraries, or have internet access there as well.

I've found an iPad, with SIM card fitted, is useful for emails or surfing, as I'm away from home at least 4 nights/week. Pity Steve Jobs wasn't an Australian, he might have designed an external aerial socket into the iPad. They'd be even more versatile then!

Enjoy your trip. We hope to be up that way in July too, joining up with the kids in Normanton, then along your planned route.

AnswerID: 525570