Tarp set Up

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 30, 2014 at 23:15
ThreadID: 106021 Views:7891 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
This Thread has been Archived
Hi Guys

I'm new to the whole camping thing, wife's latest idea (she thought it would be good for the kids), anyway, I've been googling and buying, getting ready for our first trip, but I'm a little stuck on the tarp.

We have a 6 x 3 tent and I understand it's a good idea to put a tarp over the top of the tent to help in the heat. Every video I've watched has a centre pole on the ridge bar ... How do I put in a centre pole to support my ridge bar without putting a hole in my tent? Or can I do away with the centre pole altogether?

Cheers in advance
Clouseau
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Malcolm 02 - Friday, Jan 31, 2014 at 00:39

Friday, Jan 31, 2014 at 00:39
I use to put a plastic cup over the centre pole.

Cheers
Mal
AnswerID: 525444

Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Friday, Jan 31, 2014 at 07:09

Friday, Jan 31, 2014 at 07:09
6 x 3 tent I guess you mean 6m x 3m?
If so, no problems just get a spreader bar (normally adjustable) and put that in the middle, a guy rope off the vertical support pole at either end of the spreader bar.
Using these spreader bars keeps the down forces you apply to the tarp off your tent and save your tent support system.
You should be able to get these spreader bars at most larger camping stores.

Tarp over the top isn't mandatory, but a good idea, especially if it rains as it keeps the areas immediately outside the tent dry, as well as the tent cooler in summer.
Before you know it you will be progressing to a camper trailer!
AnswerID: 525450

Follow Up By: Clouseau - Friday, Jan 31, 2014 at 13:42

Friday, Jan 31, 2014 at 13:42
Hi Mark

Yes, I meant 6m x 3m . Do you mean I use the spreader bar in place of the ridge bar?

I'm already working on the wife about a camper trailer . :)
FollowupID: 807407

Follow Up By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Saturday, Feb 01, 2014 at 10:15