Repair Diesel fuel tank

Submitted: Monday, Feb 03, 2014 at 17:35
ThreadID: 106069 Views:5039 Replies:7 FollowUps:10

I have a small hole in the sub tank of my GU Patrol ute. I have used all the recommended metal tank repair products as per install instructions and allowed to cure. (Dynasteel,Selleys). All works OK until the ute goes dirt/off-road and it starts to leak around the repair. I believe it is caused by the tank flexing and the repair patch has no "give" in it. Has anyone come across a diesel tank repair that is flexible?

Kevin

Reply By: Shaker - Monday, Feb 03, 2014 at 17:38

Monday, Feb 03, 2014 at 17:38
Is the tank steel or plastic?

AnswerID: 525706

Follow Up By: 116hynes - Monday, Feb 03, 2014 at 17:41

Monday, Feb 03, 2014 at 17:41
The tank is steel
FollowupID: 807674

Follow Up By: Ross M - Monday, Feb 03, 2014 at 18:20

Monday, Feb 03, 2014 at 18:20
Perhaps the tank is mounted so it is being forced to flex at that site. It may be clamped far too tight in it's mounting straps or fixings. If so until that is remedied the issue will continue or get worse.

I would drain it and prepare and solder the area around the fault. Then with a well tinned patch hold it in place and apply suitable heat to melt all together, and then possibly coat with the Selleys magic stuff.
FollowupID: 807679

Follow Up By: Member - kev.h - Monday, Feb 03, 2014 at 20:11

Monday, Feb 03, 2014 at 20:11
Hi Kevin
If you can take the tank out and are not too sure of how to fix it your local radiator repair shop will do the job and wont cost the earth they use a copper mesh and solder the repair will last forever if done properly better than worrying if the patch is going to give out miles from anywhere
FollowupID: 807691

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Feb 03, 2014 at 19:56

Monday, Feb 03, 2014 at 19:56
G'day Kevin, this may sound stupid, but true..I fixed a leaking tank on my diesel Peugeot 504, many years ago...by mixing dust from a tyre rim with softened soap into
a putty, & applying to to a clean, but still leaking area. It worked perfectly & lasted
10 years plus.
No doubt you will get more realistic solutions ..but it worked...:))).
cheers....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 525716

Reply By: Member - mechpete - Monday, Feb 03, 2014 at 21:34

Monday, Feb 03, 2014 at 21:34
pull it out ,solder a patch over the area
end of your problem !!
an get on with your life
cheers mechpete
AnswerID: 525720

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 00:08

Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 00:08
The only way to fix a hole in the tank is silver solder 35% either drop the tank and fill it with water then empty it and solder it. Don't put a patch on it just silver solider but it has to be at least 35% silver. You can get it at ant CIG store.
Cheers Andy
PS Have done this to jerry cans as well and my main tank.

AnswerID: 525725

Follow Up By: 116hynes - Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 06:46

Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 06:46
Hi Andy,
Thanks for the info. What is the reason for silver solder instead of lead/tin?
Kevin
FollowupID: 807715

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 09:36

Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 09:36
Hi Kevin,
Silver Solder is much stronger that lead/tin and will run into the crack better. Don't get it from Bunnings our places like that you need 35% silver you can get it at any CIG shop. Plumbers use it but only 5% to 15%. Just need a little burner and put the heat to where you want the solder to go it will follow the heat. Don't forget to use the flux or it wont run anywhere.
Cheers Andy

FollowupID: 807723

Follow Up By: 116hynes - Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 13:56

Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 13:56
Hi Andy,
Thanks again.
I am in country Vic and have been searching on the CIG web page and the only silver solder I can find is 3.5%. Would you have a link to the one your are talking about.

Thanks, Kevin

http://www.cigweld.com.au/product/rods-wires/comweld-965-solder/
FollowupID: 807739

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 16:51

Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 16:51
Hi Kevin,
This is the part no;Part Number: 322009 remember to get the flux as well.
Cheers Andy

FollowupID: 807748

Follow Up By: Member Andys Adventures - Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 16:54

Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 16:54
Technical data:
Silver content: 45%
Typical melting range (°C): 605-620
Brazing temp. for complete fluidity: 625°C
Silver brazing flux if required:
No flux required
Approx. number of rods per kg:
ø 1.6mm = 110
Comparable Comweld ‘Cadmium free’ alloy:
Comcoat Silver 356T, Comweld SBA 345T
Packaging Data:

FollowupID: 807749

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 10:31

Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 10:31
A bloke bought me an old tank out of a Toyota Stout (petrol) one day for repair that had a lot of holes in the bottom of it.
The tank was virtually a write off before I got to it.

I wire brushed it and enlarged many of the holes with a screw driver then applied panel beaters Bog to the whole area forcing it into the holes slightly so that it "keyed" into the holes.

Still going strong after 15 years.

Remember that diesel has virtually no surface tension so it wets everything it comes into contact with. Whether you solder, silver solder or use bog, it must be very clean and free of diesel before starting the repair. Also look for leaks in the surrounding metal as it may be coming from another location as well.

Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 525736

Reply By: Member - Bob S9 - Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 11:17

Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 11:17
Hi Kevin, about four years ago, while fitting camping drawers to the back of our Cruiser, he who shall not be named, drilled through the diesel fuel tank!!!!!! It was in a very hard to get at spot and he couldn't even see the hole and had to go by feel. However he managed to squeeze his hand in enough to to give it a bit of a rub with sandpaper and then he used a product called Dyna Grip Quik Steel - metal tank repair kit.

It is still sealing that hole to this day!!! Mind you, we keep some of it in the tool box at all times wherever we go.

Lee

AnswerID: 525739

Follow Up By: 116hynes - Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 13:58

Tuesday, Feb 04, 2014 at 13:58
Hi Bob,

I have already tried that product. As I mentioned I believe it is the tank flexing that is causing the problem

Kevin
FollowupID: 807740

Follow Up By: Echucan Bob - Wednesday, Feb 05, 2014 at 20:31

Wednesday, Feb 05, 2014 at 20:31
? Self tapper plus Dyna Grip
FollowupID: 807846

Reply By: Garry E1 - Saturday, Feb 08, 2014 at 16:51

Saturday, Feb 08, 2014 at 16:51
Hi 116 Hynes. You are not probably going to believe this but it works. I use to own a road house & a truckie came in with this problem. He showed me what to do.

1 purchase a packet of minties. The minties will stick to steel, aluminium or plastic but I would prefer to only apply the Minties to either steel or aluminium tanks.

You have to soften the Minties in a jug of water until they soggy & then press the soggy Minties into the crack or hole.

You not need to pull out tank unless you cannot get to the effected area.
AnswerID: 525991