4wd and Caravan / Camping Advice needed please.

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 19, 2014 at 23:52
ThreadID: 106331 Views:6043 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
This Thread has been Archived
Hello All - Newbie here.
I am the proud father of 4 girls, 8,6,4,2.
My wife and I are looking at taking a a 6 - 12 month holiday around Australia with the kids next year.

We have not done this before and would appreciate the thoughts of people more experienced than ourselves. The list of wants are as follows:

Easy set up / pull down.
Privacy for the wife and I when we want it.
Ample Storage
Ability to run for at least a week self sufficiently.

We have been looking at the Jayco Basestation as a possible solution. I like the idea of this as it can be set up in literally 1 minute. We are able to pack it and pick up the kids from school on a friday afternoon and head straight out for a weekend with no set up time. (Did I also mention I ride dirtbikes) ;)
The kids get their own bedroom with the 4 bunks

One of the downsides to the basestation is the weight, as it means buying a new vehicle, however, I need to upgrade the JK CRD Unlimited as I need minimum 7 seats. I have been looking at the 200 series and a 3.0 Patrol. We also own a 2011 VW diesel multivan which is an unbelievable car, however only tows 2000 kgs.

Would appreciate comments on the above, but also welcome alternative suggestions. We saw a custom made camper when we went to Merrimbula last year that seemed to be able to be put up very quickly.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 07:43

Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 07:43
Many cars can tow that weight Lueage but I think you will be well severed with a 200 series.

You don't say though how cost will affect your choices.

Friends of ours use a Work & Play - great with the bikes , but not suitable with 5 young kids.

Robin Miller

My Profile  Send Message

AnswerID: 526844

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 07:45