Camp fire "pig" made from gas cylinders

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 11:43
ThreadID: 106336 Views:19924 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
Hi All: I have searched the web and also this forum for information on how to go about fabricating a fire place from a 9kg gas cylinder - often referred to as a "pig". I have seen numerous ones on previous trips; but since I am about to venture into remote areas, I wish to make one. I am after diagrams, etc. If I can't make one maybe someone can tell me where I can buy one. Thanks and regards. Lynton

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 12:02

Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 12:02
Hi Lynton,

This may be of help to you.

AnswerID: 526870

Follow Up By: Member - bbuzz (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 21:03

Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 21:03
This is too complicated.

Look up choofa in Google. Heaps of photos there.

I made mine without any welding, it fits inside a milk crate with a detachable chimney, hot plate or plate with holes.

If you want pictures I will drag it out.

Looks a lot like this;

bill
Bill B

FollowupID: 809308

Follow Up By: Member - bbuzz (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 21:05

Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 21:05
Look up 'fire choofa' to sort the pics.

bill
Bill B

FollowupID: 809309

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 12:03

Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 12:03
You may wish to look at one of these.
Far superior to a gas bottle arrangement.
http://www.drifta.com.au/SnowPeak.php
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 526871

Reply By: ABR - SIDEWINDER - Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 12:07

Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 12:07
Try here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cM1kZhwE9sU
AnswerID: 526873

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 13:10

Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 13:10
Hi Lynton,
If you wish to make one your self then the first thing to do is to safely evacuate the tank to ensure there are no gas fumes present.

The best way to do this is to make a spanner to remove the valve on top.
Once the valve is removed fill the tank with water and leave sit overnight. This will ensure it is as safe as it can possibly be.

Now you are ready to cut the tank by any means at your disposal.

I made one up by cutting the top out of it as opposed to one side such as the pigs.
Whatever configuration you use it has to have a flue if it is to be enclosed or a hot plate placed on top, otherwise the fire will suffocate.

Making the door is probably the most complex part as you have to work out hinges and the latching mechanism.

I am assuming you can weld otherwise you would probably not be considering this job.

The first thing to make, out of any scrap pieces you have around, is the tool to remove the valve. Ensure there a no potential sparks when removing the valve, none, absolutely none.

Here are some basic drawings.

Good luck with it
If you need anymore info Lynton you can MM me.
I have made one but it is not yet finished.
Cheers, Bruce
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 526877

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 13:15

Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 13:15
I uploaded in the wrong format, sorry for that.
I'll try again.

Cheers, Bruce.

FollowupID: 809248

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 13:12

Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 13:12
MM sent Lynton

AnswerID: 526878

Reply By: Big D - Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 13:20

Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 13:20
Hi Lynton, mate my old man for a hobby makes them and can't keep up with the demand for his simple design, he has sold probs about 100 now. I have one of his early prototypes which is not as good as the later versions but is still a bloody ripper an i don't go anywhere without it. PM me if you are interested as he would give you any info you require no probs. Cheers D
AnswerID: 526880

Follow Up By: Member - Lynton B (QLD) - Friday, Feb 21, 2014 at 15:44

Friday, Feb 21, 2014 at 15:44
Hi BD: I am after a very simple design. So would appreciate any advice/diagrams/etc you can give me. Regards. Lynton. lbolland@bigpond.net.au
FollowupID: 809344

Reply By: Hoyks - Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 17:14

Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 17:14
http://www.ozpig.com.au/

I made my own, but I was working in a welding workshop at the time, so having all the gear helped. I also fabricated a chimney, but it would be a lot easier just to buy the whole setup.

Even after the bottle is purged and washed, the gas smell still lingers. It is counterintuitive taking to a gas bottle with a plasma cutter when you can smell gas I can tell you. Mine is 5 years old, has been used a bit and there is still a hint of the gas smell in the cylinder.
AnswerID: 526891

Follow Up By: Hoyks - Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 17:19

Thursday, Feb 20, 2014 at 17:19
For the version we made the legs are made of pipe with bolt welded inside it. On the cylinder a 1" long piece of pipe was welded on with a nut welded into the open end.

Once screwed in the legs are not gong to fall off by accident, even if you do have to lift it while it is hot and the whole thing is very stable
FollowupID: 809277

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Feb 21, 2014 at 09:17

Friday, Feb 21, 2014 at 09:17
Bruce mentions " safely evacuate the tank to ensure there are no gas fumes present"...which is a bit of an understatement. I work in a hospital and have seen plenty of people with major burns from what they thought was "safely evacuating a gas bottle".

I'm not going to suggest how this is done but biggest mistake is just opening the cylinder to air to drain - even in a backyard. The stuff doesn't just disappear - its heavier than air and can pool in low areas where the slightest spark can cause a ball of flame.
AnswerID: 526926

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Friday, Feb 21, 2014 at 12:56

Friday, Feb 21, 2014 at 12:56
You are very right Phil, it can be a very dangerous exercise and that is why it is best to use the cylinder on a BBQ and run it till it is empty first.
To do it any other way is inviting disaster and is definitely not recommended here.

Cheers, Bruce.

FollowupID: 809330

Reply By: Big D - Friday, Feb 21, 2014 at 17:31

Friday, Feb 21, 2014 at 17:31
Hi Lynton, as before my dad makes them to sell so give me a call 0413090374. Regards Darryl
AnswerID: 526964