Travelling around Australia. HR Truck jobs for a beginner in WA ?

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 02, 2014 at 18:24
ThreadID: 106508 Views:2885 Replies:8 FollowUps:16
This Thread has been Archived
Hi everyone. I'm currently in the Horsham area of Vic. Which is home. I'm taking off in early May this year to travel around Australia with no time limits heading to WA. I'm booked in to get my HR truck license soon. How will I go turning up in the Gascoyne or Pilbara area looking for work as a rookie HR truck driver ? I'm thinking about offering a 6 month commitment up front ? Or is ongoing casual work available ? I'm a butcher by trade and my last job was managing a busy butcher / deli in St kilda for 8 years. I'm a bit over being a butcher. Looking for new experiences. I have a 2000 Landcruiser 4.5 petrol/gas supercharged, locked & loaded, towing my 1967, 16ft Murumba star off road caravan that was fully renovated in 2009 ! Survived a trip up the Tanami to Kununurra and back last year with no problems. So I've had a taste of remote travel and living and liked it. Any suggestions or questions welcome. Thank you.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Idler Chris - Sunday, Mar 02, 2014 at 18:56

Sunday, Mar 02, 2014 at 18:56
I am retired and I have an HR licence. These days I keep that quiet as it often leads to job offers and even pleas for work. With the skill set you describe you should be able to be a bit choosy about the work you seek. If I was in your position I would be looking to do a variety of different things and further improve knowledge and abilities. Good luck I expect you will have a ball.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 527532

Follow Up By: John and Regina M - Sunday, Mar 02, 2014 at 19:50

Sunday, Mar 02, 2014 at 19:50