free style camping

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 16:02
ThreadID: 107041 Views:1699 Replies:3 FollowUps:13
I will be hiring a campingvan. Which runs off 240v Mains power and appliances within run of 12v (fridge etc) when not on mains power. hope that makes sense!!!! Where i'll be going for 5 days has no mains power source to connect to. So if anyone can tell me, "if I was to hire a portable generator, with a 15amp socket, mainly to keep lights, fridge and use a power socket (point) inside van, is this possible and safe?" I'm hoping also that the generator will keep the ancillary batteries charged as well while in use as I don't plan to have the generator running 24/7 but on a as need basis for the ancillary charging and use of power point. If anyone can help me it would be gratefully appreciated.

Shelley

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 16:19

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 16:19
G'day Shelley

As long as the camper is wired up correctly and has a battery charger included, what you're planning makes perfect sense to me.

Why the need for the 15A socket? Is the inlet to the camper 15A?
AnswerID: 529678

Follow Up By: mitch70 - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 17:08

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 17:08
Hi Rosco,
Ummm battery charger on the Portable generator is that what you mean lol??? hmmm on the video about the campervan it said that if connected to mains power it will run all appliances, power points and charges the house batteries. when its not batteries will only last 12 - 20hrs, running basically everything except the microwave and power points. It also says the campervan extension lead for mains power is a 15amp with large earth pin so im guessing I need a 15amp socket which im hoping will fit the lead lol. Yup I have no idea do I lol.

Shelley
FollowupID: 812481

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 17:31

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 17:31
No worries .. all is clear now. The camper has a battery charger, which is what I meant. So all will be fine and dandy as long as the gen set has a 15A outlet plug.
FollowupID: 812483

Reply By: Dave M12 - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 16:31

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 16:31
Hi Shelley,
For such a short amount of time it may be a lot simpler to just run the engine for a while each day and charge your batteries up that way. Generators are expensive to hire and need petrol, which can't be carried inside the vehicle. If the van doesn't already have one, buy or try to rent an inverter to run a small 240v appliance. (I'm assuming a laptop or something. if you want to run a toaster you are out of luck.)

Most campervans have an automatic cutoff that stops the batteries running down too low to get the engine started, so you should be good to go with that setup, just make sure you have enough power to run the fridge all night when you go to bed.

Hope you're going somewhere fun, good luck.

AnswerID: 529679

Follow Up By: mitch70 - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 17:16

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 17:16
Hi Dave,
I thought that too, but the video for the camper states that idling the engine isn't enough to charge the batteries. Yes power point is for laptop, hair dryer etc hahahaha. I know going camping with the kitchen sink!!! And yes I am going somewhere fun. To the Byron Bay Bluesfest YAY..!!! Last year was my 1st year there in a campervan and car battery & house batteries went flat. leaving us limited light and a hot fridge. This year Im trying to plan for that not to happen and have a super duper comfortable time in a much bigger stylish campervan.

Shelley
FollowupID: 812482

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 17:33

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 17:33
If you do get hold of a suitable generator, make sure it's secure where some mongrel bastard can't swipe it.
FollowupID: 812484

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 17:41

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 17:41
Your fellow campers in what will surely be a crowded camp ground will probably not appreciate the noise from your generator. Even a quiet generator. Have you thought about that?

But if you must do it, try to get something like a Honda EU10i. They are about as quiet as you can get if not on full load. (Run it on Eco mode)

Then again, from all acounts there are ways that people desensitise themselves at these events, so perhaps it won't be an issue, lol.

FollowupID: 812486

Follow Up By: Malcolm 02 - Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 09:29

Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 09:29
I agree with Frank but would like to add that you can get around the 15A plug problem buy taking a short 10A to 15A adaptor lead, most caravaners have one in there toolkit. Also if you take something like the Honda EU10i (really anything else is too big and too noisy) don't use the microwave with it, they aren't quite powerful enough and the circuit breaker on the gen'y will trip.

Have fun
FollowupID: 812513

Follow Up By: Mark S (cns) - Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 09:51

Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 09:51
"...buy taking a short 10A to 15A adaptor lead..."
Brace yourself Malcolm, based on forum history here, the '12v police' are about to unload their anger & disbelief. Don't get sucked into an argument - it's all they seem to live for....
FollowupID: 812516

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 10:06

Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 10:06
I was about to make a similar comment Mark, but decided to sit back and watch the outcome......
FollowupID: 812518

Follow Up By: mitch70 - Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 16:29

Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 16:29
Hi Frank, yes I've been told the Hondas are very quiet esp the 2000. Also it will only be running during the day when needed in which every1 is at the festival and the band noise will certainly win over the generator noise.
Shelley
FollowupID: 812539

Follow Up By: mitch70 - Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 16:44

Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 16:44
Hi all, so would it not be wise to use the lead if I can't find a 15amp socket generator. It will only really be used to charge phones, use hair dryer etc. and charge house batteries when needed. So I'm guessing ill use it once every 2nd/3rd day for 2/3 hours for these reasons only.

Shelley
FollowupID: 812541

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 17:23

Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 17:23
A lead would be fine Shelly. What Mark was alluding to is that a short jack lead with a 10A male for the generator and a 15A female for the camper lead is illegal.

Like a lot of people, I have one (I got a sparkie mate to knock it up as I don't play with 240V stuff). Your problem is that the gen set will most likely come with a 10A outlet, so your 15A lead won't fit.

As is usually the case, your power requirements won't go anywhere near 15A, but up a relatively short time ago 15A was mandatory in camping grounds to avoid the possibility of users overloading the system.

Therein lies your problem.
FollowupID: 812546

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 18:02

Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 18:02
Shelley,

It's up to you whether you go for a 2kVa unit (Honda EU20i or equivalent) or a 1 Kva (Honda EU10i or equivalent). The smaller ones are quieter but won't power a microwave or toaster or any other 240V appliance that generates heat.

The two Hondas have 15 amp outlets (so do Yamaha equivalents, I believe, and perhaps Kipor) so if you can get one of those you won't need the dodgy 10amp to 15amp adapter.

FollowupID: 812549

Follow Up By: mitch70 - Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 19:52

Thursday, Apr 03, 2014 at 19:52
Thank you frank and rosco and all that have assisted me on this. I am glad to know there are Hondas with both sockets so I will look for the 1 with 15 amp socket. Greatly appreciated.

Kindness regards
Shelley
FollowupID: 812564

Reply By: Nutta - Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 18:54

Wednesday, Apr 02, 2014 at 18:54
Hopefully the fridge runs on gas, if so run it off gas as much as you can, at least it will stay cold as long as you like, pending bottle.
AnswerID: 529690