Hilux failed clutch at 51000km

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 22, 2014 at 21:02
ThreadID: 108453 Views:6070 Replies:12 FollowUps:18
This Thread has been Archived
I have a 2012 Hilux SR5 and at 51000 km the clutch has failed and the dealer's warranty clerk has rejected the warranty claim due to abuse of the vehicle. I have been driving 4wd's for over 30 years and have never been accused of vehicle abuse. I am kicking myself from not bringing the smelly clutch to the attention of the service people the first time that I noticed the smell. The repairs have cost in excess of $3000 and I am at my wit's end as to where to from here. I would like you to post this issue on your forum so that other owners are aware of the issue and that they scream hard and loud until they get a result. The clutch plate has worn down to the transverse grooves and in my opinion this is a result of very poor surfacing material used in its manufacture. This disaster has also cost me a week's accommodation as the failure occurred 1000km from home and I have lost a week's work as well. These dealers have a lot to answer for as they don't know the meaning of compassion. I can provide photos if needed.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Ross M - Sunday, Jun 22, 2014 at 22:09

Sunday, Jun 22, 2014 at 22:09
Shipo,
Because of the smell a clutch produces when frying the plate, it is surprising the service men who have had their noses in close proximity to the bell housing, haven't noticed it without your input.
Their olfactory system isn't working in their factory!
I would ask how they determine it was abused, and ask for a detailed explanation, on what grounds the warranty is being denied.
Just a claimed statement of presumed abuse isn't much of a reason.

Does the vehicle tow a lot? Was the clutch freeplay correct, has it been checked and marked in service book etc at service time?