Strange fridge question

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 12:40
ThreadID: 108981 Views:2277 Replies:14 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
I've just bought a little budget camper trailer and I don't feel like shelling out for a fridge for the camper and another smaller one for the car for day trips. I also don't want to cart a big fridge around in the car. So I have a question:

As a lapsed engineer, I have worked out that (in theory) a 70 litre icebox with 35mm of insulation will take just under two days to melt 8 kilos (litres) of ice at 25 degrees of outside temperature - provided of course that you don't open the lid, keep the icebox in a shaded place and put everything cold or frozen into the icebox to start with. It's equivalent to two bags of ice, which doesn't sound too wide of the mark. That's the theory anyhow.

So I am thinking of having a 70 litre icebox in the camper and a little fridge/freezer in the car. Then I can rotate four 2 litre containers of frozen water between icebox and fridge every day or so, depending on the heat.

The cost is about $1,000 for fridge and icebox compared to over $2,500 for one large and one small fridge.

Does that sound viable? I guess I should buy the icebox plus a bag of ice and test the theory in the lounge room first. But is anyone using this method and can you see a fatal flaw?

Keith
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: CSeaJay - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 13:54

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 13:54
It may be viable but it depends so much on your space needs.
Remember, 8 kg of ice robs you of space. By rotating beteween the two you loose potentially more than 12 litres of Space.
To us that is too valuable, both from a space inside the cooler AND the space that extra cooler space actually occupies in the car/van
CJ
AnswerID: 536995

Reply By: gbc - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 14:10

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 14:10