Touring by bus

Submitted: Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 17:45
ThreadID: 108985 Views:2026 Replies:8 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
Hello all,

Until now, we have done our touring living in a camper trailer but are looking
at stepping up the comfort level. I have come across a bus (30foot+)
in very good nick for a very low price.
As a tradesman carpenter I would love to turn it into a mobile caravan.
We have a spare suzuki sierra to tow behind for side trips.
My question is, do all or most or any caravan parks accept large buses?

Thanks to any who have experienced the answer,

Greg.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Andrew D7 - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 18:01

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 18:01
Greg the biggest issue is do you have deep pockets financially to run a 30' bus. Second hand buses are cheap because nobody wants them. The old technology buses use heaps of fuel and if something breaks mechanically you are up for big Big BIG $$$. I have friends that have tipped out of buses purely because of the running costs. Most large buses are getting 2km/l diesel. 500km trip 220 to 250L diesel OUCH
Buying a bus cheap is one thing, the other thing is the cost of running a 30' bus.

"caravan parks" I have heard of them, and believe some people use them, but we don't.
AnswerID: 537017

Reply By: Ross M - Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 18:56

Saturday, Aug 02, 2014 at 18:56
If you want to fit out a bus by yourself, it is best to find out what is legally required well before you buy a bus. Many buses are sold because they are not mechanically sound, yours may be, but best to check.

On the building aspect, it is no use buying one, if when you want to register it, all the work doesn't comply with what your Rego people want or will alow.
A must know first situation.

A 40' Scania gets 3km/l and some hold 1000litre of fuel. I used to drive a few of those interstate, all from the same fleet.