265 or 285 tyres?

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 07, 2014 at 23:34
ThreadID: 109059 Views:12627 Replies:13 FollowUps:44
Hey guys.
Im really doing my own head in and have for quiet a while about this. I have a 100series landcruiser 4.5 petrol/gas. Its due for some new tyres now but I cant decide. I have my mind pretty well set on bfg all terrains but not sure weather to stay with the stock 265 75 16 tyres or go with the slightly larger 285 75 16. I will be doing majority black top but as im just getting my license want to do a little bit of travelling. Can anybody help me out?

Reply By: blown4by - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 00:03

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 00:03
I would go the 285's provided your rims are wide enough to legally accept the increased width. I just went through the same exercise whether to stick with the stock 275/65R17's or get 285/70R17's. I chose to go with the larger size for two main reasons. 1. It gave me a 22mm lift for the cost of a set of tyres which I needed anyway. 2. The larger tyres have a bigger load rating meaning that with the same load I have a tougher tyre. Also they look pretty good too. I looked at the BFG's because of their claimed 3 ply wall but settled on Bridgestone D697's which have done the GRR twice now, the Bungle Bungles, the Kalumburu road to Mitchell Falls, the Munga Track and a lot of other rough off highway work in the Kimberleys. Touch wood, they haven't even got a puncture yet, they are wearing well and evenly and there is no sign of chipping. Get your tyre supplier to fit one up and try it front and rear and make sure it fits in the spare tyre carrier as well before you buy a set. Check for clearance lock to lock and estimate if you will still have clearance when the suspension bottoms out. Good luck.
AnswerID: 537340

Reply By: Member - John F (VIC) - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 07:05

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 07:05
I have had a 100 series for 10 years. During this time I have had 265, 275, and 285 tyres. I must say I hated the 265, did not mind the 275 and loved the 285 which I still run on the car to this day. The only problem with 285 tyres is the speed you are travelling at will be higher than the speedometer is showing.
Warm regards and safe travels.
AnswerID: 537342

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 07:41

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 07:41
On the up side, you'll have 5-10% less kilometres on the clock when you want to sell the car, not to mention the slightly fewer services.
FollowupID: 821616

Follow Up By: baznpud (tassie) - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 09:02

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 09:02
Our 100 series is 12 years old and have running BGF 285/75/16 on it since new, wouldn't have any thing else.
baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 821618

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 09:38

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 09:38
If I may ask you two a question. We have two sets of steel rims, one with 265's and the other with 285's. We have a 2005 100 series IFS 4.2TD and with the 285's it kicks back a gear quite quickly. We have a heavy car (GVM What's that!!!). Aklso the fuel usage has increased by about 2 litres per hundred. We don't push it but do maintain a close to limit speed. I am only asking about bitumen driving.

Off road performance of the 285 has been excellent. But it's a long drive to the destinations that we now prefer (CSR, GCR etc) and mostly on bitumen both there and back. I am wondering about selling the 285's. Maybe we need a bit of work on the motor. Not interested in chips etc and would like to keep it standard.

So. . What have the 285's done to the fuel consumption? And if you have an auto does it seem to kick back more then the 265's.?
FollowupID: 821622

Follow Up By: Member - John F (VIC) - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:04

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:04
We tow a caravan when loaded is just over 3 ton. Since purchasing the caravan 6 months ago I have stopped using cruise control and find the 100 series preforms much better and is able to stay in 5th gear a lot more. Unfortunately I find the cruise control very aggressive on the cruiser. It appears desperate to hold its speed. The 100 series preforms much better when you let it do its own thing if that makes sense.
I come to the conclusion when travelling if I need to look at 1 or 2 litres difference per 100 I am better off staying home and not travelling. Life is to short, enjoy this great country of ours.
FollowupID: 821624

Follow Up By: wholehog- Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:18

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:18
John, why do you want the vehicle to maintain 5th gear when your towing a van..?
FollowupID: 821626

Follow Up By: matth j - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 11:11

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 11:11
Hi john what is the reason you didn't like the smaller tyres?
FollowupID: 821632

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 11:40

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 11:40

When you add 2 litres for the roof rack, another 2 for the heavy car, 2 more for the van and then another 2 litres for the larger tyres it is worth talking about. When empty, on one drive I got 10 litres for 100 on cruise control Canberra to Adelaide and return. Recently going to Alice we were using 17 litres per 100 with the van, full car, 285's and cruise on/off didn't make any noticeable difference. No wonder it was 25 litres per 100 recently on the Canning.

I was just wondering what others got and how their auto boxes performed.

I am not saying it is an issue at all. Neither was diesel at $3.40 / ltre on the CSR. Just wondering mate. What do you get? And I agree about the aggressive auto box. I am not keen on sitting on 2500 rev + for miles on end. So I "work" the overdrive a bit and drive with a light foot to keep the box from jumping back. Not really about fuel usage.
FollowupID: 821635

Follow Up By: Krooznalong - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 13:27

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 13:27
Hey Freshstart
Have you allowed for the error in odometer reading when calculating your fuel consumption with the 285s? Your odometer will show less kms than what you have actually covered.
FollowupID: 821642

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 13:48

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 13:48
Sure did. Those figures are not accurate. But there is a distinct 2 litres difference.

Did you find the auto box dropping back a lot more than expected?
FollowupID: 821643

Follow Up By: Krooznalong - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:02

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:02
Can't comment re box dynamics in 265 v 285 situation as mine has had 285s since I bought it.

However I find mine doesn't want to drop back at all unless I really sink the boot in - which I don't like to do. I often manually drop it back to 4 when towing the camper trailer because it wants to stay in top/OD.

BTW mine gets about 15.5 ltrs per 100 (or approx 6.5 kms per ltr) when unladen (worked out on a recent 500+ km run that included all sorts of on-road terrain, driving normally i.e. not especially aiming for economy). Standard motor but with 3" exhaust.
FollowupID: 821644

Follow Up By: matth j - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:21

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:21
I feel like it allready drops a gear pretty quickly it s auto. Would a snorkel and exhaust help with fuel economy?
FollowupID: 821646

Follow Up By: Krooznalong - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:29

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:29
Freshie - re above fuel figures - forgot to state that it's a V8 petrol.

Matth j - better exhaust certainly helped mine. However it suspect it will take many many kms to recover the cost. As with most fuel saving options you really need to weigh up the cost v benefit. HOWEVER it now sounds bloody awesome compared to pre 3" exhaust.

Already had a snorkel when I bought it. I suspect a snorkel will not make much difference - just provides ability to source cleaner air and provides extra comfort for water crossings.
FollowupID: 821647

Follow Up By: Member - John F (VIC) - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:39

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:39
To Matth j
Probably personal choice I did not like the smaller tyres. The car feels better to me with the 285 tyres. Maybe it is my farming background coming out on me.
We could start another discussion with 4 rib or 5 rib pattern tyres. This may also open a can of worms.
FollowupID: 821649

Follow Up By: Member - John F (VIC) - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:48

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:48
hi Freshstart
On a recent trip from Melbourne to Broome I averaged 21 lts per 100 klms. Roof rack, 2 jerry cans(full for most of the trip) a spare tire on the roof rack and dirt roads for some of the journey and had a tail wind for the entire journey.
Had a quick trip home due to family commitments and did not keep any records but used considerably more diesel. experienced some head and side winds on the way home.
FollowupID: 821650

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 15:42

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 15:42
Thanks all. Apart from one instance where the auto is reluctant to drop backl we are about the average. That'l do me. Put the 285's on for home work and the more aggressive 285's on for the bush.
FollowupID: 821653

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 14:58

Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 14:58
Changing your tyres from 265 275 or 285 will NOT change your speed speedo or your gearing, these numbers only effect your width.

If your change your profile or diameter eg: 60 70 75 this will have an effect on your speedo as in KPH, it won't change your speedometer reading for Kms travelled this is measured through the gearbox / transmission.

FollowupID: 821695

Follow Up By: Slow one - Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 15:09

Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 15:09
Phil it will change your rolling diameter.

Here is an example from the exploroz tyre calculator

Select Wheel/Tyre 1 / R 265/75/16
Select Wheel/Tyre 2 / R 285/75/16
Results for your selected Wheel/Tyre 1
Rolling Radius 401.95mm
Circumference 2525.53mm
Diameter 803.9mm

Results for your selected Wheel/Tyre 2
Rolling Radius 416.95mm
Circumference 2619.77mm
Diameter 833.9mm

Differences between Wheel/Tyre 1 & 2
Rolling Radius 15mm
Circumference 94.24mm
Diameter 30mm
When your speedo reads 100km/hr you're actually at 103.6 km/hr
FollowupID: 821696

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 15:33

Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 15:33
Slow one that calculator is simply wrong then.

If the profile of the tyre is 75 then it is the same diameter, the only difference those tyres have is the width 265 verses 285.

Look here it shows and explains the width profile and rim size.
FollowupID: 821697

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 17:13

Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 17:13
When I change MY tyres from the 265's to the 285's the speedo loses accuracy. If I had changed the profile or rim diameter then I would have said so. They are all 75/16 tyres on exactly the same rims.

With the 265's the speedo matches the gps and both show 110 KPH at 110 KPH. With the 285's and the speedo showing 105 KPH, the GPS says 110 KPH.

I know the speedo is out when the 285's are on the car. And I know roughly by how much, so I can remain below the speed limit. If I choose to do so.

Besides it's of no consequence because my question was about fuel consumption and the auto box performance.
FollowupID: 821699

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 17:25

Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 17:25
I may have been a little aggressive with that last post. Lets put it this way. I have ten steel rims all the same size. One one set of 5 rims I have 265 tyres and on the other 5 I have 285 tyres. All are 75/16. The speedo reads true with the 265's on the car and reads slow with the 285's on the car.

Width doesn't change nor does the rim size change but the diameter is different. Thus a speedo error and a different torque for the auto box to work with. The box tends to drop back quicker (more aggressive) with the 285's on the car. I was wondering how others with the same change of wheels experienced.
FollowupID: 821700

Follow Up By: Slow one - Sunday, Aug 10, 2014 at 06:42

Sunday, Aug 10, 2014 at 06:42
Aussie Traveller,
No that calculator is not wrong and so are none of the others.

Here is another one picked at random as it was the first one that came up.

Next tyre calculator.

Just go in and spec two tyres from the same manufacturer, and you will see the height difference with the same aspect ratio. 75% of 265 and 75% of 285 is why there is a height difference.
FollowupID: 821709

Follow Up By: wholehog- Sunday, Aug 10, 2014 at 09:55

Sunday, Aug 10, 2014 at 09:55
AUSSI.....read the 1st post mate...read it in its context.

"I have my mind pretty well set on bfg all terrains but not sure weather to stay with the stock 265 75 16 tyres or go with the slightly larger 285 75 16."

As said above..the 75 in a tyre profile is a % of the width...simple maths will sort the rest out.

As 'ol mate said...265/75×16tyres vs 285/75×16 tyres.....your the only person it seems AUSSI that isolated the discussion into the metric width of the tyre ONLY.

Are the 285's going to be a bit taller and a larger rolling diametre..AUSSI..?...than 265's...in the wording of the original poster..?
FollowupID: 821711

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Monday, Aug 11, 2014 at 20:43

Monday, Aug 11, 2014 at 20:43
Yep I got it wrong, I apologize profusely, so here is the tip don't post after a good night out. LOL sorry to all concerned.

Phil who is happy to acmit his faults
FollowupID: 821804

Reply By: pop2jocem - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 08:09

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 08:09
My young bloke's got a 105 series, solid axle front end, and he has run 285/75x16 tyres for some time. Work well in most off road situations. He is currently on Mickey Thompson AT. The only problem he has is that being a non turbo diesel it struggles on hills. With the 4.5 petrol you shouldn't have that drama.
As has been said watch your speed, get the speedo re-calibrated or maybe get ready to lose the licence for a bit longer...lol

AnswerID: 537344

Follow Up By: Member - John F (VIC) - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:35

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:35
reply to wholehog. If I am able to keep the car in 5th keep the revs are down and not using cruise control also helps.
FollowupID: 821648

Follow Up By: wholehog- Sunday, Aug 10, 2014 at 10:06

Sunday, Aug 10, 2014 at 10:06
Keeping the revs down doesnt automatically equate to less fuel usage.
5th gear is an overdrive gear..it is an engine torque reducer..as opposed th 3,2, 1st gears that multiply engine torgue to the differentials and wheels.
When towing...its not 2.6-3 ton your asking the engine to propel..its likely 4-6ish ton..hence the vehicle doesnt like an over drive gear..and smartly chooses not to use it ...and is better at 4th gear...1:1 ratio...where 100% of the flywheel torque is able to be put straight thru the gearbox to its destination..and not be reduced by over gearing.

FollowupID: 821712

Reply By: matth j - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:11

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:11
Thanks for the replies. Could anybody tell me how much fuel I can expect to lose and also how far roughly the speedo will be out? Also is it expensive to get the speedo recalibrate? Thanks guys!
AnswerID: 537357

Follow Up By: wholehog- Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:16

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:16
The difference is 4%.

When checking fuel consumption...from a fillup to a fillup, add 4% to the distance travelled, otherwise your worked figure is gunna be worse than it really is.
FollowupID: 821625

Follow Up By: matth j - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:22

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:22
Thanks mate ;)
Seems like the speedo is the only real problem when onroad.
FollowupID: 821627

Follow Up By: chisel - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:38

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:38
Since the speedo would've been showing a few % higher than the actual speed with the 265s, the 285s will only cause the speedo to be fractionally wrong in my experience. 1 or 2% typically.
FollowupID: 821631

Follow Up By: Freshstart - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 11:47

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 11:47
My speedo shows 5 KPH low when on the 285's instead of the 265's. We swap then depending on where we go. Withe the 285's on, and travelling at 110KPH the GPS shows 110 and the speedo reads 105.

I also refer to the GPS reading a lot, just to be sure. Then I don't have to remember what tyres I have on.
FollowupID: 821637

Reply By: 671 - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:36

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 10:36
matth j

Why do you think you need bigger tyres? If you think they are needed for improved traction in rough conditions then you may be looking in the wrong direction.

You would be hard pressed finding a track in the entire country that has not been crossed countless times over the last 70 years or so with a 7.00 a 7.50 or a 205 x 16. I am not suggesting you buy those but you don't need anything larger than what you currently have. I have driven all over places like the Vic. High Country, the Simpson, the Sandy Blight Junction road, the Gunbarrel Hwy, the Connie Sue Hwy and plenty of other Outback roads on standard size 205s without the slightest bit of trouble.

Have a look at these links. These are just three of many you will find on the net that are saying much the same thing. .

http://www.aulro.com/afvb/technical-chatter/44421-narrow-tyres-v-wide-tyres.html

http://www.openroad.iinet.net.au/tyremyths.html

http://www.outbackcrossing.com.au/FourWheelDrive/Truth_About_4WD_Tyres.shtml
AnswerID: 537360

Follow Up By: matth j - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 11:17

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 11:17
Thanks mate they were good to read. Although some people say they found driving so much better on 285's. I dont know what im going to do yet.
FollowupID: 821633

Follow Up By: 671 - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 19:13

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 19:13
"Although some people say they found driving so much better on 285's."
-----------------------------------------------------

The real test is how the car performs in an emergency situation. It is easy to change the design of a car while totally focused on making it perform better on rough tracks and completely forgetting what you have done to its on road handling. One problem with a larger diameter tyre is it will act as a longer lever on the brakes and the car will take longer to stop. When you start studying suspension design, you will soon see a few more potential problems.

This is another good read.http://www.caravanandmotorhomebooks.com/pdf/vehicle_dynamics_complete.pdf It doesn't go deeply into suspension design and tyres but there is enough there to let you see that there is more involved than meets the eye. It was written by a former GM research engineer who has spent many decades studying suspension development and electronics and putting it into technical publications.
FollowupID: 821667

Reply By: matth j - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:23

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:23
Also has anybody recalibrated their speedos? Is it worth it and whats it cost?
AnswerID: 537379

Follow Up By: Slow one - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 17:13

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 17:13
MJ,
you never worry about calibrating your speedo, just use a gps and when it says you are doing 100 look at the speedo and if it says 95, then that is what you travel at in a 100 zone.

I had 285's for years and new exactly where my speed was at at times.

I use a gps for all my speed readings, as it is much easier than using the speedo on most vehicles.

I did find the 285's really good, but I also had the torque to turn them, so fuel consumption didn't suffer much at all.
FollowupID: 821657

Follow Up By: blown4by - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 22:51

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 22:51
I wouldn't get the speedo recalibrated. With the Patrol you can buy different teeth speedo pulse generator drive gears which go in the output section of the transmission. The are ex Nissan and mine cost me about 35 bucks. They are easy to replace and you only lose about a cup full of fluid which you replace afterwards. Not sure what the Toyota situation is. The other option is a 'speedo convertor' which adjusts the speedo read out to read what you want it to taking account of the correction factor you need. GPS is another option or you just travel 5 or 6 KPH slower (or whatever the correction factor is) than the legal speed and you won't get booked
FollowupID: 821676

Reply By: Member - Balvenie Pastoral - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:30

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 14:30
Check out the legality of the 285's. If they are deemed "oversize", there may be implications with insurance and overzealous enforcers of the law. I wanted 285's on a new Prado and the Toyota dealership refused outright to fit them. The "legal" tyre sizes are listed on a sticker on the door pillar. Who said the Law ain't an ass !
AnswerID: 537380

Follow Up By: matth j - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 17:19

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 17:19
I believe the standard size is 275 70 16 for my cruiser, and I also believe that your allowed maximum of 25mm lift from tyres therefore a 50mm larger tyre circumferance!
FollowupID: 821659

Reply By: Mal J1 - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 17:15

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 17:15
Hi Matt
I have had a 4.5 petrol/gas auto 105 and had both size tyres. The 285's were great but if your mainly on the blacktop then my opinion is stay with the standard tyres. With the 285's the power in the auto was down and fuel consumption was up and with the price of gas these days it does add up.
If mainly black topping then why do you need to increase fuel consumption and lose power by having 285's (yes they do look better on a hunjy mind you).
My experience here is just being practicable not the bling factor.
Just my 2bob's worth.

Mal
AnswerID: 537386

Follow Up By: matth j - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 17:54

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 17:54
Thanks mal.
Id rather stay standard size for many reasons. Im just thinking iam going for my license soon and want to do a bit of exploring and definetely dont want to make the wrong decision with the cost of tyres now! I just dont wanna buy one or the other and wish I brought the other size.
Thanks mate
FollowupID: 821664

Reply By: Member - Russler - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 18:26

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 18:26
G'day matth j,
I've got a GU2 4.2TD. My standard road tyres are 265/70/16, but I also had a set of 285/75/16 BFG A/T's for quite a few years. Whilst the 285's performed very well off-road, there were a few things worth pointing out:
1) The larger tyres put the speedo out by about 7% (100 on the dial was about 107 on the road). There's a tyre size calculator on this site to help you compare different tyre sizes,
2) They are big and heavy, so changing them was more difficult than with the smaller tyres,
3) The car did not accelerate as well as when it had the smaller tyres on,
4) Whilst you're only lifting the car approx 10-20mm, keep an eye on Max Headroom when entering garages and carparks, etc. (admittedly rarely a problem), and
5) It's very difficult to find a new 285 when out touring. We popped one when out north of Broken Hill a few years ago, and it took 4 days to get the same size freighted up from Adelaide. You can of course carry a second carcase to mitigate against this.

I actually ended up selling the used 285's for a reasonable sum, and downsized to 265/75/16. I'll see how these go for a while but may consider upsizing again in the future.
AnswerID: 537389

Reply By: matth j - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 19:32

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 19:32
I see both sides have strong points. Guess it just working out if the extra height and width is worth some bad points. For me I reckon they look great and would make me more confident offroad for sure. But with that the bad points might outweigh them. ( when I had my 02 hilux I went 4wheeling once with stock size wheels and really quick bleep myself, especially because of big ruts my car would bottom out easily which put me off 4wds)
Thanks for everbody input I will let yous know what I decide when I do. ;)
AnswerID: 537394

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 22:25

Friday, Aug 08, 2014 at 22:25
Matt,
Best not to get too technical, but for a young fella like yourself, go the 285's - they look better - fill the guards better, and give you valuable extra clearance when you're 4wding. You'll also get more miles out of them.
AnswerID: 537404

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 06:16

Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 06:16
This is the correct answer for a young bloke, get the ones that look the best!
A not young myself would do the same
FollowupID: 821684

Reply By: matth j - Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 01:11

Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 01:11
Cheers everybody thanks for the help!
AnswerID: 537409

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 01:36

Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 01:36
The width of a tyre is 265, 275, 285.

The hight ( diameter ) ( profile) of a tyre is 65, 70, 75.

The rim size is 15", 16", 17".

Here Look

so much info on this thread is so wrong.
FollowupID: 821683

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 06:58

Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 06:58
Hey Matt, make sure you get the hight right.... :-)
FollowupID: 821685

Follow Up By: matth j - Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 07:23

Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 07:23
Thanks sure will
FollowupID: 821686

Follow Up By: Malcolm 02 - Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 10:58

Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 10:58
No ones mentioned that the 285's go much better in the sand.
FollowupID: 821691

Follow Up By: matth j - Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 12:23

Saturday, Aug 09, 2014 at 12:23
I will hopefully be driving to perth this christmas and most likely on the beach so thats good!
FollowupID: 821692

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Monday, Aug 11, 2014 at 19:10

Monday, Aug 11, 2014 at 19:10
Aussie Traveller, 75% of 265 is 198.75mm sidewall height on the 265. 75% of 285 is 213.75mm sidewall height on the 285. That means that the 285 has a sidewall 15mm larger than the 265. Therefore the radius of the 285 is 15mm larger and the diameter is 30mm larger (2x radius). That is exactly what the tyre size calculater says too.
FollowupID: 821795

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Monday, Aug 11, 2014 at 20:42

Monday, Aug 11, 2014 at 20:42
Yep I got it wrong, I apologize profusely, so here is the tip don't post after a good night out. LOL sorry to all concerned.

Phil who is happy to admit his faults.
FollowupID: 821803

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Monday, Aug 11, 2014 at 22:36

Monday, Aug 11, 2014 at 22:36
Cheers Phil, you're ok by me. :-)
FollowupID: 821807

Reply By: Member - Chriso100 - Monday, Aug 11, 2014 at 12:39

Monday, Aug 11, 2014 at 12:39
Hey Matt. Nobody has mentioned the major dramas you have with the door handles when you go up to that size tyre! It changes they way they operate!

Ok so I'm being silly here, but there have been so many different answers to your question that I thought I would try to be if some help too!
Good luck with the door handles...lol.
AnswerID: 537549