food supplies around Tibooburra

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 10, 2014 at 20:07
ThreadID: 109465 Views:2301 Replies:9 FollowUps:6

Can anyone help out to what the restocking of food supplies in Tibooburra is like? we will be traveling to the corner with another family in a couple of weeks time and was wondering if general supplies ie bread milk meat fruit ect. are readily available as this would save us taking a lot of food with us from home.

Also is there any laundry facilities available out there?

Thanks for your time
Trevor

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2014 at 20:19

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2014 at 20:19
Not a lot of selection fruit wise but pretty good other than that, the servo has groceries as has the cafe opposite the single story pub ( next to NPWS building)
Laundry facilities are available at van park as well as showers

AnswerID: 538929

Reply By: Trev6 - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2014 at 20:33

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2014 at 20:33
Thanks, we will be staying in some of the national park sites so I was thinking more of a Laundromat type of thing.

Trevor
AnswerID: 538930

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2014 at 22:17

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2014 at 22:17
We just pay at the servo to use the van park facilities, I think the washing machines are coin operated ( never used them myself)
They had a power black out in Tib this morning, took out the whole. Town including Wilcannia and Cobar

If you are coming up from Broken Hill they have tar now all the way bar 20k of it
FollowupID: 823512

Reply By: philip t jones - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2014 at 20:55

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2014 at 20:55
there used to be a couple of machines that you could use by the national park office I do not know if they are still available
AnswerID: 538931

Reply By: Grant Tas - Wednesday, Sep 10, 2014 at 23:32

Wednesday, Sep 10, 2014 at 23:32
Hi Trevor
We stocked up in Broken Hill with food and diesel. Camp at the van park, pay at the servo/store.
Pubs are great.
Unless they have done more tarring since last October there is quiet a lot of unsealed road.
We stayed over night at Packsaddle on the way up as we had a head wind all the way.
The road out to the corner was good except for when entering the national park last 30 kms.
Grant
AnswerID: 538941

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Thursday, Sep 11, 2014 at 18:59

Thursday, Sep 11, 2014 at 18:59
Grant I drove that route last weekend and sadly it is all but bitumen now
FollowupID: 823555

Reply By: wombat100 - Thursday, Sep 11, 2014 at 16:10

Thursday, Sep 11, 2014 at 16:10
Great camp spot- Dead Horse Gully- up in the granite boulders about 2 km outa town.
Highly recommended.

AnswerID: 538961

Follow Up By: Member-Heather MG NSW - Thursday, Sep 11, 2014 at 16:51

Thursday, Sep 11, 2014 at 16:51
Yes, I agree that Dead Horse Gully is a good place to camp. There are toilets, free barbeques, water (not sure if potable).. Nice walk to do and also the site of old gold mining area is close by to take a wander through.

We used it for a base for a few days, parked our van and did day trips to Cameron Corner, the loop drive through Sturt National park, and to Milparinka and the historic sites near there before continuing on through Warri gate to Innamincka.
Love that country at the cool time of the year and would love to go back!

Suggest you take dried, canned and frozen fruit and vegetables to supplement your fresh supplies as they are in rather limited in Tibooburra.
I recall that there were public showers and toilets in the town, for the cost of a donation to the RFDS, payable at the Hotel across the road. Not sure about washing machines.

regards,

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

FollowupID: 823548

Reply By: Steve - Friday, Sep 12, 2014 at 18:38

Friday, Sep 12, 2014 at 18:38
Was in Tib the other day and the store/roadhouse has bread and meat in a big chest freezer but don't expect a great variety although they did have some good bread options. Tinned and packet goods also but again, a bit limited. Some things you take for granted in your local supermarket might not be available but still, you can stock up reasonably well and prices weren't too bad either. Depends if you're prepared to be flexible but if you want all your fave goodies, you better bring them with you.
AnswerID: 539025

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Sep 12, 2014 at 19:10

Friday, Sep 12, 2014 at 19:10
Yep a fair analysis
I was talking to one of the Tib locals and she was saying how un isolated they are, she said if they need anything they just pop down to Broken Hill for the day to pick it up hahaha

It is all what you get used to I suppose
FollowupID: 823600

Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Sep 12, 2014 at 19:18

Friday, Sep 12, 2014 at 19:18
btw Alby, was the blackout a result of the high winds?
FollowupID: 823601

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Friday, Sep 12, 2014 at 19:22

Friday, Sep 12, 2014 at 19:22
I didn't hear what caused them in the end, when I was told nobody new the cause at the time but I assume it was related. My mate had to stay in the hotel as it was too windy to tent it and it was like a dust storm
FollowupID: 823604

Reply By: allein m - Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 15:12

Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 15:12
most station people come into Broken Hill for shopping we have woolies and a brand new coles store and check out coles mince they have it on special every day

Woolies is next to Mcdonalds and just around the corner is the new coles store
AnswerID: 539043

Reply By: Sigmund - Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 19:32

Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 19:32
Check the quarantine regs too - very little in the way of fruit & veg can be taken into SA.
AnswerID: 539049

Reply By: Kirkster72 - Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 19:47

Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 19:47
Hi, if you get a chance i highly recomend Cobham lake, its between Packsaddle & Tibooburra on the Silver City Hwy. one side is a salt lake & the other freshwater, a beautiful place to watch the sun go down!

cheers Bryan
AnswerID: 539079