Comment: Solar Power

Does anyone have any info on the flexible type of solar panels stuck directly onto the roof of a caravan. The idea appeals to me as they are lighter, forms to the shape of the roof, no gap for rubbish to collect under and are less noticeable. But are they still efficient or much less so than the others. I would appreciate some knowledge, not just opinions. PeterC50
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Lisa & Peter (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 11, 2014 at 14:03

Thursday, Sep 11, 2014 at 14:03
We added two 90 watt panels to our existing panel before our last trip. Very happy with them, very light and efficiency seems similar to others though I am no expert.
AnswerID: 538957

Follow Up By: Member - Lisa & Peter (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 11, 2014 at 15:16

Thursday, Sep 11, 2014 at 15:16
Our roof pops up at an angle so that helps a bit
FollowupID: 823545

Reply By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 11, 2014 at 14:36

Thursday, Sep 11, 2014 at 14:36
Hello Peter,

I put 4 x 50 watt thin panels on the fibreglass roof of my Kimberley Karavan.

Putting aside the strength of the sunlight and other uncontrollable factors there are two major factors that will affect efficiency of the panels

- orientation with respect to the sun
- temperature of the panels.

If they are fixed to your roof you cannot orient them for max efficiency.

And, if they are fixed flat on the roof they get no ventilation underneath and get hot. How hot depends on your roof.Mine's fibreglass so it doesn't carry much heat away so the cells get pretty hot.

The best I've seen out of my 200 watts on the roof is 130 watts. Most times it is about 100 watts (measured). Not much return on investment so not for everyone, but in my power hungry setup it is a handy extra to my portable panels.

Cheers

FrankP

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 538959

Follow Up By: Les PK Ranger - Thursday, Sep 11, 2014 at 14:41

Thursday, Sep 11, 2014 at 14:41