Tunit chip on 4.5 V8

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 08:29
ThreadID: 109488 Views:4927 Replies:4 FollowUps:23
Has anyone had personal or close to personal experience with a Toyota V8 in a 70 series?

Reply By: Member - Rosco from way back - Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 10:05

Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 10:05
Check out http://www.lcool.org/forum/
Heaps of info there as a lot of the fellas have chipped their units. Buggered if I know why though as they are quite adequate in standard form.
AnswerID: 539039

Follow Up By: Les PK Ranger - Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 10:59

Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 10:59
Tes, a good ECU tune will deliver similar benefits, have it running as best possible, and safer overall.
Tune cost similar to a chip.
Still best to already have good air in and exhaust upgrade, and running an EGT gauge.
FollowupID: 823618

Follow Up By: Les PK Ranger - Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 11:00

Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 11:00
Yes, < another request for an edit button, even for a few minutes :)
FollowupID: 823619

Follow Up By: garrycol - Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 13:48

Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 13:48
The 4.5 single turbo a pretty low power low torque engine for its engine size - when loaded up it does struggle a bit.

The 4.5 in the 200 series is great though.
FollowupID: 823621

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 15:36

Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 15:36
Yep ... the 200 twin turbo is wild by comparison. A pity the manual transmission in the 70 can't handle the extra grunt. But then again, from my perspective, the 70 isn't punching above it's weight, which indicates it should go the distance in the longevity stakes. An issue of concern to me with the smaller capacity donks around putting out similar figures.
FollowupID: 823627

Follow Up By: garrycol - Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 16:04

Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 16:04
The engine does not a have a great reliabilty record. Why would a smaller sized engine with the same power and torque be less reliable when its internals will be designed to take the power. They will have the same size or bigger internals so will be just as reliable - and have proven to be so.
FollowupID: 823628

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 16:42

Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 16:42
"The engine does not a have a great reliability record."

Whats the problem with them?
FollowupID: 823631

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 19:06

Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 19:06
The biggest problem I have noticed with the smaller capacity engines I have personally driven is simply that they rely on higher revs to develop torque. Stuff up a gear change and lose boost and you're buggered. That doesn't seem to be as much of an issue when you get max torque from a relatively low 1200rpm.
FollowupID: 823634

Follow Up By: Member - Terry W3 - Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 12:56

Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 12:56
As the old story goes, You can't beat cubic inches !
FollowupID: 823657

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 13:28

Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 13:28
So we have to put up with low powered (for their capacity) fuel guzzlers.

For sure a high tech, high efficiency engine of big capacity will always beat a small engine of the same characteristics.

The problem is engine builders like the Americans and Japanese go for more power etc by taking the easy route by going for bigger capacity not making more efficient engines.

Unfortunately or unfortunately you can beat cubic inches and you only have to look at modern diesels for this using the two Toyota 4.5 engines as the benchmark - plenty of more powerful, more torquey engines of smaller capacity.
FollowupID: 823659

Follow Up By: braggy - Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 18:27

Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 18:27
garrycol..I'm also interested in

"The engine does not have a great reliability record"

Whats wrong with it ?
FollowupID: 823676

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 19:48

Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 19:48
You can search as well as I can
FollowupID: 823683

Follow Up By: garrycol - Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 19:49

Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 19:49
Start with oil, starter, alternator
FollowupID: 823684

Follow Up By: Member - Terry W3 - Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 21:24

Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 21:24
Keep saving mate , one day you will be able to afford one.
Our 76 doesn't burn a drop of oil. Starter, well plenty of cars have issues with hard to get to items, I don't really care . alternator, same story so be it . You can bag the car all you like , but they continue to sell boat loads of them.
I still believe towing at max weight with a large capacity engine is easier than a small four cylinder.
Done both and I know which I prefer.
FollowupID: 823690

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 02:44

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 02:44
Yes have to agree, the smaller motors might do it but you can feel them working a lot harder to achieve it
The cruiser diesel is by design a lazy under stressed motor that just keeps ticking over
All vehicles have there issues, if you want to see some problems check out the Amarok forum for a start
FollowupID: 823700

Follow Up By: braggy - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 07:16

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 07:16
I to have a 76 series, 3" exhaust and chipit chip, EGT monitor.
Did exhaust and chip at same time so can't help with comparison,
But when I take the chip off,I sure can notice the difference

No oil lost in 70,000km, , It goes off road and half of those kms is towing a 2.5 ton off road van.
Only problem has been A/C plug came out of ECU on the OTT.
Most of the starter and alternator problems are blocked with mud(poor maintanence)

If you want engine unrelability have a look at Land Rover V6,
I had both 2.7lt and 3lt Discos, great car but unreliable, you could search just about any engine part and find a failure .
FollowupID: 823706

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 17:02

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 17:02
"Start with oil, starter, alternator"

Oh so much misconception and another classic example of a world wide web myth by people who don't own them.

It never seems to amaze me someone who doesn't own one or has never driven one always seems to have the most problems.

As braggy said....... "you could search just about any engine part and find a failure ."

100% true but many seem to forget this important fact.

Terry W3........ Running a workshop I can rattle of many vehicles, problems and parts that are hard to work on..... but then again as I say to my guys "Nothing is hard' it just takes longer, you want hard, try carrying 100 X 20kg bags of cement up a steep hill in 40+Deg. heat.... that's hard".
FollowupID: 823720

Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 17:54

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 17:54
You don't know me - you do not know what my personal experiences with these vehicles are.

I have personal experiences with a 11MY from new and it was gotten rid of after 35,000km.

No misconceptions - so don't make assumptions.

I am with Braggy - all engines do have their issues but the 4.5 is just overrated.
FollowupID: 823726

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 19:20

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 19:20
Because one that you have had experience with doesn't everyone is doomed to fail.

Instead of having us guessing why not tell us what your involvement with the Toyota is..."..it doesn't have to be a secret!

Did you have direct involvement or is it " my mate at the pub next door neighbours sister.........."

If I followed your example I would not be owning anything man made.
FollowupID: 823738

Follow Up By: olcoolone - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 19:22

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 19:22
Should be "Because one that you have had experience with doesn't MEAN everyone is doomed to fail."
FollowupID: 823739

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 19:25

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 19:25
Love them or hate them there is no other vehicle except the Defender perhaps in the 79 series category
All the other utes are not in the same heavyweight category
FollowupID: 823740

Follow Up By: Member - Rosco from way back - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 21:43

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 21:43
I'm sorta with you there Alby old mate .... except having owned 4 of the marque in a row I couldn't go for the quinella, especially since in the latest model they've dropped it down to 2.2 litres. No doubt fine for the European market, but not over here with our vast distances thankyou very much. I'd get RSI from stirring the gear box.

Which reminds me, I may be wrong, and if so you can rest assured some bright spark will quickly point out to me the error of my ways, but it's my understanding the V8 in the 70 series is only available in Oz, possibly in RSA but I'm not sure on that point.
FollowupID: 823752

Reply By: Mick O - Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 12:48

Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 12:48
Yes I have been running a chip (not a Tunit model) for three years now.

I'm not a big wrap for the supplementary fuel chips like DP, Rapid, or Steinbauer. I have gone down the path of an integrated EFI module though Turbo Engineering in Thomastown. It has far more capability than the fuel rail or fuel pulse, plug and play type modules. What ever path you do go down, have them spend what ever time it takes on the Dyno and have them ensure you can keep your EGT temperatures under control. You would also be wise to fit the 3" exhaust and dump pipe as well as an EGT gauge as part of the upgrade. Extra expense but a necessary one in my book.

Results are outlined here;

Ute Build - Mods and Improvements

AnswerID: 539040

Reply By: Whirlwinder - Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 16:48

Saturday, Sep 13, 2014 at 16:48
Thanks everyone for the replies.
Now I am really confused but will push on with my research.
Of course, a 3" exhaust is a must do mod.
I drove a 76 that was chipped and 3' exhaust and it fairly flew, absolute rocketship. That was what got me thinking about replacing the 80 series aftermarket turboed diesel.
AnswerID: 539047

Reply By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 13:23

Sunday, Sep 14, 2014 at 13:23
I had a Tunit chip on my 4.5 cab chassis.

I was chasing some economy and power for heavy towing....I got the power but no economy improvement. Later on I added the 3" exhaust and that definitely made a significant improvement to towing performance

After that I detuned the chip and quite frankly if I had put the exhaust in first I doubt I would have bothered with the chip in the first place. I ended up detuning down to tune 3

I have since purchased a 200 with the twin turbo and don't intend to chip this motor at all....I don't believe it needs it

So 1st purchase I suggest the 3"exhaust

then reassess if you need the chip...you will only get more power.....definitely not better economy if you add the chip
Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

AnswerID: 539068

Follow Up By: braggy - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 19:28

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 19:28
Yep, better fuel economy with a chip is a myth.
But better fuel economy (on the 4.5lt) with 3' exhaust is true.
FollowupID: 823741

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 19:58

Monday, Sep 15, 2014 at 19:58
The exhaust definitely makes them perform better.
I have found a chip to help with economy in a situation where the extra torque allows you to hold a taller gear in my Hilux but I would not be buying a chip thinking that it was a fuel saving device
FollowupID: 823745