Fuel figures for late 2013 BT50 XTR Freestyle ute Auto

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 04, 2014 at 17:44
ThreadID: 110039 Views:2800 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
Hi all have just returned from a 5 month trip going from Karumba in the gulf ,Dundee resort {Darwin}across the GRR down the coast and inland to check out the wildflowers ,across the Nullabor to port Augusta up through Coober Pedy to Katherine,Mount Isa and home. Outfit was the above vehicle and a 17'Golf Outback with a GCM of4.8 tonne.Used cruise control set at 88kph (2000rpm) by the GPS most of the time.The autobox ran in sportmode which effectively locks out sixth gear at these speedsThis delivered the following figures
travelled 17753kls used 3000.26 litres at a fuel cost of $5369.92 which gave a average fuel usage of 16.9 l/100 kls.Hope this is of some interest to some
See you at Happy Hour sometime somewhere Mickb
Back Expand Un-Read 2 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Wildmax - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2014 at 23:36

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2014 at 23:36
If that's diesel, the BT50 is sucking up the juice a bit.
We've just done 15,430km, more than half of it on sand, dirt tracks and unsealed roads from Ceduna to the Mitchell Plateau and across the Gulf - also averaging around 90kmh at a bit over 2000rpm on the good sections - and finished with 14.1 litres per hundred.
Driving a diesel Hilux (manual) and probably about the same GCM as yours - heavier vehicle with the canopy on the back (I have a GVM upgrade to 3.1 tonne) - but a lighter trailer.
Was actually looking favourably at the BT50 as a possible future vehicle upgrade, because sick of waiting for Toyota to get their act into gear with a new Hilux. A mate is very pleased with his Mazda, but looks like running costs would be higher.
Wildmax
2018 Hilux and Black Wolf 210 tent - for the outback tracks less travelled
Formerly an AOR Eclipse and a TVan

AnswerID: 541309

Reply By: Member - Sanantone - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 04:57

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 04:57
Good info, sounds like a good trip.

I am heading off early next year for a round trip of Oz & have budgeted 17lts/100km's.

I have a Triton ute & a StarCraft OB, so hopefully it will be close to this, same as you were.

Thanks again for the info.
Tony
"For the Rover's life has pleasures, that the townsfolk will never know" - sort of from Banjo Paterson

AnswerID: 541313

Reply By: Member - mark D18 - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 08:41

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 08:41
I would say towing a van around 17 litres per 100km would be about right. I get about 13 per 100 km loaded up without towing In my hilux,. I would be checking my figures if I was getting 14 while towing a van
AnswerID: 541320

Reply By: Rob J8 - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 12:06

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 12:06
Hello M&N's,
Your figures sound about the same as my 2012 auto Ranger towing a 21ft Jayco Sterling. I also now drive in the sportmode. I found in the past if I used cruise especially in the undulating country coming down from Carnarvon to Perth, the fuel usage was greater. I usually sit around 95kph on the GPS.
I keep a record of my fuel usage as many do and can look back on fuel figures to our first interstate trip with a V6 Forerunner and a 16ft full height Coromal.
Of all the vehicles I have owned I find the 5 cylinder diesel the most versatile.
I am always interested in other peoples comments about vehicles and fuel usage.
I have 2 mates with 2012 BT50's and their fuel figures amuse me as they are towing similar weights to me. If I were to attain the figures they talk about I would only be able to drive at 70km/h with a strong tail wind everywhere we go. Happy travelling RobJ
AnswerID: 541324

Follow Up By: gbc - Thursday, Nov 06, 2014 at 10:46

Thursday, Nov 06, 2014 at 10:46
Me too - loaded auto ranger towing a 20 ft Compass Navigator at or about the speed limit for 17 odd per hundred. I agree, nowhere near enough info to make accurate assessments here about any vehicle. Love the 5 cylinder as a tow truck - it just does it so easily.
FollowupID: 827465

Reply By: member - mazcan - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 13:26

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 13:26
hi m&n's
16.9 is fairly good for an auto with that amount of weight imho
but I'm sure you'd find if you switched off the cruise control you would use less fuel as the c-c forces the engine to maintain the chosen speed
at least your figures are based on hard core recorded collected facts and not wild calculated guest-a-mets and rubbery figures that some blokes work out in there heads to suit the conversation they 're having to big note there rigs
using cc is a laid back way of driving so we have to except that it may cost us for this but in the end everyone wants to enjoy the trip in which ever way we choose
that's life and we all pay a price for our choices whatever it may be
AnswerID: 541328

Reply By: Member - Richard B (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 14:43

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 14:43
We have a 2012 BT50extracab with a Trayon on the back where I estimate our weight was about 750kg and going by the vehicle consumption gauge on a 15000km trip we did from the East coast to the Kimberley, up the gibb , and off it in many cases, including one section where we were averaging 5km per hour on the Mitchell plateau , and then back across to the Gulf and back home we averaged 8.5 l/100. So you can imagine how pleased I was . We travelled for most of the trip at much the same speed as friends with a new Ford Ranger DC where their weight was about the same. Theirs was an auto and whereas I don't know their consumption every time we filled up our fuel bill was about 20% less than theirs. So much depends on speed ( we travelled around the 90 mark) but I am sure the way one drives has a lot to do with it.
Suspension was upgraded with a Sax system.
arbe

AnswerID: 541330

Follow Up By: Mazdave - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 15:55

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 15:55
Richard I have the same vehicle as you and carry a Carry me Camper about the same weight loaded. Real Figures are calculated at around 11l per 100kms on speeds of between 80 to 110kms depending on road conditions. When I say Real figures, these are the calculated figures based on actual fuel usage against Kms travelled. Vehicle computer figures say around 9l per 100kms, which is obviously optimistic and differs from "Real" figures.

FollowupID: 827433

Reply By: Slow one - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 19:47

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 19:47
This is what I have returned last trip in a 2012 Ranger 3.2l.

Tow vehicle 3.1t and van at 2.6t, gcm of 4.7t, these figures are an accurate reflection of around 20,000k, result is 16.94l/100k.

AnswerID: 541343

Reply By: BT50XTR - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 19:59

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 19:59
I have a 2013 BT50XTR 4x2.

Around town exclusively, ~9.0 l/100.
Country driving only @ 100kmh I use ~7.2 l/100. Sub 7 is achievable at 95 kmh.

The 4x4's do appear to use around 1 l/100 more than the 4x2 based on my discussions with owners.

Recent trip - total weight 4.2 tonnes.
64 litres for 405 kms. 15.8 l/100. "Spirited" driving, very hilly, down to 40-50kmh at times, up to 110 down the hills. You can flog it harder, more fuel for little gain.

The next trip, 100 kms dead flat road, 100-105 kmh sometimes with cruise control, 16 l/100.

All driving in "sports" mode, with some downshifting where required, or better gear selections chosen by driver for best performance.

AnswerID: 541345

Follow Up By: BT50XTR - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 20:01

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2014 at 20:01
Adding to this:

Same gross weight @ 95 kmh, average ~13 l/100 over 4,000kms.

The faster you go, the more you reach for your wallet.

FollowupID: 827446